We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You made it feel like our home, thankyou!”
Review of An African Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
An African Villa
Ranked #8 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Thanks to you and your wonderful staff for a great stay recently. Beautiful rooms, stunning Tabletop view! You looked after us so well, and were always there to offer the extra caring touch. Thank you so much Sandiso for the beautiful table setting for our enforced night in with takeaway food after I sprained my ankle, and the ice pack and indulgence as I spread out on the lounge cushions with your complimentary drinks. Great breakfasts, and such professional staff all round. Not sure if Brandy would have opened an eye for a burglar, but reassuring to see him draped by the door?! Cheers folks, we will recommend you.

Room Tip: A2 and B2 have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Din14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,013)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

What more is there to say.....all our expectations were fulfilled and more.
The villa is so beautiful, the staff perfect, (thank you,Antoinette!) We felt like a home away from home. Four wonderful nights, we will surely be back!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MaritandPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed at An African Villa for two nights whilst in Cape Town and loved it. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, facilities were great (small pool, garden area, 2 computers, small library, good wifi etc). The hotel is beautifully decorated and in a great location - walking distance to great restaurants, parking space available. We plan to come back to Cape Town, and will definitely stay here again!! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We loved our stay at this fabulous hotel. We stayed for 5 nights. The whole hotel is beautifully decorated and the hosts are superb. We were met by the night porter Sandiso when we arrived shortly before midnight. He welcomed us and gave us a tour of the hotel, explaining all about the honesty bar and breakfast etc before showing us to our rooms. Breakfast was excellent lots of choices and they even provided a picnic breakfast for us one morning because we had to set off early for a trip. There are lots of good restaurants within walking distance and they will make a reservation for you each evening. We enjoyed Arnold's and Ricks American Cafe. Both only about a 5-10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

An african villa is a lovely hotel, hosts are really helpful even from moment of booking offering to book popular restaurants in advance, there are lots of nice touches as well such as honesty bar, cake, sherry, gift on check out
Location is great for all areas of Cape Town

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My sister and I stayed at An African Villa twice on our recent trip to South Africa. From the friendly and helpful staff (thanks Antoinette, Louis and Cindy), the beautifully appointed rooms, the delicious breakfasts served either in the charming dining room or outside in the pool/terrace area to the lovely golden retriever Brandy welcoming us when we returned everything about An African Villa was perfect for us. I celebrated my birthday in my home country for the first time in 46 years and there was a cake and card on my bed when we came home. And home was what it felt like each time we came in with the friendliness and warmth of everyone we met there. Highly recommend An African Villa when you visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonya65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was the first place we stayed in SA, for 3 nights. Very nice rooms, excellent service. The staff takes the time to discuss the city, places to visit, also where it is safe and where you should be careful. They gave us excellent advices to go out for lunch and dinner. You can help yourself to drinks in the fridge for a very reasonable price. The breakfast was excellent, nice choice of cold and hot breakfast. They give a glass of port or sherry at night on the house, you can help yourself. Very attentive. We could really recommend a stay here, very nice experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,430 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,870 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#55 of 110 in Cape Town Central
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#19 of 110 in Cape Town Central
428 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Address: 19 Carstens Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $131 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. As required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar and guest fridge in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing