We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, very nice place”
Review of An African Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
An African Villa
Ranked #8 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was the first place we stayed in SA, for 3 nights. Very nice rooms, excellent service. The staff takes the time to discuss the city, places to visit, also where it is safe and where you should be careful. They gave us excellent advices to go out for lunch and dinner. You can help yourself to drinks in the fridge for a very reasonable price. The breakfast was excellent, nice choice of cold and hot breakfast. They give a glass of port or sherry at night on the house, you can help yourself. Very attentive. We could really recommend a stay here, very nice experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,003)
There are newer reviews for An African Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Very pleasant stay here earlier this month. Very well furnished, friendly, nice small pool & outside area, easy parking and a 10/15 minute walk in the evening to bars and restaurants and cafes nearby. One point away for being woken up in the morning by clattering in the kitchen (I was in a room directly above) but really a minor thing, and actually the smell of wafting coffee that followed was a nice way to start the day! I would stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldtraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed with friends at An African Villa for 4 nights recently. It is made up of 3 buildings that have been knocked through to form one large property. We were welcomed by Antoinette when we arrived and given a detailed tour of the property. Unfortunately there was no one on hand to take our cases up the several flights of stairs and there is no lift. We were in a platinum room C4 whilst our friends were in B4. Both of these rooms were comfortable and had a balcony which you could sit out on. Unfortunately our friends balcony had a massive tree right in front of it so they got NO sun and could see very little....might be worth looking to have this removed.

Breakfast was a bit hit and miss as they had a couple of new staff members who didn't always fully understand what we wanted. The house also runs an honesty bar which supplied wine, beer and soft drinks all at a very reasonable price. An alternate suggestion, given that this is a 4 star property and it is 2014, would be to actually place small fridges in the platinum rooms. The guest house has a telephone installed in on of the lounge areas which you can connect straight to a taxi company. We had mixed success with these from the very punctual driver to the very late and didn't know where he was going driver.

The guys were great in suggesting a umber of places to eat and we ate in quite a few. Millers Thumb, Mano a Mano, Beluga and Ricks Cafe American. All were great.

One word of warning to anyone travelling to Cape Town for the 1st time. ONLY get in to a taxi if it has a working meter. There are stacks of cars advertising themselves as metered cabs which aren't. We had a very interesting evening having been stopped in a dodgy cab by an unmarked police car!!!!!

If you are looking to catch some rays whilst here I wouldn't hold your breath. The pool area is very small and there were only 4 sunbeds which given that they have in excess of 12 rooms is poor.

However all in all a great place and Louis and Antoinette certainly were great hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bovington-Smythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here with friends for 4 nights in February in the 'platinum' rooms B4 and C4. We arrived in the afternoon and were warmly welcomed by Antonette (although we were offered no help with our luggage despite a number of stairs to be negotiated) and shown around the property. The hotel is on a hill and consists of 3 terraced properties knocked together - it really is well done and the lounge areas of the hotel are nicely furnished and decorated.

Rooms C4 and B4 have balconies overlooking the street - except that B4's view is completely blocked by a tree - something needs to be done about this. The rooms are reasonably large and comfortable, nicely decorated but lack fridges - a glaring omission for the most expensive rooms. Also rather odd is the laundry arrangement which is charged by the bag or half bag and if you want it ironed - do it yourself in the kitchen..

We had breakfast here each day, compared to what we've had elsewhere in South Africa it was ordinary, at best. Th honest bar system is very good and reasonably priced and there is a fridge in the kitchen for guest's use. The terrace area is a little cramped, is tired looking and has insufficient sunbeds.

Antonette was excellent at providing information about where to walk (and where not to),and dining recommendations - which she was only too happy to book for us. The hotel provides a free phone for a local taxi firm however said firm turned out to be expensive and unreliable - on one occasion taking us towards Camp's Bay when we should have been heading towards the V&A Waterfront - this fare was supposed to be refunded but never was. Unlicensed taxis are a big problem in Cape Town - if you get in one without a meter or the meter is switched off - get out. If in a restaurant it's advisable to ask them to call a taxi for you as hailing one on the street is risky - the unlicensed cars can look pretty convincing so care is required.

The location of the hotel is very good - there are plenty of shops and restaurants within 5-10 minutes walk, our favourite restaurant was Miller's Thumb only 5 minutes walk away - reasonably priced, great food and excellent service and atmosphere- booking is essential. Also nearby and worth a mention is Mano a Mano for lunch or dinner, further afield is Beluga near (but not at) the V&A Waterfront which was very good.

Having stayed at the Cape Grace on our 2 previous visits to Cape Town at the V&A waterfront, we preferred the location of An African Villa - the restaurants at the waterfront are expensive and ordinary compared to what is available elsewhere in the city,

This is a nice hotel but with a few tweaks here and there could be much better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JulesandSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed in African Villa for 10 nights over the New Year period. The location is great which has a really nice feel about it and we liked that we could walk to local bars and restaurants, all of which were of a good standard. We were in one of the rooms to the front of the property with a huge balcony looking imto the street, but it was very quiet and we were never disturbed. The room was big and well fitted out, bed was really comfortable and really spacious. Breakfast was good and we found no fault even though I am a bit fussy. Downstairs area really nice and furnished to a high standard, although we didnt use it much as we were always out. The honesty bar was brilliant and prices really reasonable, also liked that we had use of a fridge and crockery etc
A couple of things that I think could be improved on, toiletries are not replenished even though they are in refillable containers. We ran out and had to ask for more. Also we were staying for qite a long time, maybe longer than most guests and although the maid attended to the room every day it was not always cleaned and dirty glasses not removed.
The outside area whilst being very nice is starting to look a bit tired.
Overall we reallly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend for all of the positive points and not least for value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We spent three nights here, staying in room A4 - first floor, lovely and big with a balcony overlooking the street. The best thing about this place for me was the design. Three terraced houses knocked together creating huge downstairs spaces just loaded with arty loveliness (I have attached some photos to give you an idea). The bedroom too was beautifully furnished in a contemporary style that would have cost the earth if we were staying in a similar place in London.

Really helpful staff arranging dinner bookings, transfers to the airport, laundry and probably anything else we could have come up with. Breakfast was outdoors in their courtyard, full of potted trees, shady sunbeds and with an inviting plunge pool. Really appreciated the honesty fridge and ability to raid the kitchen for ice, glasses and ice buckets, as well as afternoon cake and midnight snacks if one so desired. Also really appreciated being able to rest up before our night flight home, even though we had checked out of our room, and have access to their shower room to get changed ready for the chilly UK climate when we got back!

A really relaxed,friendly place, fantastic value for money and a great location with spectacular views of Table Mountain as you walk down the street. Easy walk to nearby restaurants (we liked Rick's Cafe American a lot) and also very walkable down to the V&A Waterfront area.

Room Tip: If you can afford the best rooms, do. They are worth it just for the space, light, views and overal...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckywomanSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed for only one night at An African Villa and it was too short. The staff are very welcoming, the décor lovely, the breakfast superb and it is well situated for restaurants within a few minutes walk. I've seen reports of bad WiFi but we had no trouble at all. I have no hesitation in recommending this place and hope to be back one day soon.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank moiSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,412 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,845 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,279 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,762 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Address: 19 Carstens Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $143 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. As required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar and guest fridge in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing