We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay in capetown”
Review of An African Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
An African Villa
Ranked #9 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

just want to recommend an african villa, we were there for 5 days. the hotels location is perfect, the room was great. could not take advantage of the pool because of the weather. best part was the service, owners jimmy and louis where great, offering great suggestions on what to do and where to eat... they put together tours for us. would definitely recommend this place to any body visiting.
thank you very much

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Enrique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,018)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

I highly recommend this beautiful, pleasant oasis. My wife and I stayed 2 nights and the accommodations, breakfasts and staff couldn't have been nicer. If and when we come back to Cape Town we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I felt we landed on our feet when we arrived at An African Villa. The owners were charming and extremely helpful, the location was central and the place was tastefully decorated. A home away from home. I was almost sad to leave and, should we ever return to Cape Town, I would hope they had a room free for us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethH584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

An African Villa is a very well run boutique hotel. It is conveniently located on a pretty residential street...walking distance from the famous Long st and various other eateries. It is also a short walk from the Red Bus tour stop and is a 15 mins taxi ride from the V&A waterfront.

The people running the villa, Keith, Cindy and their team are very helpful and give you a good orientation of the place, when you reach. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. Rhe breakfast is good and there is always some nice cake to look forward to in the kitchen! The hotel has free wifi in all rooms.

Overall, i had a lovely 3 nights stay herre and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellernamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised upon arrival to this gorgeously decorated B&B. The owners were welcoming and accommodating even though my husband and I arrived hours earlier than check in but just after breakfast. Keith showed us around, found a bite to eat for us, had coffee made for us, and made an awesome suggestion for us to tour Stellenbosch to avoid wasting our first day in Cape Town. They also helped us arrange a tour of Robben Island even though it was booked solid online. The entire staff was awesome and we can't wait to visit Cape Town again. We'll definitely look to stay here again. Loved it!!

Room Tip: Room 3B was quite peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TBL210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

At first I was a little put off by the name....to me 'An Africa Villa' sounds tacky, a bit touristy or something. But it is far from tacky with lovely stylish rooms and surroundings. The room we had had was extra roomy and had a lovely big balcony. The owners are extremely knowledgeable and helpful. The breakfast was great and served in a nice room perfect for casually chatting with other travelers. The pool looked great for summertime. Many nice restaurants in walking distance. Cant ask for much more!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 35GillyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at An African Villa. The rooms were comfortable and no details were overlooked. The breakfasts were fabulous and we loved the port each evening when we came in. The decor was so tastefully done, but the real bonus of An African Villa was the owners. They arranged tours for us, suggested dinner locations and made sure that everything we needed was handled with great care. Our experience around Capetown was definitely enhanced due to the advice and kindness of the staff. We can not say enough.....but An African Villa will be our 'home away from home" each time we visit Capetown in the future.

Room Tip: Any room would be WONDERFUL!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prico4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,441 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,880 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#56 of 110 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,815 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,375 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Address: 19 Carstens Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $134 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. As required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar and guest fridge in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing