We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”
Review of An African Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
An African Villa
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at An African Villa. The rooms were comfortable and no details were overlooked. The breakfasts were fabulous and we loved the port each evening when we came in. The decor was so tastefully done, but the real bonus of An African Villa was the owners. They arranged tours for us, suggested dinner locations and made sure that everything we needed was handled with great care. Our experience around Capetown was definitely enhanced due to the advice and kindness of the staff. We can not say enough.....but An African Villa will be our 'home away from home" each time we visit Capetown in the future.

Room Tip: Any room would be WONDERFUL!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prico4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    83
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
97
648
48
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lee, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at An African Villa for six nights in November 2012. Other reviewers cover this establishment very thoroughly and it fully met our expectations. I would like to specifically point out the owners' attention to detail regarding the breakfast. It varies a bit each day and the items served are always fresh and gracefully presented. We also enjoyed a nice, fresh piece of cake (complimentary) just about every evening when we returned from our daily rounds. It was often the last piece left, though, so don't get in too late!

Our room was comfortable and convenient; we could walk right out onto the terrace where breakfast was served. We also had a batch of laundry done and the price was very reasonable, not your typical outrageous hotel pricing. The location was excellent: quiet, yet within walking distance of many nice restaurants and shops.

Because of the combined business/personal nature of this trip, our invoicing needs were a little complicated and they were able to work out the billing just the way we needed. If we are lucky enough to get back to Cape Town, we will definitely stay at An African Villa again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freedean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

An African Villa felt like home with it's friendly staff, quaint rooms and African decor. Louis, Jimmy, Cindy and Keith made us feel welcome after a very long flight. If you needed anything, they were very accommodating from reservations to sightseeing must do's. Breakfast was heavenly, the outdoor area was peaceful with the babbling fountains and greenery. Love the dogs, too! Great central location on a quiet street yet walking distance to restuarants and the hop on/off bus route. Enjoyed every minute and didn't want it to end.

Room Tip: We had a lovely little suite located on the front street side with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylVez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The breakfast and staff was great! The centralized location was a tremendous help for first time visitors to the city. Many businesses are in walking distance such as restaurants, shopping, etc.

Room Tip: Call to find out if you have a front facing room with a view. All other rooms do not have a view off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vrstell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

It's no wonder this B&B has such high reviews - it is an ABSOLUTE DELIGHT! Jimmy is literally like my father - full of wonderful ideas and unsolicited advice. "Do this, don't do this, go here, etc." The location is great! It's an absolute perfect place to stay in Cape Town for a few nights! Love, Love, and Love!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

No need to rant and rave at how amazing this place is. I will add that this is also a fantastic place for a solo traveler. While the BnB is on a quite street (which is SUPER safe by the way), its close to great resturants and the nightlife of Loop street is only 5 mins away in a cab (trust me, you dont want to stay in that area - can get doggy at night). The staff is incredibly friendly and are always at your side to help with ANYTHING (even pointing me to the design store where they get their incredible modern African interior furniture and furnishings). It was nice to be able to lounge in the common area with a free class of Port/Sherry and relax with a book. I thought the breakfast was fantastic with made-to-order omlettes and classic continential breakfast offerings. In short, I had a great time and will definitely stay again. In fact, I am used to staying in high end hotels, but now more open to BnBs if I can find more places like An African Villa.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms on the main floor which can pick up a bit of the noise from the living area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_ALT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at An African Villa for 5 nights in early April 2013. It was splendid in every regard. The property is gorgeous, full of art and immaculately maintained. Louis and Jimmy were superb hosts. Most important of all was their very warm welcome. They made dinner reservations for us, helped with calling cabs, etc. Breakfast was truly something to look forward to--each morning offered a creative new treat--true gourmet quality with several choices of both hot and cold items. Excellent tea and coffee. We had a balcony with a killer view of Table Mountain. The general location was good--some nice restaurants within walking distance. I cannot overstate the pleasure this B&B brought to our trip. We would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the back courtyard have a wonderful view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archbold08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,391 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Property: An African Villa
Address: 19 Carstens Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. As required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar and guest fridge in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing