We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's no wonder...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of An African Villa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
An African Villa
Ranked #6 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“It's no wonder...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

It's no wonder this B&B has such high reviews - it is an ABSOLUTE DELIGHT! Jimmy is literally like my father - full of wonderful ideas and unsolicited advice. "Do this, don't do this, go here, etc." The location is great! It's an absolute perfect place to stay in Cape Town for a few nights! Love, Love, and Love!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    80
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
95
632
46
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

No need to rant and rave at how amazing this place is. I will add that this is also a fantastic place for a solo traveler. While the BnB is on a quite street (which is SUPER safe by the way), its close to great resturants and the nightlife of Loop street is only 5 mins away in a cab (trust me, you dont want to stay in that area - can get doggy at night). The staff is incredibly friendly and are always at your side to help with ANYTHING (even pointing me to the design store where they get their incredible modern African interior furniture and furnishings). It was nice to be able to lounge in the common area with a free class of Port/Sherry and relax with a book. I thought the breakfast was fantastic with made-to-order omlettes and classic continential breakfast offerings. In short, I had a great time and will definitely stay again. In fact, I am used to staying in high end hotels, but now more open to BnBs if I can find more places like An African Villa.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms on the main floor which can pick up a bit of the noise from the living area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_ALT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at An African Villa for 5 nights in early April 2013. It was splendid in every regard. The property is gorgeous, full of art and immaculately maintained. Louis and Jimmy were superb hosts. Most important of all was their very warm welcome. They made dinner reservations for us, helped with calling cabs, etc. Breakfast was truly something to look forward to--each morning offered a creative new treat--true gourmet quality with several choices of both hot and cold items. Excellent tea and coffee. We had a balcony with a killer view of Table Mountain. The general location was good--some nice restaurants within walking distance. I cannot overstate the pleasure this B&B brought to our trip. We would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the back courtyard have a wonderful view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank archbold08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was a most perfect choice for us. We stayed at An Africa Villa from 18th to 25th April 2013. The level of service, customer care, ambience and comfort were excellent. The breakfasts on the terrace were really enjoyable; we looked forward to them each morning. Keith, Jimmy, or Louis were always on hand with advice and help and we enjoyed a very pleasant stay. Our bedroom was spacious and spotless with the added bonus of a verandah which we was a lovely surprise! We had a car while we were in Cape Town and within a very short time we were in the city centre. Whilst there we were also within walking distance of some very good casual dining restaurants should we not wish to go further afield. It will remain a really memorable introduction to our first visit to South Africa. Thank you African Villa.
Ingrid & Jon

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonandingrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We visited Cape Town at beginning of March 2013 and stayed at The African Villa. Jimmy and Louis were so helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble, even to lending us picnic basket and rugs so that we could attend a evening concert at Kirstenbosch gardens! Room and breakfast were of a high standard and had a lovely homely feel and we throughly enjoyed our stay, would certainly return here. The downside is that it's a 40min walk to the waterfront or a taxi ride.

The trip was organised by Real Africa London well done to Paul.

Room Tip: Second floor looking out to Table Top Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob2415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

After trawling the www for accomodation in Cape Town we eventually chose An African Villa, partly for its location and mainly due to its rave reviews on Tripadvisor. Hoping that these glowing reviews hadn't been written by the staff in their spare time, we arrived for a 4 day stay. We were not disappointed. I'd be hard pressed to say anything critical at all about this very chic B&B. It has all been said before in the other reviews and it is all true. What I liked most of all was the cleanliness and comfort of our room, the efficient organisation, and the way we were treated not just as customers but as very welcome guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here in June 2012. I was traveling with 2 elderly people, one of who had trouble climbing the stairs. The managers were kind enough to shift the room, without hesitation, so they would not have to climb the stairs, even though the place was about to be renovated. This hotel felt like home, with people sitting in the lounge in the evening and inviting us over for a glass of wine. While not as spread out as chain hotels, the breakfast was pretty good and was able to find enough vegetarian food to fill me! An African Villa is truly a boutique hotel! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeGha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Property: An African Villa
Address: 19 Carstens Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. As required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar and guest fridge in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing