We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful guest house, great personal touches”
Review of An African Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
An African Villa
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful guest house, great personal touches”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at an African Villa for 3 nights in October 2012 on our honeymoon and couldn't have had a better experience. Upon our arrival, the innkeepers took 15-20 minutes to welcome us and give us a detailed and personalized introduction to Cape Town. They gave us lots of practical tips and suggestions for the area and were so friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the breakfasts in the morning were great. We had a great view of table mountain and the location was a short walk to some great cafes, restaurants and shops. We appreciated all of the kindness and effort to make our trip a memorale one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    84
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
99
651
50
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I have just spent a week at An African Villa and we can't rate it too highly.

The booking was faultless and we were provided with ample advice before our trip.

Cindy, Keith, Louis and Jimmy were exceptional hosts - absolutley nothing was too much trouble. As an example one evening when our taxi failed to arrive Loius put us in his car and drove us into town himself.

We had a beautiful room that was very well appointed. Breakfasr was a treat particularly if it could be taken outside on the terrace.

If we return to Cape Town we'll certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay for the best rooms - they have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWC2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at An African Villa in late September 2012 and even before we arrived experienced Louis and Jimmy's wonderful kindness and advice which during the course of our 3 day stay in Cape Town ensured a great holiday for our entire family. Jimmy organised a great guide/driver for us Thabang and with him planned our days so that we could squeeze in all that we hoped to do without rushing about including a great lunch at The Cape of Good Hope and a sensational dinner at The Harbour Terrace.
The hotel itself is very well located and the rooms and atmosphere that of a beautifully decorated home where you are welcomed by friends who want to ensure you have the best possible experience of Cape Town. When my husband was unwell Jimmy not only recommended a clinic he personally drove us there - as I say it was as though we were staying with friends.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room upstairs with a view of Table Top Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Louis, Keith and Jimmy were all great! Very detailed orientation upon our arrival which is very useful for new visitors to South Africa like ourselves who were a little concerned over safety awareness. Love the breakfast, great way to charge yourself and start a day. Cheap and quick laundry service worked out great for us as we had been on the road for a week. Complimentary port/sherry each evening is a warm touch. Loved our stay and thanks, everyone at AAV!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewZhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for four nights in October 2012. Keith and Cindy were exceptional hosts and assisted with all our requests. The rooms were clean, well maintained and quiet. The common areas were very comfortable and The location is excellent and indeed you can walk to various restaurants for dinner, or a cab can be easily arranged for relatively low cost. I just want to echo and confirm the previous reviews- an excellent place to stay in Cape Town. We would come again and appreciated greatly our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdrienneMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We book our three nights at An African Villa mainly because of the comments on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed! This hotel is in a beautiful area with a fantastic view of Table Mountain. We were impressed by the bedroom and the whole villa was beautifully decorated. Keith and Cindy were wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back in a heartbeat. The breakfasts were great with something a little different every day (like pancakes) and they sure know how to cook crispy bacon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joolsfelixstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The rooms are very comfortable.
The hosts were very knowlegdeable and knew how to direct us to unique locations.
Although in a pieceful and quiet neighborhood, the place is within walking distance from great restaurants and bars.
Loved every minute of our stay!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,404 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,028 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
984 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Property: An African Villa
Address: 19 Carstens Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. As required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar and guest fridge in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing