We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible stay”
Review of An African Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
An African Villa
Ranked #8 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at the beginning of October this year and would recommend this place to anyone and everyone!
Gorgeous accommodation, staff and owners very friendly and helpful and lovely cooked breakfasts :-)

Brilliant place within walking distance to the city centre

We absolutely loved our stay here and would like to thank the owners again for the perfect start to our holiday in South Africa

Sarah & Tom (UK)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sbrad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,003)
There are newer reviews for An African Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 nights here Oct 1 - 6th 2012. We were very happy with every aspect of our accommodation, from the great breakfasts every morning to the beautifully appointed rooms and common areas. We were provided with all kinds of good advice for tours of the surrounding areas and also walking in the city. The owners are all very helpful and lovely people, providing exceptional service. The location is very convenient and we walked everywhere. The guest house is in a lovely old neighbourhood and is very quiet. We definitely would stay here again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The place looks unassuming. It is three townhouses that have been renovated into a delightful boutique hotel. Walking distance to Long St. Jimmy and Louis, owners and operators, will gladly tell you how best to see Cape Town, and how to do it safely. The rooms are large, the decor is wonderful. Great breakfasts with a lot of choice. Good value. We have returned several times to this great little hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank REO-LTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at the African Villa for three nights and it was as good as earlier reviews suggested. The property itself is in essence three houses, lovingly re-decorated by the owners over time. The bedroom was good size, the bed super soft and we even had a partial view of Table mountain from our window.
Keith and Cindy were wonderful hosts. We were provided with loads of suggestions on things to do, help to hire a car, restaurant suggestions and little maps to find our way around. We also enjoyed the breakfast which included a nice cold buffet as well as cooked breakfast cooked to guests preference by two lovely ladies every morning.
We struggled a little on the very first day to find the villa, but had no problems after that. Easy to find (even if like me, you're not the best navigator) and to drive to and park if you have a car.
Nice restaurants nearby we tried were: the Ocean basket (fish restaurant, part of a chain, the one near the hotel is great) & 'A' (Arnold's) for game. Excellent as well. Both are walking distance and both good recommendations by Keith!
We would definitely stay at the villa again, if in town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank top_mango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have been to Cape Town about half a dozen times and, after the second when I first stayed at this B&B, I will never stay at another.

This very well might be my favorite place to stay in all of the 90+ countries I have lodged in and I don't say that lightly.

This is my "perfect" accommodation experience.

First off, it is a fantastic location and you are within walking distance to very good restaurants and bars. Granted, this is a neighborhood and not the Waterfront but that is only a short cab ride away and the owners will take care of that for you if needed.

Second, the rooms are beautiful. I have stayed in basically each one over the course of six years and all are beautifully appointed and completely comfortable. I love their beds, their choice of linens, their soaps, their...well, everything. So tasteful without being ostentatious. From a romantic getaway to a R&R for a single person, you'd be hard pressed not to have a wonderful experience here.

Third, they have a fantastic, funky outdoors space. It is smallish but there is a great pool and plenty of spaces to sit and enjoy a glass of wine or a coffee while reading your book or typing your report.

Fourth, the food (breakfasts are included) is amazing! Cooked to order and served with love. I sometimes sleep in and through breakfast at other places but never here. NEVER.

Fifth, they have a fully stocked kitchen area with all of the snacks and drinks you could ask for and it is an "honor system" where you just sign out what you've taken and they put it on your bill. Excellent snacks and great wine selection included. If you come in late in the evening, as I often do, it is a wonderful convenience to have at your handy.

Sixth, I have taken arranged tours set up through this B&B at least four times and they have been top-notch. Better than ones actually organized by big name companies I was working with in the country. Never had a bad experience with anything they have arranged. And it is very affordable.

Finally, the owners/managers are fabulous AND available to help you with just about anything. They truly know the meaning of "customer service" and I have not once had anything other than outstanding service here.

I love this place. I would live here if I could. If you are in Cape Town, please give them a go, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our stay at An African Villa was a delight. The rooms are very comfortable and well-appointed. Our friends stayed at the Villa a couple of years ago and recommended that we contact them. We are so very glad we did! Every single member of the staff was friendly and the owners are hands-on and willing to help with every request. There are a few fun restaurants within easy walking distance and it is a short cab ride to the Waterfront and other gathering spots. Breakfast was fresh everyday and the staff was quick and courteous. When you consider all of the amenities, the breakfast and the high level of service, An African Villa is definitely a great value and I recommend them without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSilvius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our room (A2) had the most incredible view of Table Mountain. The Villa is comfortable and very professionally run. The location is excellent: walking distance to the shops and restaurants on Kloof Street and a short taxi ride to other areas.

We rented a car for two days and visited the Cape of Good Hope and Stellenbosch. Cape Town and the surrounding area are really beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MB747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,412 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,846 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,279 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,762 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Address: 19 Carstens Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $143 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. As required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar and guest fridge in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing