We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hazlenut latte!”

Motherland Coffee Company
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Motherland Coffee Company believes in African coffee. Coffee began in Africa, and Africa is the future. We serve a variety of coffee drinks as well as light meals, but we're not just another cuppa, we’re an uplifting bubble in your day. Whether you're grabbing something to go, or you've come to spend some time in our relaxed environment, we want to add an inspirational coffee moment to your day.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Great hazlenut latte!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Wow , loved this coffee shop.

The coffee is really tasty and the staff are so jolly and friendly. They seem like they are genuinely enjoying there job and having banter with each other. It gives the coffee shop a cool edgy vibe.

Helpful?
1 Thank rainbowrover2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    30
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice coffee and sandwiches”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Conveniently located near the company's garden. The coffee was great. Try their signature coffee "The Dictator" -- very unique and tasty.. very sweet also. The staffs are very very friendly

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pretty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great start to every day”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We would stop here virtually every day we were in Cape Town staying at the Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel. The coffees were always fantastic, the staff fun and relaxed but experienced and professional in handling the public. We tried many of the things on their menu, the Red Cappuccino was one of my favourites. Their lunch sandwiches and paninis were amazing. Make sure to visit, I don't think you'll be disappointed. Free Wifi and comfortable seating inside and out on the Mall.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Favorite coffee in Cape Town”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Have purchased a flat white (or two) every day here since it opened. I love their coffee and the strength is just right, foam perfectly textured, just delicious. While I enjoy artisanal coffee from across Cape Town, I find their coffee too strong. Motherland on the other hand is just right for me. (Large flat white). Alistair and the barrister crew are always friendly, engaging and His shop has become a brief refuge from the daily grind. Keep it up Alistair you have a winning formula bru.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R0bin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“love this place”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Loved the coffee and loved the happy employees!
One of the nicest coffee places i've ever been.
Enjoy it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Motherland Coffee Company also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Motherland Coffee Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing