We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold Beer & Cool Vibe”
Review of & Union - CLOSED

& Union
Cuisines: Bar
Restaurant details
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
527 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Cold Beer & Cool Vibe”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is a fun place to be. There are lots of people vying for seats at the large communal outdoor tables, having beers and drinking wine and eating....well, sausages! The menu is decidedly German with almost everything on offer ending in a 'wurst. You go inside to the counter and place your order; someone brings the food to you by looking for your number. I was there with a large group for happy hour drinks and food and we had a great time. Also easy to stumble back to our hotel around the corner should anyone need to.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalStaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good beers after work”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

It's the best place to enjoy good craft beers and relax.
Always crowded of people who spend a few hours there after work!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hateparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great vibe”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Sit outside under the brollies and enjoy a whole range of craft beer - draft and bottled. They also cook a range of pork products on a fire - so its hot and fresh. Brilliant burgers too. Try the sausage selection - very tasty. Best enjoyed with a group of friends!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike-Petra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Arguably Cape Town's hippest craft beer venue”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great casual bar where they know their craft beer. The place to go if you want to educate your beer loving palette.

Easy going vibe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B1ades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“&Union”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

As a solo traveller, I rocked up to &Union for the local beer and live music. I wasn't disappointed with either! Te beer is excellent, although a little more expensive than the rest of Cape Town.

It's true this place is full of beautiful people, but it was a really friendly place! Within a short while I was adopted by a group of lovely people and the rest is history. Cape Town is the sort of place where it's rude not to speak to the person next to you. If you approach & Union in that way, you'll have an ace time.

the live music I saw was an upbeat acoustic guitar band. Really cool for a warm night and a beer. The outside space is great and well covered so if it does rain, you'll stay dry. And the food? Awesome! If you like your bratwursts, you'll love it here. I'd go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed & Union also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing