We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home in Cape Town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Elena Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Elena Cape Town
Ranked #124 of 163 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home in Cape Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

As a first-timer to Cape Town and not the "group touring" type I was determent to have a memorable trip with getting to know the local detail and people.

After a 20 hour flight I wanted a fresh , clean , safe and welcoming place as my base from where I can explore. The staff was welcoming and helpful with a quick and easy checkin process. The decor is pleasing , functional , stylish with a touch of character. This made my stay a comfortable and happy experience.

The semi open plan bathroom with frosted glass created a a interesting modern sexy setting... Pitty I was alone .. Haha
The eating area has inside and outside area that is ideal for a fresh morning coffee and breakfast. These area's were ideal for chilling out during the day and evenings.

This hotel is located on Main Road, Sea Point. It's so convenient to stay there because one has grocery shops, cafes, restaurants, laundary shops and supermarkets on the same road that gives the area it's own unique convenient character . It is not so far away from all major attractions like Table Mountain, The V&A Waterfront, Cape Quarter , Long street and beaches. This convenience created more freedom to explore Cape Town.

The Casa Elena staff is friendly, and they know Cape Town very well. I did not really plan for this trip therefore I'm glad that the knowledgeable staff assisted me with tours and excursions and detailed interesting places to visit away from all the tourists.

I am looking forward to going back to Casa Elena to visit my friends made in Cape Town some local , some from Europe , Brazil and USA . So by the way what a surprise to find Cape Town being so cosmopolitan with food from the east to the west and local, this reflects the visitors many models from all over the world for film and advert shoots, retired Europeans settling for a better life style and many visitors from the greater China and south east asia regions.

This was an ideal breakaway from Hong Kong see you soon CAPE TOWN !

Chad

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    48
    25
    8
    13
See reviews for
16
57
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

The room it´s brand new, beautiful furniture, nice beeds, good location, clean... but there'sno air condicioner and the toilete has no door... no parking area (you must park on the street), has few tv channels (with a poor signal) , the internet of my mobile it´s better than here, and the breakfast is too late (starts at 08:15h, we´ll have to buy something outside cause i've already scheduled a tour for 9am).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PEDRO F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

A lovely hide out in the heart of seapoint. A place I would definitely visit again. Suitable for friends and family, business and leisure as well.
Quite place.. conveniently situated close to restaurants and coffee shops. A walking distance you dont have to use your car.
The staff is excellent, welcoming and makes you feel at home.
Beds and sheets are clean as well as the bathrooms (towels .etc)
Something I loved very much.
I really enjoyed my time with my friends. Hoping to come back very soon..!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ftchiwoniso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Lovely boutique hotel. Close to all amenities (public transport, shopping center and beaches) and helpful staff. Our room had a beautiful view of the mountain, our own garden, big en-suite and not to mention very neat, clean and tidy. My family and I enjoyed our stay and recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leizl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Had a terrible experience staying at this so-called boutique hotel. This hotel is technically in Seapoint but not in the hub of the area – a bit on the dodgy side. There are far better hotels at the same price that you can stay at in Capetown. Spend your dollars somewhere else.

The good - sheets were clean.

The bad - The front desk staff was condescending and down right rude to me and my partner at times when we asked questions. There is no real customer service here to make you feel welcomed.
The room we stayed at did not have a bathroom door or even a door for the shower so water had leaked everywhere. There are close to no amenities in this place, very bare bones. I also thought it was quite shady that they could not produce an official receipt for me when I checked out and paid. They had promised to email me a receipt and other details and had never bothered. The rate my friend who also stayed at this place at the same time paid a completely different rate than what I was charged. In summary I had a terrible experience at this place. The photos they have on their website are not a reflection of the actual experience of being there in person.

I would highly recommend to not stay at this terrible hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fuffybear888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Sea Point, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

An interesting hideaway close to everything in seapoint.
Reception is going through some renovation , but the calming waterfall feature and helpful staff took my eyes off the worked on area.

Our room and shower was spacious and equipped with quality white towels and linen , thank heavens after a drawn out airport que.

The passage area though clean could do with some indoor plants to damper the slight echo when others chat on their way to their rooms and it will add to the homely feel.

Over all a happy stay and we shall return for future stays.

Room Tip: "front room 3 best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

What bothers me most is that I actually found a few good reviews on this place... I'm quite sure they weren't actually done by people who stayed there.

On arrival, there was no one to welcome my husband and I or sign us in. We had to phone a cell phone number as there was no land line. That was already weird. Being that there was no reception area, we stood in the passage of the hotel (still wondering if we can call it that) and when the manager finally arrived, we heard him bad-mouth us to one of his employees. His face, of course, fell when he walked straight into us while speaking about us. What a welcome.

On the plus side, the bedrooms were relatively clean, the sheets and towels were white and the bed was clean. That's it.

On the down side: the "fully stocked bar" contained two small cokes. Period. A wall of glass doors and windows all looked straight into a block of flats, so we had to keep the curtains closed so that we wouldn't be stared down by the neighbours. There was no parking, so we had to park in the street (it's not the best area in town). And then, when we finally went to sleep, we couldn't. At least not for longer than an hour at a time. Being that the floors were all wood and tiles, we could hear every little noise. Literally. Every time someone opened their room door, every time someone crawled up the stairs, every whisper, every sound - we heard it echoing through our bedroom! On top of that, the geyser must have been situated near our bedroom, because every time someone opened a tap (which we also heard in detail) it sounded as if someone knocked at our door.

Finally, at 6am, I fell asleep. Only to be awoken 45 minutes later by cleaning staff, shouting to each other from one room to the next. It was loud. And it lasted a few hours.

Never have we left a hotel so drained, tired and annoyed. And, just to make our stay that little bit more annoying, when we went to pay we were informed that the card machine had been out of order for a while. Not the day before. Not a few hours before. No. So, we first had to draw cash, return to the scene and then pay.

Not happy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nerine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Anchor Bay Guest House
#41 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#19 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
District Six Guesthouse
#71 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wish U Were Here
#61 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
The Villa Rosa
#12 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille ...
#56 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Elena Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Elena Cape Town

Property: Casa Elena Cape Town
Address: 182 Main Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Elena Cape Town 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Atlantic Seaboard, Casa Elena Cape Town offers accommodation with a Mediterranean blend and contemporary comfort.Our Hotel is just minutes away from Cape Town International Convention Centre, V&A Waterfront shopping centre and the magnificent Table Mountain - one of the World Seven Nature Wonders as well as popular beach areas like Camps Bay and Clifton. With pickup points of the Hop-on-Hop-off city tour bus at our doorstep, you will be able to visit all the attractions along the Cape Peninsula at ease.Take a walk or jog along the safe and bustling Sea Point promenade with views of the Atlantic Ocean and Table Mountain on either side, or enjoy a lovely sundower on one of our breath-taking beaches. For business travellers, we offer free WiFi facility throughout the hotel.After a long day you and your family could freshen up with a wide variety of restaurants situated close by, ranging from Mexican to Chinese cuisines.Our team takes pride to cater our guest a relaxing and well-deserved Cape Town stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Casa Elena Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Elena Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing