We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a story home with you!”

Baraka Gifts and Decor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Baraka Gifts and Decor will take you on an inspiring journey to a dreamworld filled with an eclectic mix of arts, crafts, jewellery, decor and much more! We also sell vintage and antique items because we believe retro design is still very relevant today. At Baraka you will find a range of handmade leather notebooks and photo albums, hand crochet hats, shell and driftwood spoons, affordable jewellery, out-of-the-box art, quirky once-off pieces, unusual non-curio African goods, Panama hats, handbags, hand-woven Zulu baskets made from recycled telephone wire – and the biggest selection of scarves in Cape Town, to mention but a few. Our vision is to afford you an extraordinary shopping experience at very affordable prices. Baraka's loyal customers refer to the shop as a “treasure trove” and “the little shop with the big heart”. But you have to experience it for yourself!
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I frequent Cape Town and Barak is one of my favorite shops for souvenirs to bring back to the states, but also for the unique conversation piece for my own home. The items in Baraka are fun and stylish and each one has its own story. The shop owners are also amazing in their knowledge of the pieces and of Cape Town. It is a great place to visit and share stories!

7  Thank 267Shannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin T, Owner at Baraka Gifts and Decor, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Hi Shannon,
We feel so blessed that you rate our little store as one of your favourites in Cape Town. Thank you so much for the kind words and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Kindest regards and best wishes,
Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 185 of 264 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

We try to travel to Cape Town once a year. And Baraka is always on our "To-Do-List". This little shop has so much to offer! Take your time and you will find a wonderful gift you will find nowhere else. The owners are great guys and thex choose great stuff for their shop. I like in particular the little paintings. Baraka is very easy to reach as it is located at Cape Quarter and there are plenty of parking facilities.

2  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin T, Owner at Baraka Gifts and Decor, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Hi Thomas,
Thank you so much for visiting our little shop year after year! We feel so happy that you like the way we curate it, and we will do our best to find more of the little painting by Joseph Majonga when you return next year.
All the best and see you soon!
Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

What a great place to find original gifts at very reasonable prices you will not find anywhere else!
The owners are very helpful and friendly and they offer such a diversity of unusual and beautiful objects for all tastes. Conveniently located in De Waterkant district close to Somerset Road. Parking is available closeby.

2  Thank DonaldRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin T, Owner at Baraka Gifts and Decor, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Hi Rob & Donald
We feel so blessed that you liked our store. Thank you for the kind words, and we hope to see you back in Cape Town soon.
Wishing you much love from the Mother City
Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

For all of you who wonder what to bring home from Cape Town. The owner is quite knowledgeably and can definately point you in the right direction as they also have items from other african nations. My suggestion would be Springbok and small baskets made from recycled telephone wires. Definately local!

2  Thank Miriam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin T, Owner at Baraka Gifts and Decor, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Hi Miriam
Thank you so much for shopping in Baraka Gifts. I am glad that I could be of help, and happy that you could find local gifts that you really like.
Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I just moved to Cape Town and discovered Baraka "accidentally" while touring the city. I was first drawn by the sound of relaxing tunes. I then met the extremely friendly owners. One of those treasured "in the now" moments. Beautiful selection of items for sale and stunning atmosphere. A must go a see for for yourself. The shop is conveniently located in a center with restaurants, parking and convenience facilities.

2  Thank Joelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin T, Owner at Baraka Gifts and Decor, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Hi Joelle,
Welcome to Cape Town and we wish you will be very happy living in the this beautiful city!
Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy that you like our selection of gifts and also the atmosphere in our shop.
Please feel free to swing by at any time for a quick browse. Our shop changes constantly and we try to keep the atmosphere friendly and comforting at all times.
Glad you liked our tunes :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baraka Gifts and Decor also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Baraka Gifts and Decor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing