We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cake Heaven”
Review of Afternoon Tea

Afternoon Tea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Enjoy delicate finger sandwiches filled with rare roast beef and rocket, smoked salmon, egg mayonnaise or cucumber. Follow with a delectable dark chocolate cake, lemon meringue and freshly baked scones with clotted cream and preserves. Adding a special local flavour is a typical South African milk tart, called "melktert" in Afrikaans. During the winter months you can also enjoy a selection of warm treats. Expect mushroom empanadas, tomato tarts and chicken pies. The signature Mount Nelson Tea has been expertly blended from six teas: Darjeeling, Kenya, Assam, Keemun, Yunnan, Ceylon, and rose petals from our garden. In addition, we offer an array of leaf and flowering teas. Morning, Afternoon and Evening Tea is served in the lounge, on the terrace or around the garden fountain.
Orland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cake Heaven”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The high tea is a must. Lots of delicious treats and you will feel enriched in your belly when yyou leave. Piano player is a lovely addition.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcus f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    156
    72
    33
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Glorious”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

On my penultimate day in Cape Town, I had to go to the Mount Nelson for high tea. Although, they were fully booked for high tea - understandbly, so we went for Morning Tea instead which was just as delightful! I have stayed at the Mount Nelson a few times when on holiday with my family and it is my favourite hotel in the world - probably because it is pink. The tea room is beautiful and the sun was shining through, the staff were great and all it all i loved it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LolaD25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely leisurely afternoon”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a lovely experience having afternoon tea. The staff were very attentive and the choice of food and tea very good. Booking by email was easy and quick response from the hotel. Loved the atmosphere and surroundings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CheshireSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I made a booking by email; thank was done.
Checked in on time; a table was already set. The atmosphere was impeccable, the service astounding, the food was great. My kids enjoyed the English ambiance. The lady who served us was very nice, took the kids to the playroom, was helpful in protocols,...
The only - thing is that it took time to get my change and receipt back, and ended up leaving them behind.

In overall, quite an astounding place that I recommend for visit, if one is in the Caastad!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kambale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gundula W, Manager at Afternoon Tea, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful positive feedback - it is always encouraging for our staff to read.
With much appreciation
Gundula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A worthwhile, relaxing experience”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We visited the Mount Nelson Hotel for tea on our honeymoon. It was a lovely way to spend part of an afternoon. The Hotel is an historic landmark, yet very much alive. We sat in the the beautiful gardens and just took it easy. Food was delicate and tasty. Service was very good -- just the right level of attentiveness. A great way to relax and soak in part of the history of Cape Town. (note, visit was actually 2007; new to writing reviews on Trip Advisor.)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCllano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afternoon Tea also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Afternoon Tea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing