We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Afternoon Tea

Afternoon Tea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Enjoy delicate finger sandwiches filled with rare roast beef and rocket, smoked salmon, egg mayonnaise or cucumber. Follow with a delectable dark chocolate cake, lemon meringue and freshly baked scones with clotted cream and preserves. Adding a special local flavour is a typical South African milk tart, called "melktert" in Afrikaans. During the winter months you can also enjoy a selection of warm treats. Expect mushroom empanadas, tomato tarts and chicken pies. The signature Mount Nelson Tea has been expertly blended from six teas: Darjeeling, Kenya, Assam, Keemun, Yunnan, Ceylon, and rose petals from our garden. In addition, we offer an array of leaf and flowering teas. Morning, Afternoon and Evening Tea is served in the lounge, on the terrace or around the garden fountain.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I made a booking by email; thank was done.
Checked in on time; a table was already set. The atmosphere was impeccable, the service astounding, the food was great. My kids enjoyed the English ambiance. The lady who served us was very nice, took the kids to the playroom, was helpful in protocols,...
The only - thing is that it took time to get my change and receipt back, and ended up leaving them behind.

In overall, quite an astounding place that I recommend for visit, if one is in the Caastad!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kambale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gundula W, Manager at Afternoon Tea, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful positive feedback - it is always encouraging for our staff to read.
With much appreciation
Gundula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
There are newer reviews for Afternoon Tea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

560 - 564 of 741 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We visited the Mount Nelson Hotel for tea on our honeymoon. It was a lovely way to spend part of an afternoon. The Hotel is an historic landmark, yet very much alive. We sat in the the beautiful gardens and just took it easy. Food was delicate and tasty. Service was very good -- just the right level of attentiveness. A great way to relax and soak in part of the history of Cape Town. (note, visit was actually 2007; new to writing reviews on Trip Advisor.)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MCllano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Personally I must say I love the Mount Nelson - it feels like visiting a hotel from a different era! The staff is friendly - and will help you to enjoy a truely relaxing afternoon - so bring some time (and some appetite the food is delicious).
But dont forget that its not a trendy hotspot - I was there with some friends recently - they were a bit disappointet, but thats not the fault of the afternoon tea - more a problem of wrong expectations.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank orlandos66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Well a trip into cape town today to visit the Waterfront and en route we called the Mount Nelson to book for afternoon tea. "Sorry Sir the line is busy please give me your number and somebody will call you back" ! That was 9 hours ago, glad we didn't rely on them.

    • Service
2  Thank Spithead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gundula W, Manager at Afternoon Tea, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we have numerous extensions in our hotel with eligible staff who could have taken your reservation, so please accept our sincere apologies that we failed to call you back or take your reservation the first time round. We will follow up with our teams internally and trust this will not happen again.
Once again, we are really sorry you were not here to enjoy our Afternoon Tea experience that day, but we hope that you will call again soon.

regards
Gundula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The amazing staff and choice selection of finger food and tea selection never fails to impress. Love the history and ambiance of this old hotel.

We'll be back every-time we visit Cape Town

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Henkdrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gundula W, Manager at Afternoon Tea, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderful review! We have passed the lovely message on to all our staff - they look forward to serving you when you return.
Best wishes
Gundula Wurster
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afternoon Tea also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Afternoon Tea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing