We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchor Bay Guest House
Ranked #47 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We had the room with a sea view, which comes with a private balcony, comfy bed, great shower and a most accommodating host. Up a hill from Main Road, but not too strenuous, it's worth it for the views from the guest lounge balcony and private balcony. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Barrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 97 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

Great place, very friendly host/owner, lovely views, comfortable bed, clean. What a lovely place this is. We had the luxury room, which has it's own private balcony. The other two rooms share a balcony and there is a communal lounge. The rooms have no TV, which is great as it keeps things quiet and we had no problems from traffic noise at all. Was very quiet. Host even provided some free beer, wine, biscuits and an expresso machine! We found parking in the road not far from the guest house. But if you are without a car, it'd be a 30 to 40 minute walk to the V and A waterfront. Having said that, you'll only go there once as it's too touristy and the restaurants near the guest house are much better value than the touristy ones at V and A. We'll definitely stay here again if we go back to Cape Town.

Room Tip: The luxury room is at the back so is quiet. Don't know if the other rooms are as quiet or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bournemouthbabe87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Our room was what I would consider a 5 star room for a 3 star price. We were quite busy in Cape Town and didn't get to spend as much time on the balcony as we would have liked. It would have been nice to have had the opportunity to enjoy an evening outside w/ a glass or two of wine.
As mentioned by other guests, the home is conveniently located.
Note that it is not a B&B, but is near many nice restaurants. Coffee, tea, wine, cookies and biscotti are provided in the room.
We did not have the pleasure of meeting Burt until we were leaving. He was on holiday and we were assisted by his head housekeeper and by his friend. We found him to be warm and welcoming and had liked to have had the opportunity to get to know him better.
When we return to Cape Town, I believe we will again stay at Anchor Bay Guest House.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GnaustalgicTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed here in November and all we can say is good things about this place. The location is great, just up road from the sea front and a 20 min walk from the V&A. Anyone not keen on walking a taxi is approx £4. The guesthouse is clean with 3 en suite bedrooms which are serviced to a high standard daily. The rooms are comparable to a hotel and Burt the owner is a model host who was extremely helpful with booking tours and tips on where to go. Our room didn't have a balcony, but we used the balcony off the communal living space which offered views of Robben Island and the sea....a perfect way to start or finish the day with either a coffee (Nespresso machine) or glass of wine, both of which are complimentary. Anyone worried about safety, we found the area to be perfectly safe. To anyone thinking about booking at Anchor Lodge I can`t reccomend it enough.

Room Tip: One room has private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Burt is a wonderful and kind host. The rooms are beautiful and 5* standard. Great value for money as it is a guesthouse (as opposed to hotel).

There is off street parking, conveniently located in down town (we had a car so cannot comment on availability of public transport).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiantang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Well located near the main attractions of the city. The house is decorated to the last detail, the rooms are very clean adn comfortable and the guest is amazing. He made us feel at home.
Amazing experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariopincho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Anchor Guesthouse is just LOVELY!!!The view, rooms and décor are absolutely lovely. And the host Burt is so accommodating that when we disturbed him at 22h30 in the evening his response was “with pleasure”.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumtaj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Rose Lodge
Rose Lodge
#28 of 156 in Cape Town Central
467 reviews
Wish U Were Here
#68 of 156 in Cape Town Central
136 reviews
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#16 of 156 in Cape Town Central
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Verona Lodge
#61 of 156 in Cape Town Central
101 reviews
Port View House
#94 of 156 in Cape Town Central
90 reviews
Altona Lodge
#2 of 129 in Cape Town Central
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Bay Guest House

Address: 150 High Level Road | Three Anchor Bay, Cape Town Central 8050, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $48 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Bay Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double storey building, sea facing, with direct street entrance and safe on-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Anchor Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Bay Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing