We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely Apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Quays

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Canal Quays to your Saves list
Canal Quays
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1 Lower Long Street | Convention Centre Square, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed in a Studio Apartment for 4 nights in February. The apartment has everything you could possibly need and was spotlessly clean. The view is not great but I had already been made aware of this fact and it did not bother us - after all, you don't generally spend that much time at in your apartment especially when you are only in Cape Town for a short stay. We made use of the pool everyday and were very grateful to be able to cool down as it was frightfully hot. There is a water taxi which takes you to the Waterfront and is only R30,00 per person and is valid all day. We did find it noisy when we opened the front sliding door due to the proximity to the freeway but once you close the door you don't hear anything. Staff were polite and the apartment was cleaned every day (excepting for Sunday). There is a kettle but no coffee/tea supplied, excepting for the day of arrival, so make sure to bring your own or you can get Reception to purchase whatever you require and then refund them. Unfortunately, no gym on the premises.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Kathy M

Thanks very much for taking the time to submit your review of one of our Studio apartments in Canal Quays.

We appreciate that you took the time to submit your review and that you enjoyed our great Cape Town hospitality. Please stay in touch with us and follow us on social media.

Regards

Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    102
    34
    7
    12
See reviews for
81
92
7
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We rented a 2 bedroom apartment here for a week stay. It was very well presented, clean and quiet. The kitchen contained pretty much everything we needed to make breakfast etc., and the rooms were cleaned daily (apart from Sunday). The view from our apartment was not the best, and the location was a little out of the way compared to apartments in the Waterfront but it is very close to the CTICC convention centre. It also included secure parking for up to two cars. Would recommend - we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bagelobagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Hi Bagelobagel

Thanks for a great review of our Canal Quays apartments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards

Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent an evening at Canal quays and were very happy with the apartment,it was clean and very comfortable.On the negative side,the view was terrible and the complex is situated right next to a busy and noisy highway. In future I would rather pay a bit more and stay in a complex that is in the V&A waterfront and not on the outskirts.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KingfisherWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thanks for the review. Canal Quays is a four self-catering hotel located close to the historic operational harbour, which is part of the appeal of this property. In cases where guests prefer to be close to the V&A Waterfront, we can offer them five star accommodation at the numerous Marina properties overlooking the yacht marina or the canal waterway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

After 2,5 hours driving through Cape town (it was very hard to find the access to the complex) we finally arrived to the apartment. The apartment was very nice and luxurious. We even had a dishwasher and washing machine. The location is close to the waterfront and the stop of the sight seeing bus. It was nice to sit on our balcony, the best terrace of the city. Perfect place to explore the city.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karinandsven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you very much for such a great review. We are pleased that your stay with us was memorable. For your next stay with us please contact our guest services team who will gladly assist you with directions or arrange for your transport to the hotel. We hope to see you again, many happy travels, Home from Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This condo is located within a very short cab ride to the VA Waterfront. This is a wonderful self catering facility. If you're looking for all the hotel amenities rhis isn't rhe place. Safe and secure lodging with views of the harbor. Washing machine and dryer located within condo. Great value.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review. We hope that you will come and stay with us again in the near future. Please visit us on our website, follow us on Facebook and sign up for our newsletter so we can keep in touch with you. Happy travels, Home from Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porcupine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at the Canal Quays on two occasions in October 2013. One 7 days and the other 2 days at the end of our SA vacation. It's in a good location: only 15 minute walk to the waterfront and 20 minute walk to the green market. The apartment was very spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. One of the security guard even walked with us part of the way to the waterfront showing us the way. You can access the river taxi just behind the reception area on the canal leading to the waterfront and it runs every 20 minutes. The apartment has all the amenities of home: washer and dryer in each apartment was highly appreciated.

Room Tip: We were on the six floor the first time and on the first floor the second time. Both were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Normand B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thanks for such a great review we appreciate it. Canal Quays recently received the 2013 Agoda.com Gold Circle Award and we are proud that our service offering in Canal Quays is of a high standard. We will keep up the good work and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl/Rsa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The apartmentt was close to excellent.Spacious,nice interior,enough cuboard space and much better than any ordinary hotel room.We received very good and friendly service when we booked in.I did ask for a room high up ,but instead received room 102 right next to the security desk on the ground floor.They told us there were no rooms availablle higher up.For us it was a pity,because even though our apartment was very lovely,I think we would have enjoyed our 5 nights stay more if we had a apartment on one of the top floors.
Everything you need for self-catering is in the apartment.Lovely bed and linnen.Small but ,nice bathroom.There is a little lack of TLC,but it is small things like ,the wash basin tap falls close every time you open it and you have to hold it open with your hand.The rug-carpet in the lounge needs a very good wash.Small things that needs to be looked at.
The thing that makes room 102 less than excellent is the noise from the security desk at night.
The first night was very bad.We we woken by such a noise that we had to get up and ask them to be more quiet ,twice.They said they had a fire alarm problem.We understood that,but every night we could hear them talk.We got use to the noises after the third night,but it was stiil not nice.
The water taxi is R30 p/p per day and you can use the ticket the whole day.Very nice,friendly and fun.A very fine way to get to the waterfront.Just know you can only use the taxi intill 8`o`clock in the evening,but it is no problem.It is very easy to get a taxi between R30 and R50.
We would stay at the Canal Quays again,but only on one of the top floors.

Room Tip: A room on floor 3 and upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillemanEsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#21 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,262 reviews
0.1 mi away
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#54 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterfront Village
Waterfront Village
#63 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction W...
#50 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Waterfront
Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Wa...
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Quays

Property: Canal Quays
Address: 1 Lower Long Street | Convention Centre Square, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Quays 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a serene location overlooking the beautiful working harbour of Cape Town. Canal Quays is a modern property classically furnished and ideally positioned on the canal waterway. This venue affords guests the comfort of spacious self-catering apartments in a quiet area of the city. Canal Quays is ideal for business and leisure as it's a stroll to the Cape Town International Convention Centre, and within walking distance to the city's financial district and a short drive to various shopping centres, restaurants and major attractions. Each modern apartment is equipped with a kitchen, open-plan dining and lounge areas, including spacious bedrooms, which makes Canal Quays suitable for short and long stays in Cape Town. Our services include pre-arrival grocery shopping, airport transfers, car rental, day tours and sightseeing excursions (charges apply). Personal laundry and dry cleaning services are available upon request (surcharge applicable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Canal Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Quays Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing