We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food for very reasonable prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gourmet Boerie - CLOSED

Gourmet Boerie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Home of the South African gourmet boerewors roll
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great food for very reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

I ran across this place while walking back to where I'm staying. Very clean, nice, comfortable setting. I didn't know what a "boerie" was before I walked in here and the waiter explained it all (basically, it is South African hot dog but done in a much nicer way, with all sorts of different sauces). Staff is friendly. I enjoyed my meal here and didn't pay much at all!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eerdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    35
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lekker boerie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

As an ex South African visiting cape town we had to try this place. The food was great, we had the traditional boerie - one with chakalaka sauce and one with tomato, goats cheese, pesto, caramelized onion - great. The meat was tasty as were the toppings. Nice, open place with large sliding doors and windows to soak up everything happening on kloof.

Helpful?
1 Thank CF_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peterborough, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We came here for a drink first as it was just around the corner from where we were staying, they've got free wifi. We liked the food coming out so we came on our last day for lunch. They had a good trade and we got seated ok. The service was good, the food was great and the price was good too. Definitely recommend it

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lazylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midrand, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Boerie lunch at the foot of the moutain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Poor service, very slow. Food very average, over rated. I am sure Cape Town has got much better to offer.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ZuZanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect intro to SA food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I had a group of 20 French students, hungry and fresh off the plane so I wanted to give them a quick meal but typically local. What better choice than Gourmet Boerie? I'd never been there myself but had heard good reports.

The helpful staff were able to accommodate us at short notice. I advised the students on a few suggestions and they ordered a variety of rolls. It was the best choice and they all loved their rolls. I had the one with gorgonzola - delicious! The chakalakka was a big hit with the others.

Service was fast, efficient and super-friendly. The students tried some Malva pudding on my recommendation and loved it.

The long tables make a perfect setting for a casual atmosphere.

Thanks, guys, for helping me make a good first impression of Cape Town!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancoiseArmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Boerie also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing