We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and nicely presented.”
Review of The DISH

The DISH
Ranked #828 of 1,155 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Restaurant details
Staverton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good food and nicely presented.”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Varied menu and everything which we saw being brought out of the kitchen looked really good. Generous portions - I had a salad which was so vast I wasn't able to finish it (that's never happened with a salad before!!)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LancashireLass21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harare
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Although the prices are on the high side , the meals i had in the restaurant were just perfect , good portions and the food not ordinary. The staff were professional and very helpful.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank zvita rosemary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great location, poor service”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The food was well presented, but the service was poor. My steak was over matured (off) and had to be send back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank VGV001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent location poor restuarant service”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I took my wife to the restaurant called "Dish" situated in the hotel for her birthday, accompanied by our daughters and some friends. The food was presentable, however the service was very slow and poor. We some of us ordered steak, mine was "over matured" and had a smell and had to be send back. I ended up eating alone since the rest of the guests already finished their meal by the time I received a replacement meal. The deserts are way too expensive..........

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VGV001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Inn on the Square Restaurant - Atrocious Service”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Six of us had lunch on the Hotel's patio, overlooking the square, today. 4 of us received our lunch, and the other 2-- after repeated follow ups with the Waiters and Management-- never received lunch and eventually gave up waiting, and one member of the party had to wait over 30 mins to receive a coke. The service was simply unbelievably bad--and even after repeated requests for action, nothing materialised. We have previously had good service here before, but this was unfogetably bad.
We also sat at the table next top the entrance steps--and unfortunately the smell of sewage at this position is bad --so recommend one sits elsewhere on the terrace.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownRichard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The DISH also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The DISH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing