We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Wonderful Stay at District Six Guesthouse in Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
District Six Guesthouse
Ranked #70 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Stay at District Six Guesthouse in Cape Town”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed at District Six when I first visited Cape Town last year (see my posting dated March 10, 2013), and was so pleased that I returned there again on my most recent trip to South Africa, without even considering any other properties. I enjoyed it even more this time!

The guest house has a very homey and relaxed atmosphere, which encourages all of the guests to interact with each other. I spent a number of hours out on the back porch (which provides a great view of the harbor), chatting with interesting people from around the world. We all shared travel tips and experiences, and learned a lot from each other, which would probably never happen in a formal, conventional hotel. However, for those guests who may prefer to just relax with a book or access their laptop. the guest house also provides a number of quiet outdoor areas, such as the front porch and garden.

I also had the opportunity to explore the neighborhood, which is far more interesting than the generic tourist areas where most hotels and properties are located. The guest house is in close proximity to the District Six Museum (one of the most meaningful places I've visited in South Africa), the "Fringe" area (which is rapidly emerging as a major creative and artistic center), and not to be overlooked, Charly's Bakery.

When I was there last year, the new "MyCiti" bus service was just beginning. It is now in the final stages of rollout (with additional routes planned), and works very efficiently. I used it extensively to travel to the downtown area - the stop for Bus #102 is just steps away from the entrance to the guest house. With a simple change of buses at the modern and safe Civic Center hub, it was easy to travel to the V&A Waterfront, the Atlantic Seaboard beach communities (such as Mouille Point) and even as far as Camps Bay, all for a very reasonable fare. Going in the opposite direction, you can take the #102 bus directly to the very popular Biscuit Factory "Neighbourgoods" market held on Saturday mornings in the Woodstock neighborhood. (This is one of my favorite things to do in Cape Town, one of the food stands makes great ostrich burgers!) Passengers use a debit card to pay the fare, which makes the process very convenient. So for me, the bus eliminated any concerns about the location.

I am definitely looking forward to returning to District Six Guesthouse, the next time I visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    22
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
14
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have stayed at District 6 with 15 young aspiring cricketers from Devon on their developmental tour for a few years now and cant wait to go back! Such an amazing and memorable experience for these young lads. A fabulous warm welcome always awaits us. Faiza and Brenda are fantastic at looking after us all, providing superb food and refreshments, clean washing and very comfortable rooms and service. The views from the guesthouse are lovely backed by table mountain - Our favourite place is to take breakfast on the terrace where you can see down to the water. Super staff who are always so kind and helpful that the boys don't miss their home comforts at all!. Fantastic for groups and individuals as it is so close to everything. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

A lovely property with big trees and a big veranda overlooking the City and the harbour.... an historic set of cottages set on the mountain and turned into a guesthouse. We had the family room which was basic but comfortable - we did find it noisy as people pass by late at night to get in and it is close to the diningroom and kitchen.
Gita is friendly and accommodating with cups of tea on arrival and lovely breakfast each morning. Faiza owns and runs the place and is welcoming.
Safe onsite parking with a guard - getting in and out of the gate can be tricky due to traffic. Wifi only in reception area.
Very good value and a good start to our month in SA.

Room Tip: I assume rooms further away from the diningroom would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabcfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on tour
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed over New Years Eve and New Years Day and we got left without any wishes than wanting to stay longer.
Many thanks to Faiza and all the other staff like Happy and Gita. We really felt at home immediately and they really know your needs before you even have articulate them. It is clean and cosy and the breakfast just one of the best you can get. Located so near to town and still a quiet place. We only can highly recommend to decide to stay at District Six Guesthouse.

We wish all the best and a prosperous New Year. You deserve it!

Diana and Christian

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejderhakiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Very good breakfast, with very kind personnel, and helpful manager.
Place is very close to the most touristic places, and their price is quite fair. It has a very nice view of the harbor and ships.
Enough area for car parking.
The only problem that we faced was the internet that we had to go to the reception area to connect to the wifi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Thank You Faiza, Giita, Happiness and all other staff.
This was truly an amazing experience. As I grew up in Cape Town it was so nice to again see that hospitality, friendliness and caring attitude of all of you. It actually surprised me! Believe me I travel more than most people.
The location, parking space, size of rooms, food, views, and layout was so different from all the other places we frequent.
On top of all that your prices are affordable.
Definitely 5 stars from us!

Room Tip: Room 1 was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NFakier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2013

For my wife and I from Australia, it had a touch of the Best Exotic Marigold hotel. We felt instantly at home and comfortable, and we often sat up well into the evening chatting to the staff and other guests. We got to know the staff, so after a few days we became firm friends. So different from the larger impersonal hotels, but at the Guesthouse we got to know the real Capetonians and share their warmth and genuine generosity. Faeeza the owner would move heaven and earth to make your stay comfortable, and nothing was too much for her. Giitaa is a real character with a wonderful sense of humour and genuine warmth of character. If you want to meet the real character, warmth and generosity of the people of Cape Town, this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Wish U Were Here
#57 of 156 in Cape Town Central
119 reviews
City Bowl
The Lions
The Lions
#75 of 156 in Cape Town Central
56 reviews
Anchor Bay Guest House
#46 of 156 in Cape Town Central
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa Elena Cape Town
#130 of 156 in Cape Town Central
127 reviews
Sweet Olive Guesthouse
#49 of 156 in Cape Town Central
105 reviews
22 On Rose
#127 of 156 in Cape Town Central
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to District Six Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about District Six Guesthouse

Property: District Six Guesthouse
Address: 2 Chester Road | District Six, Cape Town Central 7925, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — District Six Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the foot of Table Mountain with the historic District Six at it's doorstep, this 12 room Guesthouse with conference facilities and secure parking, provides a portal from where, within walking distance, visitors are able to explore the historic locale and the City center. Authentic Cape Malay hospitality and cuisine combined with fantastic views and easy access to all of Cape Town's hotspots makes this an ideal place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your District Six Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
District Six Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing