We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The African Dance Theatre

The African Dance Theatre
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The African Dance Theatre is a one hour show filled with well known African songs, fused with the distinctive beat of drums, zulu war dances, gumboots dances, jazz and pantsula. This energetic hour long show will take you on an African Musical journey through time.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Energetic, entertaining and lots of fun. This was dance at its best but with a very serious story to tell. Good value for money and the hour flew by.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    11
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“dont miss this - absolutely brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I visited the African Dance Theatre on Thursday 10th October. We booked online in advance and thought it was great value. The venue is absolutely perfect, very comfortable wide seating with plenty of leg room. I wouldn’t think there is a bad seat in the auditorium. A glass of wine is only 20 rand and was very enjoyable. The show begins with African music by drummers and other musicians on stage in African wear, and consists of 4 performances which tell a story. The dancers (male and female) were fantastic, and the singing was brilliant too. The main girl performer was a ball of energy from start to finish and Id nearly say she stole the show. The guys on wind instruments were brilliant too. We visited at the start of the tourist season and so expect that is why the venue was almost empty…. But I don’t think that will last long. Considering the value for money, the standard of the performance and the perfect setting I expect this show will go from strength to strength and wish them well for the future. I strongly recommend a visit to this show – it truly was brilliant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Samwhiplash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampula, Mozambique
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Energetic local music!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The play was nice with local musicians and dances. The instrument were very traditional which made it unique.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Xindeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

If you travel this far you have to see this show. It's a small family run show, the men and woman really enjoy what they do, it's a good show

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexander077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oosterhout, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Spirit of Africa in Music and Dance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Cute little theatre and very enthusiastic and energetic performing group of dancers and musiciens.
Music and Dance as you would want to see when being in Capetown.
Very special atmosphere,;we had a lovely hour+ (it is a one hour show at 6 pm).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The African Dance Theatre also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The African Dance Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing