We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem!”
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kensington Place
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
119 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A Real Gem!”
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Loved, loved, loved Kensington Place. Staff were warm and easy going. Room was very clean and generous in size. Breakfasts were wonderful; Lovely presentation, very generous amount. Lunch was simple, from a limited menu, but very well done.The hotel is set in a lovely quiet residential area of Cape Town, in Tamboerskloof, up against Table Mountain. Restaurants not too far away, but would be a long walk uphill to get back (didn't try it). They have an arrangement with a local gym that allows use of the facilities.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livetowander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    20
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
232
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Kensington Place is located on the slopes of Table Mountain. Here you will uncover a truly masterful blend of sophistication and tranquillity. Set amidst fruit trees, a herb garden and intimate pool deck.

The interior throughout has an unmistakable contemporary feel with eclectic African touches throughout. Each of the 8 rooms is furnished individually with some beautiful artwork and magnificent touches, both of which makes Kensington Place the ideal place to stay if you want to spoil someone special. In the room everything is thought about, from a laptop, iPod docking station, DVD players and a LCD TV with DStv, and Molton Brown bath and body products.

The options for breakfast were outstanding. Before you get a chance to look at the menu, there is small matter of deciding if you would like breakfast served in your room, downstairs on the terrace, or on your private balcony at any time of the day. The breakfast menu offered something for everyone, a continental breakfast, fruit salad, a choice of 4 juices, full breakfast, and fresh coffee.

The staff are always on hand to ensure that your stay at Kensington Place is a memorable one, whether it is to offer advice in places to eat, or lending a hand to organise your itinerary. It is certainly the little things that go a long way to ensuring that Kensington Place sets itself apart from other boutique hotels. From complimentary tea or coffee, brought to your room or left on your balcony (your choice), is an incredible way to start the day, through to the petals that were scattered in the hallway between the bar and dining room.

For me it is it is the hotel's ability to maintain secluded privacy within such close proximity to Table Mountain and Cape Town, which makes this hotel a fantastic place for romance, rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattlemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2009

An all round superb hotel. The friendliest and most personal service, fantastic food, great decor and relaxed atmosphere. We planned our trip at the last minute and could only get a room for 3 out of our 10 nights, which was so disappointing as we didn't want to leave the place.

If you're going to Cape Town, definitely put this at the top of your list of places to stay - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonR1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

We recently travelled to Cape Town and spent a month in the mother city. We were delighted to have the privilege to stay at Kensington Place. Despite the hotel offering slick modern design it is a warm experience. The stylish decor is complemented by amazing staff offering excellent service. All advice about the fabulous Cape Town offerings was on hand whenever we needed, the staff could not be more helpful. The rooms are spacious stylish and extremely comfortable, the attention to detail is amazing. everything has been thought about from laptops in the rooms, ipod docking stations, dvd players and LCD TV's, Molton Brown amenities and excellent linen. The all day breakfast is a first you do not feel you have to rush at all whilst staying at this hotel. The Kensington Place team listen to your needs. The parking is a bit tight and sometimes poses difficulty getting in and out of a parking bay.An urban oasis close to all the main attractions. I cant wait to go back to this calm oasis.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayabarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2009

I was there with my wife last month for our honeymoon and we had the best 5 nights we could ever dream of! Excellent service, excellent and helpful staff, great rooms! Highly recommended! We´ll certainly go back!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrennoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2009

Myself & husband recently returned from our 1st trip to S Africa. We started our holiday at Kensington Place, what a fantastic choice we made. Even though we arrived hours before check-in time we were greeted by Sasha and offered a glass of Champagne, what a perfect start to the holiday.

Our suite was Room 4 which was perfect in every way, from the Molton Brown toiletries to the fresh flowers, the chilled water, the fresh apples and the complimentary bottle of S African wine. The decor was beautiful, the suite spacious and we had our own wonderful private curtained terrace, complete with 3 potted grasses and splendid views. The attention to detail at this boutique hotel was second to none, the interior design is contemporary yet very comfortable, the public areas display the most beautiful orchids, artwork, lighting and most tasteful soft furnishings. There is even a Linari room fragrance diffuser in the cloakroom, fresh flowers and beautfiul tea lights.

Breakfast could be taken in your room, on your balcony or downstairs on the open terrace and the menu choice was the best, from fresh juice to smoothies, fresh fruit salads, fresh coffee, eggs cooked in every way, full cooked breakfast and delicious breads/croissants/muffins/toast.

Small touches can make all the difference, such as complimentary tea/coffee each morning before breakfast which was brought to our room upon request and presented in the most beautiful way, with a fresh rose or protea and a biscotti. Before going out for evening dinner Michael and Mark would welcome you in the bar with a delicious dish of Hors d'Oeuvres. At turndown a handmade chocolate or fudge greeted you on return from your evening out, along with an iced jug of water. One evening before going out to dinner we returned to a rose petal filled bath and when we came down to the bar to venture out for evening dinner the entrance hallway was also scattered with rose petals. All these small touches didn't go unnoticed by ourselves and really do set this hotel apart from the rest. Sasha runs a very tight ship with an excellent team of staff, the service is casual, friendly and efficient. Sasha is a mind of information, nothing is too much trouble for anyone at KP, from arranging taxis to recommending restaurants and making the best reservations in town and giving advice on the best shops!

We could go on and on extolling the virtues of this little gem, which is located at the top of Kloof Street in a quiet area and at the foot of 'Table Mtn' where you could even see each day whether the cable car was operating. It could be tempting to keep this fabulous hotel secret, however, we cannot recommend it highly enough and its only fair KP gets the recognition it so deserves.

We hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BURTONWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2008

Kensington Place feels like a calm oasis in the middle of the busy city of Cape Town. The decor is very modern and tasteful and there are lots of little private areas where you can hang out and relax at the end of the day.

Our room was large and really well equipped with a laptop, ipod docking station, 2 balconies and a huge bed!

Breakfast was legendary (best we found in SA!) and they pre booked us into restaurants to make sure we didn't miss out. Everything was an easy drive or cab ride away.

The only downside we felt was that the staff (although very efficient) weren't overly helpful unless asked - would have liked a bit more inside information about the city and what to do.

  • Liked — Chill out areas and breakfasts
  • Disliked — Would like more inside information from staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,391 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,240 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
639 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Property: Kensington Place
Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 7405, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing