We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb base for Cape Town”
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kensington Place
Ranked #17 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had 4 nights at Kensington Place. It was our fist time to Cape Town and we could have done with a little longer. The hotel was a perfect start to our honeymoon - great location, lovely room and some really nice 'extra bits' such as their booking of restaurants (as mentioned by other reviewers) and their suggestions regarding how to spend your time. They sorted a driver for us on 2 separate days so we could enjoy Cape Point and wineries without having to drive ourselves.
We loved our time at Kensington Place - and would highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 and could see Table Mountain and had balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 148MandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 350 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Upon arrival at the hotel in the morning, we were immediately greeted with some of the friendliest service you could find. We were immediately offered breakfast, which we enjoyed in the comfortable restaurant setting. The rooms are not large, but are comfortable, clean and adorned with modern design elements. We had a small balcony from which we could enjoy the view of the surrounding area over a bottle of the complimentary wine. Everyone on the staff was very helpful and friendly. One of the best features/services provided by the hotel was that they have standing reservations at some of the best and most popular restaurants in town. The manager had some restaurant suggestions prepared for us before we arrived, and they were all spot on. If we'd tried to make some of the reservations ourselves, we wouldn't have been able to get in because of how popular they are. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubbastyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The fact that all the reviews are either Excellent or Very Good (with 95% of them Excellent) tells you just how good this quaint hotel is. From our arrival we immediately picked up the relaxed and friendly environment the team at Kensington Place strive to create. The breakfasts and snacks are fantastic and as other reviews have mentioned the fish cakes are insanely good. The rooms are clean, very comfortable and spacious (not to mention trendy) and the staff are eager to help in any way possible but in no way are they over the top. They help you plot your plans for your day trips, make recommendations and even book some of Cape Towns best restaurants for you before your arrival (Pot Luck is a must!). Austin, Michael and the team should be very proud of what they have created at Kensington Place and we can not wait to return...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tellsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I started with another Cape Town hotel which didn't work out for me, moved to Kensington Place and wish I had found it sooner. The views of Cape Town from my upper floor room were spectacular, the room was cozy and included in-floor heaters in the bathroom and bedroom. The staff was friendly and helpful in booking reservations at area hotels, the breakfast outstanding, and the common areas were very nice. The hotel was comfortable enough that if I hadn't been able to get out and see anything, I could have had a nice vacation just staying at the Kensington. My only criticism is that on he upper floor where I was, WiFi connection was spotty and dependent on where I was in the room. I tried the in-room laptops, but they are using 10 year old technology. I think it would make a better impression to upgrade the WiFi equipment, and either remove the old technology or replace it with current models

Room Tip: I was very happy with the room I had, a superior suite on the top floor looking North. Don't rem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our African adventure began here and it couldn't have been better. The staff is marvelous and so caring and helpful. The public space is beautiful and breakfast is delicious. I would return to this wonderful hotel and fabulous city in a heartbeat.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great service, hip designed rooms. Top quality service, they even pre-booked some dinners for guests so that they have options to recommend to you when you arrive. Great DVDs if you want to relax- I recommend Searching for Sugarman for the South Africa experience. Had restaurant recommendations I would have never come up with on my own. Great fishcakes for breakfast too. Almost no downside here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LATraveler20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

What a pleasant surprise awaited my husband and I on our arrival at Kensington Place. Greeted by warm smiles and invited to take a seat by the fire in the tastefully decorated lounge and order any drink we desired whilst minimal check in procedures took place. My husband had a second complimentary beer before we were shown to our sumptuous room - where we found a complimentary bottle of wine! As mentioned by others, the fact that Austin and his staff had gone to the trouble of booking an eclectic mix of some of Cape Town's best restaurants was a big bonus. We stayed 4 nights over the weekend and would not have got into these places without prior bookings. Coming from Australia we found the value for food and wine was amazing, and we made the most of it!

My husband wanted to press a few things and asked for an iron and ironing board, but was told they didn't provide them but they would be happy to do any pressing we required - at no charge!

The breakfasts were to die for. The quality and range of food was perfect and couldn't be faulted. We could not recommend this lovely hidden gem of a Hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to be given an upstairs corner room with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town
2,098 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#9 of 110 in Cape Town
1,307 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town
1,664 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 110 in Cape Town
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town 7405, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town
Price Range: $211 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing