We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kensington Place
Ranked #20 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We arrived to be welcomed with open arms. I simply cannot rate this high enough, absolute perfection, we will return with our children and use it as a base before a family safari. fantastic night's sleep - everything was amazing. Great choice of food, cocktails even advice on local restaurants. Nothing was too much trouble at all. AMAZING.

Room Tip: They are all superb and to the same quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angiesafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    19
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
198
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I'm flummoxed how anyone could not rate this place a 5 star property. From the moment we arrived we were treated as if we were royalty. Austin, the young GM, looks like he stepped off the cover of GQ. He immediately attended to our every need, and made reservations at restaurants he thought we would enjoy. All of them were top notch, and one we revisited it was so good. Mark the night manager was also alert to any request of ours. No question went unanswered or fully explained. This is how thoughtful they are. When learning one of our group had a birthday they made us a birthday cake AND contributed a bottle of champagne, gratis. This is what separates the good from the great, and this place is great. Another example? By the pool is a basket filled with sunscreen, towels and loads of other stuff for your use. It was if they anticipated your every need before you thought of it. Breakfast was a never ending feast served by a smiling Blessing. All of the staff were as happy as we were, except they were working and we were on vacation. Go figure. Just joyful and accommodating attitudes. The rooms were modern, not lacking anything, with oversized bathtubs you could swim in and enormous,sleep inducing beds. The hotel itself sits at the base of Table Mountain in a quiet residential section, but it is only 10 minutes away from just about any spot in the city. Add it up - fabulous service, beautiful rooms, superb breakfast (and the ability to make just about whatever you want when ever you want) in a secluded, tranquil setting. I recommend Kensington Place without hesitation to anyone who desires a pampered, chic hotel in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower room if you have trouble with the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hcarlpast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you like Radisson SAS, Hilton, Intercontinental, etc. please do not go there! This is special place for people looking for the best, for the charming atmosphere and personal touch. Jammy breakfast nice view and location. If coming from abroad and familiar with the local rules, places to go, to eat - you will be guided by the lovely owner or the team. Believe, recommendations are worth it. This would definitively be place to come back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dainis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We arrived after a whole days travel and were warmly greeted by Michael. It is such a pleasant, private hotel ( 7 rooms only! ) and it was a shame we didn't get to stay long enough to enjoy it some more! Our room was facing Cape Town with a view of Table Mountain to the side which was absolutely stunning. Our room was spacious, comfortable and always clean. The breakfasts were amazing, make sure you give yourself time to enjoy it before rushing out to see all that this interesting city has to offer. The hotel service is very thoughtful - suntan lotion by the pool readily available, sarongs to borrow right at the side of the lounge chairs, restaurant reservations, early breakfast to cater for your early shark dive tours (getting up at 4am in the morning!) and I'm sure the list can be endless! it was a great stay and we are so glad we stayed here for part of our honeymoon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auroracoralsHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

What a great little hotel. Absolutely charming, especially the staff who were all very sweet and welcoming. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

There are, however, one or two points people should be aware of:
- It is very small, which is great, because you get wonderfully attentive and personal service. However, you should be aware of it if you are expecting a bigger hotel.
- One downside of it being small is that it does not have the ammenities that you would expect of a five star hotel (on-site gym, etc.). It does however, have all-day room service (which was good!).
- It is a little out of the way. At least that is how it felt to me. That being said, it is closer to Camps Bay than the CBD.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We arrived at KP travel weary from our overnight flight. We quickly felt rejuvenated after such a lovely welcome from Sasha, which included a glass of champagne. Our room was extremely comfortable with a wonderful bathroom and view. Dinner suggestions were all spot on. The staff were so attentive without over doing it and nothing was too much trouble. KP was a perfect place to start our South African adventure. Would thoroughly recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: The room along from the plunge pool has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naughtybrowndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I'll be brief because I was here for our honeymoon back in 2009. Staff were great, accommodation was great, food was great and location was, you guessed it....great. Cannot fault. As I say I'm sorry for the late review, however judging by all the recent reviews nothing has changed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topcatster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,211 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#12 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MannaBay
#1 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
City Bowl
The Three Boutique Hotel
The Three Boutique Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Property: Kensington Place
Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing