We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great bolt hole for cape town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kensington Place
Ranked #25 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great bolt hole for cape town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Good points 
- service is brilliant. They book you into a number of restaurants before arriving. You can then do some research once you are there to see if you want to go to any of them. 
- breakfast was amazing. Great choice of freshly squeezed juices and great choices of cooked breakfasts. 
- views from the rooms very nice. 
- overall decor and interior design is like out of a magazine
- nice outdoor sitting area and small pool. 

Not so good:
- beds/mattresses in our room were quite old and could do with replacing

Overall, five out of five. 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janrattay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    19
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
201
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Just got here a couple of hours ago from USA.It was dark outside and dropped off at the gate...looked like a ymca from that vantage...big iron door... Boy was I pleasantly surprised... This is one of the nicest hotels ive been to ...around the world...my wife was hungry at 10:30 and they opened the kitchen just for her. They made reservations for us at restaurants for the next few days...you gotta stay here... Plan ahead... Only 8 rooms...will report on the rest of the stay..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhstrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, MS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

AHHHHH!!!! This place is just incredible. We stayed for the first 4 nights of our two weeks in Africa. What a way to start. The staff take care of you like family--they are so kind and gracious. Upon arrival at around 10pm, we were greeted with two glasses of pinotage, light dinner, and a roaring fireplace. They were happy to let us relax by the fire until a little after midnight-even though we were the last ones to our rooms-they just waited patiently and had the porter go ahead and take down all of our bags and prepare our room. The rooms were perfect, large, private. Everyone else is commenting on the details-they do such a great job with the details! Molten Brown in the bathrooms, two types of bath salts, candles lit for your bath every night when you come home from dinner (which was booked at the best place in town by Sasha).

I was so jet lagged, I was up almost all night the second night we stayed...and drank too much wine at dinner! I called reception at 4am for tea and toast thinking that maybe...just maybe...and low and behold they deliver a full tray of goodies--coffee, tea, toast, cookies, amazing.

And yes, Sasha makes your dinner reservations. She secured tables that we tried 2mo out to book and couldn't. Breakfast is perfect-you know how so many places say they are offering breakfast, but nothing is hot-no eggs, etc? Well Kensington gives you a cold and hot course--with the most amazing omelet with avocado.

Guys, you seriously have to stay here! I was tempted by all of the PR from the One and Only...only to go to their bar for an afternoon drink and find it is very impersonal and not nearly to the standards of the other One and Only's. Maybe it was because it was winter? I don't know, but I couldn't get back to Kensington fast enough.

Ya'll did excellent! Thanks!

Room Tip: LOVED our room out by the pool--super secluded...and I love pools so it was nice to be so close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryannab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Left this hotel just this morning after 3 nights. The service was so excellent it felt like we were the only guests. The design of the hotel is simply wonderful and those tiny little extra details they have..... I just wish every hotel in the world had this level of care and attention. Please trust their restaurant choices as they are truly delightful! Oh and their breakfast is just Wow!

Room Tip: No onsight gym but the Virgin Fitness centre they give you access to is the best gym I have ever bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Kensington Place is an amazing place to stay. A small, boutique hotel where there service is so amazing and relaxed, it is like staying in someone's home. Sasha and the entire staff were so helpful and accommodating and the facilities and meals were great.

When we arrived and were told the hotel had made dinner reservations for us for every night of our stay, we were thrilled. This hotel is all about the little touches and and the staff treat you like one of the family - thank you, we'll definitely come back one day!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatSydney52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at Kensington for five nights during our 10 year anniversary Africa trip. Loved this place! We had a great room with awesome views! Loved the boutique hotel feel where you get extra attention. They gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne for our anniversary. Staff (Michael and Mark) were great and so helpful! We met Chris, the proprietor who gave us fantastic restaurant/winery recommendations. Overall, a marvelous stop while in Cape Town. We'll certainly go back to Kensington!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJBleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
1,428 reviews
248 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 636 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed 4 nights at Kensington. It was one of our best stays ever.

The property is set in a quiet residential neighborhood but within walking distance of most of the city. Amazing views of Table Mountain and Lions Head. Reserve room #1 for two patios with excellent views and a nice fireplace.

The entire place is very modern, super clean, and very welcoming. The breakfasts were amazing, and the staff are among the best in the business.

We hated to leave. Don't bother staying anywhere else. This is the place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
416chrisweir, Owner at Kensington Place, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Kensington plave, hotel, Cape Town, it is great to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kensington Place soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#4 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
The Three Boutique Hotel
The Three Boutique Hotel
#12 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,678 reviews
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Property: Kensington Place
Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 7405, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing