We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot!”
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kensington Place
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Spot!”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My partner and I came to S.A. to celebrate a good friend's 50th birthday. Having saved up some money, we decided to treat ourselves this trip.

We enjoyed our stay in general - wonderful breakfast, attentive staffs and spacious rooms.

The only missing detail is the electrical outlets in the bathrooms. They went extra miles to have the dual (110 - 220v) plugs but none of them worked. So we ended up shaving in the room. And make sure you bring a S.A. electrical adaptor because it's different from the European and the Asian ones.

The pool was a little small but it's cozy at the same time. It's a bonus to take a refreshing dip at the end of the day after a hot day walking the Table Mountain, downtown, Cape of Good Hope, Robben Island ...etc

Location-wise, the hotel nicely sits at mid-level that rooms on 2nd and 3rd floors have nice views of Cape Town. It's not walking distance to downtown but it's just a short taxi ride to all the sight-seeing spots.

Will definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Pick upstairs rooms with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
416chrisweir, Owner at Kensington Place, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. Please let me know the dates you stayed with us and the name you were booked in as. Terribly sorry to hear about your plug in the bathroom not working. Which room did you stay in? We cant test every plug every day and this is the first complaint of this nature. Had we been informed we would have attended to it immediately. We provide adaptors to all our guests, had you asked we would have given you one.
Generally our guests do walk to the city even if they have a rental car, interesting shops down Kloof Street.
We only have one room on the ground floor with its own private garden.
I am interested to understand why you rated the sleep quality so bad. Our guests only but commend us on the quality of the beds and the sleep quality!
I am terribly sorry about the inconvenience that the plug was not working.

Regards
Chris Weir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    20
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
232
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, England
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in February 2012 and loved it.

The place itself is modern and stylish and can genuinely be described as boutique when most places cannot. It exudes peace and calm and is a true oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the City below

Set in a residential area in the hills above Cape Town it is a 5 minute walk to some nice local cafes and restaurants and about a 30 - 40 minute walk into town though taxis are readily available.

Like other reviewers have commented Sasha who runs the place is just incredible. We have never stayed anywhere in the World where restaurant reservations at the top places in town were made for us before we arrived and without us asking because, as she said, you won't get in otherwise and you can always cancel.

We liked the place so much that we even thought about cancelling our stay at the five star Cape Grace by the Waterfront where we were due to return following a tour of the garden route but there were no rooms available.

We would not hesitate to stay here again if we return to Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
416chrisweir, Owner at Kensington Place, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. i am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Kensington Place. boutique hotel Cape Town. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards
Chris Weir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent nearly three weeks at this beautiful boutique hotel. We would quite happily have stayed for three years. Sasha (who is the best person I have ever met in this industry) and her team are superb. The property, rooms and location are amazing and the hotel nestles right underneath Table Mountain which greets you every morning when you walk out onto your balcony. There is a real air of personal service here and nothing is too much trouble. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth503902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this great bed and breakfast. The rooms are spacious, the food is great and the gounds are breath taking. We spend the day by the pool with an amazing view of Table Mountain. A big highlight of our visit was Sasha the operations manager, who made extra time to chat with us and really made us feel at home. She gave us several great wine and restauant recommendations, which really helped make our visit to South Africa more special.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Canadian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
416chrisweir, Owner at Kensington Place, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of Kensington Place boutique hotel, Cape Town. As an owner I value the feedback, hope to see you back one day!!

Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We have been staying at KP for many years and just returned from another wonderful stay.
The location - nestling under Table Mountain on the City rather than the Atlantic side - is perfect with many cafes, restaurants and shops within walking distance. You are staying in a real neighbourhood.
The property itself is lovely and the staff, all of whom have been there for many years, are great.
Breakfasts - served until midday or later, allowing you your early morning hike up the mountain - are a real treat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Londoner_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
416chrisweir, Owner at Kensington Place, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Hi Chris and Stuart, was great to have you back at Kensington Place. I could not believe that it has been your 12th visit. thank you for the support over the years.

Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Kensington Place is so well hidden in the lush hill sides of Higgovale that you almost wouldn't know it was there. The luxury accommodation was surrounded on all sides by lush green plants, and I knew we were onto a winner from the second we walked through the door and met the amazing staff - we were well looked after by Sasha and Marlene.

Kensington Place can act as the perfect backdrop if you are looking to get out and about in Cape Town, but it is also a great retreat to spend a little bit of down time if you are looking to relax.

The food is tasty and exciting. The home made muesli was so delicious that I seriously considered breaking multiple international laws to try and smuggle some back.

The hotel backdrop is stylish, refined and could easily be mistaken for a tropical paradise. With table mountain overlooking you ... it's really something magical. I'll be going back.

Ps Room 1 is amazing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraigOBoyle1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
416chrisweir, Owner at Kensington Place, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time out of your schedule to write a review on Kensington Place, Cape Town. It was a great pleasure to have you stay, hope you will be back one day.

Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful long weekend in Cape Town staying at Kensington Place. Highlights included:

- Great sized rooms and communal spaces with beautiful interior design
- Very thoughtful staff who pre-booked tables at restaurants for Friday and Saturday night in case we had not done this ourselves. It was fantastic to arrive and not have to worry about choosing restaurants or making bookings. Grand Beach at Granger Beach was fantastic - highly recommended!
- Excellent breakfasts served all day so no need to rush out of bed
- Chilled water provided by the pool throughout the day
- Coffees delivered to your room before breakfast if you are early risers or are leaving early
- Handful of restaurants within walking distance, including some great lunch spots
- Close to Table Mountain cable car (5 min cab ride)

Overall a really great hotel/guest house. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripreviewerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,391 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,240 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
639 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Property: Kensington Place
Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 7405, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing