We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We want to call it home.....”
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kensington Place
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“We want to call it home.....”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

This will have been our 4th trip here. What I love about KP is that you come back through the gates, and there is a sense of calm and peace, followed by a great welcome by the team.

Nothing is too much bother, and you see the same faces whenever you return – thats the sign of a great place – very low staff turnover!!

The benefits of staying here over feedback I’ve got from friends staying elsewhere in Cape Town are as follows:
-There is a bar – full time, you can order what you want. Other places offer honestly bars, or bars on certain nights of the week
-Food is served all day every day (near enough), lovely hot/cold sandwiches and pasta
-There is a pool
-They iron your clean, white, Egyptian cotton bed sheets...all the time!
-You can walk to local restaurants on Kloof, so you feel more like a local, then being down the V&A and being a tourist.
-KP will book you into the new restaurants that have opened; a friends hotel didn’t even realise that a restaurant KP booked us into was even open!

Over all, this is a real boutique hotel – eye for detail, great service and a calm, yet trendy atmosphere.

We love it...and to be honest really just want to move in here full time and call it home!

We're back in Decemeber, so we really could!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Coffee&applepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    22
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
233
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2011

I had so often heard great things about Kensington Place and finally had the opportunity to stay there last week.
It really lives up to its reputation. All the staff we met were very friendly and very professional - nothing was too much trouble. The room was great and the breakfast superb.
I really hope I will get to stay there again sometime soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloyduss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

This is surely the most serene, elegant and very professionally run property of its kind in Cape Town.
The location is great, as it is in the city, yet you feel like in a forest due to the privacy of the property and its lush gardens.
The staff are amazing and the all team is run under Sasha's competent management.
Oh, and where exactly do you get your own laptop in rooms for your work???!!! Simply amazing

Room Tip: Top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdequekervandermerwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We stayed at Kensington Place 3 nights during our honeymoon and loved every minute of it. The location is stunning (nestled right up against Table Mountain), the breakfast is delicious, and the hospitality is some of the best we've ever experienced anywhere in the world. The team at Kensington Place offered excellent recommendations for restaurants around town, booked reservations for us and spent each morning helping us plot out our day in Cape Town. Truly a wonderful, relaxing and memorable experience. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksmith00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Really an amazing stay with a very attentive staff. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was large and well-maintained. The provided laptop and internet access was a nice touch.

The staff was incredibly helpful in terms of making dinner reservations and organizing activities.

Breakfast was good, and it's nice that they served breakfast so late.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyMell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

This will be our third visit. Our 4th visit will be in May. We specifically go to Cape Town to visit KP..... Its like our 2nd home...I wish!

I love this place SO much, and what has reaffirmed this love, is that some friends stayed at another B&B/Hotel down Kloof, and came to visit. They said their B&B/Hotel didn’t have a bar, didn’t really offer much on room service and didn’t have the same vibe as KP. Sometimes we think...should we stay somewhere else? But we go back, and its still great!

The restaurants that Sasha, Micheal, Marlene the team recommend are usually fantastic, and they booked one this year that someone from Cape Town had never heard of!

There is a habit of hotels falling into bad habits and failing in standards, but that is never evident here. Always very, very clean, with the pristine bed sheets, and Molton Brown goodies; superb staff, great recommendations and a personal touch that you would not receive in the larger hotels by the V&A.

We’ll see you all in May! Hope you’re not sick of us.....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coffee&applepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

KP is a small boutique hotel about 2 miles from the V&A Waterfront under Table Mountain in a quiet leafy location. The hotel is modern with great rooms but its the service that makes this place about as good as it gets. The two ladies Marlene and Sasha who run the hotel are fantastic and we had three nights to remember. They recommended the restuarants and all were terrific and about half the price of UK. A real gem of a place to stay when in Cape Town

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bald-EagleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,015 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
644 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,717 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Property: Kensington Place
Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 7405, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing