We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, if you are on a budget or at a conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The New Tulbagh Hotel
Ranked #98 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“OK, if you are on a budget or at a conference”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The New Tulbagh is down near the conference centre, but is within a 10 - 15 minute walk of Company Gardens, Waterfront, and Long Street. As the hotel is in the business district the area looks a bit deserted, but perfectly safe, and easy to get to anywhere in Cape Town. The rooms seem a little tired but they have everything you need, but this is made up for by very helpful staff and an excellent breakfast.
So if you need a no frills hotel, in the centre of town, this is a good bet

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelmoulsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewald F, Manager at The New Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hi,

All I can say is thank you. We are renovating all rooms and you need to come and see. Please contact me directly.

Ewald Fendler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    67
    51
    39
    34
See reviews for
48
57
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We spent a week at this hotel for our family Xmas holiday. We booked 3 bedrooms in advance and we requested 2 cots and a supplementary bed for 2 of the bedroom we booked given that we had kids with us. We recived a confirmation email but once we got there we didn't have what we requested. Not a problem because as soon as we asked if we could get the beds the staff was ready to help us. When my sister went to their bedroom they could see their matress wasn't comfortable so we politely asked to change it. They told us that was high season and they were out of matresses. Fine. After 4 days though a spring came out from the matress so we demand a new one because you couldn't really sleep on that... After 5 minutes they had a new one (weren't they out of matresses when we asked for a new one for 4 days?)
That was just the start of a number of problems we had that week.
Room service "forgot" almost every day to give us clean towels even though we put them on the floor to be changed. They just picked them up and never put new ones. In my in-laws' room they actually picked up the dirty towels on the floor and just put them back on the tray! Our shower wasn't good at all as it could take you half an hour to wash your body given the small amount of water coming out.
For 2 days in a row our room key didn't work and we had to go downstairs to ask the staff to let us in and they took their time to do that not realizing that we were outside our bedroom waiting to go in!
The hotel was very noisy and the noise you could hear from our bedroom was annoying. We heard the next bedroom's bathroom everytime they used it and as we were close to the lift you could hear non-stopping noises coming from the elevator's movements.
The worse thing that happened that week was in my sister's bedroom. We all went downstairs for breakfast and when we went back upstairs they found two opened condoms on their floor... Where the kids were playing. We told the manager about that and the best thing they could do was just go to the bedroom and pick them up from the bin. Is it normal that something like that happen in a hotel??
I must say the staff was very very friendly and always available. The continental breakfast was amazing and the hotel was clean. It could have a lot of potential but we couldn't enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
144 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Hotel new tulbagh cape town

No value for money, very expensive for not have everything and it was too diffucult to found it. The room was spacious but very simple and not very clean, the bathroom was provided without nothing, only 2 product for the shower. This hotel would have been nice for 70 or 90 eur but we spent much more per night and I didn't like anything, including the breakfast.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JuZ90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Very short beds, if you are above 185cm prepare to sleep with your legs in the air. Our A/C did not work for three days and was not fixed and no other room was offered instead. Our room was not cleaned on one of the days. Beside that the location is very good and safe and overall the room is clean and quiet.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank orenindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saldanha, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Dirty Room. Did not have linen when we checked in. Had to wait until 6 at night for linen to arrive.
Pillows stained yellow from all the sweat. Reception could not even recommend a restaurant to have dinner. And there was one right next door. Manager not much help either. Would definitely NOT Recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewald F, General Manager at The New Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi,

Since you stayed here we had all the staff trained and they are well aware of great restaurant's in our area.
Regarding the lined, please except my apology with the late arrival. We had a problem with our laundry contractor and had changed to a better company since then.

Hope to see you again, please feel free to contact me directly.

Ewald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This hotel is located in the CBD making it easy for one to just walk to any where. The rooms are spacious and clean, just what one need after a long business meeting the hotel itself and the surrounding area is very quite giving one an opportunity to rejuvenate in preparation for the next day. However the hotel does not have own parking space and that creates a bit of challenge but the rest is acceptable. The staff is very friendly and trying by all means to make one feel at home. I will definately come back again when I am assigned to Cape Town because it is affordable and comfortable.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monza1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewald F, General Manager at The New Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your comment, hope to see you soon.

Ewald Fendler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located from all the major attractions in Cape Town. It is close to the waterfront, table mountain not very far from the airport as well.
The hotel itself is quite compact and has a modern decor.
Rooms are spacious and carry all the basic amenities.
One one night there was a problem with the hot water but it was promptly repaired by the staff. The general manager was quite apologetic about this.
There is free wifi in all rooms.
Breakfast spread was good and the chef made special vegetarian dishes for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DocRohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#76 of 109 in Cape Town Central
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 109 in Cape Town Central
454 reviews
8.9 mi away
Tudor Hotel
Tudor Hotel
#95 of 109 in Cape Town Central
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AHA Inn on the Square
AHA Inn on the Square
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fountains Hotel
Fountains Hotel
#81 of 109 in Cape Town Central
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Tulbagh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Tulbagh Hotel

Property: The New Tulbagh Hotel
Address: 9 Ryk Tulbagh Square, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The New Tulbagh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful city of Cape Town, The New Tulbagh Hotel is within walking distance from the famous V&A Waterfront, City Centre and Cape Town International Convention Centre. The New Tulbagh Hotel offers stylish and modern accommodation; the finest amenities will ensure a comfortable stay. Free wireless connectivity throughout the hotel enables you to chat to loved ones via the internet. The New Tulbagh Hotel Restaurant offers fine dining with street cafe flair, as well as in-house dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Tulbagh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Tulbagh Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing