We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The New Tulbagh Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fountains Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Urban Hip Icon Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel on St Georges(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Capetonian Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Sun The Cullinan(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
49
73
66
40
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
73
66
40
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily holidayhotel is centrally locatedthe general managerlong streetstar hotelbreakfast was excellenttable mountaingriffithwaterfrontcbdrand
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 266 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This has been one of my best surprises in Cape Town. I needed a convenient place to stay on a business trip. I would recommend this hotel as the best value for money. The hotel must have been renovated recently. The breakfast was great. The reception staff needs some training but was very helpful. This is a reasonable 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the inner court. Traffic will hassle you otherwise.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zapiture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewald F, Manager at The New Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Good Day,

Thank you kindly.

Ewald Fendler
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My colleague and I stayed here while attending a conference at the convention centre. Very useful location as it is just a short walk from the convention centre. The reception was extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Leisl is a star! They also arranged airport transfers at a very good rate. The rooms were spacious and the bathrooms very large and a great shower! The rate for the rooms was very good - I'm not sure what the standard rooms are like but our room (one up from standard) was great and not much more in cost than the standard room.
Food was good and the breakfast great. Free WiFi would be great but could say the same for lots of places. Might not be the best location for your holiday, I'm not sure, but for us it was perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room that was one up from the standard room. Still good value!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewald F, Manager at The New Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Hi,

Just to let you know our WiFi is now FREE and uncapped, thank you for your kind words.

Ewa;d Fendler
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This seems to be a hotel which was in business before and now started again after some incomplete renovation. The rooms are okay, rather large - at least the one we had - but the bathroom was quite smelly from the sinks, could not find out where it came from - shower or sink, so we put our towels over them and that fixed it until we took them off again. The location is quite central and the price was good - we now know why - so we thought we had a bargain in a city in which hotels are generally overpriced. The neighbourhood is not pleasant but that is downtown capetown in general. Breakfast was okay but the attitude of the staff lacks what one expects in 2012 for the price one pays. This also applies to the receptionist and the manager - we were promised free WLAN and although it was confirmed on our reservation mail which we showed with us both disputed what we had in writing. After a long debate we were eventually given vouchers which turned out to have expired so we didn't chase the issue again and went to an Internet Cafe. Definitely would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EWLKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer zum Innenhof
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon F, Manager at The New Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews