We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 30th Wedding Anniversary to Remember”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A 30th Wedding Anniversary to Remember”
Reviewed January 7, 2011

The whole experience from booking until leaving could not have been better. Wonderfully efficient staff at the hotel with great attention to detail. Talk about managing guests expectations - on arrival we found that we had been upgraded to the Royal Suite -something that we had not hinted at or requested at any stage - with personal goodies and greetings in the room form the Managing Director and his team. All in all, a wonderful hotel, brilliantly located near the V&A waterfront with lovely views out to sea.

A definite must if you're looking for a boutique hotel in Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart001_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    296
    76
    34
    21
See reviews for
183
520
64
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Our stay at the Winchester Mansions was wonderful. From the moment we arrived all aspects of service were faultless. Staff couldn't be ,more helpful, food was great and the rooms had character and atmosphere. Not the biggest hotel in the world, at only about 70 rooms but in a good spot with complementary drop-offs at the waterfront. There were not too many children in the hotel during our stay so I cannot comment on facilities for them.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sooty12399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Was booked in here by my travel rep when our original booking somewhere else fell through at short notice.
Arrived and wanted a cold beer and a snack lunch, sent into the courtyard where we sat ignored for 20 minutes, so we left and went out to eat.
Rooms are beige with dark brown furniture, probably designed by a colour blind person using their grandmother's old furniture.
We were booked into, and expected a double room. Now call me fussy, but two single beds joined together each with it's own single duvet, ISN'T a double bed. (I know cheap hotels do this all the time, but it still isn't a double bed!)
There was a jug of (uncovered) water on the side of indeterminate age and "snacks" that were a lot older!
Some money had been spent on the bathroom, but not a lot - trendy looking wash basin with a plug that let the water out, and a glass door on the bathroom that let the outside light into the room! And once again tired and old fashioned beige and brown.
Poorly cleaned and dirty, tatty carpet on the floor, and I had to ask for room slippers so that I didn't catch anything.
One side of each room overlooks the noisy coutyard restaurant, the other side overlooked the noisy road. Not good for a tired traveller.
The breakfast buffet was the same old tired, greasy cooked stuff kept warm in chafing dishes, presided over by a humourless cook. The cold meats and cheese were curly and sweaty on a not very cols counter. I had a pastry, a sip of bitter coffee and went out for breakfast the rest of my stay.
The pool is small, with only a few sun beds, and the bar service leaves a lot to be desired.
The reception staff (although most sported badges saying they were trainees) did their best to put things right and were very helpful.
Forget the "business room" one computer and a printer that doesn't work, AND they charge for use of the Internet!
All in all a low budget place trying to be trendy, avoid it if you can!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear "amcguin"

I just read your review and must say that I am saddened to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you may have seen we usually receive high praise for our service and facilities of which we are very proud.

I am not quite sure I understand your comment about the bed configuration but would welcome some clarification as we never had any issue with these. If it was a King size bed you wanted with one duvet that would have been gladly arranged had we known that you required this. To call our 9.5m x 4.1m pool small and 20 loungers too few I fail to understand!

I have checked with my colleagues and have not found any record of a complaint or comment from you, not about the breakfast, which is actually quite popular nor that the printer did not work or that the one computer was not sufficient for your needs!

It is a great shame that you did not enjoy your stay, a greater shame for us though is that we did not have the opportunity to make it a more enjoyable one. It is impossible for us to remedy a situation we find out about 3 days after departure.

I would really appreciate if you give us hoteliers a chance by communicating your complaints during your stay, it is the fairer way.

Kind regards from sunny Cape Town


Nils Heckscher
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Quite literally just got back from having celebrated Christmas in Cape Town this year where we stayed at this wonderful hotel. Although there isn't easy access to a beach, this is only a quick taxi ride away - or the transfer staff will take you there for a small fee. Once there (Camps Bay) - although the best beach is at Clifton - you will see the main hotel there (Bay Hotel) and will be glad to know that you are staying at Winchester Mansions instead! Busy and buzzy, with guests young and old - drinks / bar menu at Harvey's is clearly a local favourite too - the staff nevertheless take plenty of time to make sure that you have everything you need and nothing is too much trouble. Any meal in the cool courtyard is a joy - although staff also very happy to make excellent recommendations elsewhere in the city - and upon your return they are keen to know that all went well? City Tour bus right outside so that with transfer option also available, getting around is easy and returning soon feels like 'coming home'! Can't praise this lovely hotel enough and as I said at the start, "when can I go again"?

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HertfordshireDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Right on the see in stylish Sea Point this must be one of the loveliest places to stay in Cape Town. A colonial style mansion with charming central courtyard full of flowers this hotel breathes a relaxed sense of charm and comfort.

Staf are very helpful, rooms are with character and good size, and restaurant and specially the charming and happening bar, as well as breakfast are all a delight.

Highly recommended, for holiday or business - I stayed here with my partner as a mini holiday in the midst of a busy tour- perfect!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonartist10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Winchester Mansions is a super hotel - in a great location at SeaPoint - close enough to the WaterFront and also to Camps Bay.
Lovely views over the Sea =- however, be warned - there is not access to a "beach" at Seapoint.
The hotel has a beautiful courtyard - which is a lovely bonus.
The staff are very friendly, very professional and always willing to help.
Had lovely experiences in the bar with Patrick (great cocktails!)
Also- Reception, Porters very helpful with transfers/transport and advice on what to do locally etc. Mantegna shop - in house was a fab experience too! - She makes all her own jewellery - excellent quality - bought some!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise_Macdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Sundowners on the terrace are a must! Perfect location, friendly and efficient staff, great view. What more do you need!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
494 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing