We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #24 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. Service is excellent, bar food is very good and it has a nice pool which doesn't get too busy. Lovely breakfast as well. They also offer a shuttle service to the V&A Waterfront which is an invaluable service. Will definitely try and stay here again if we come to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dylanejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Good evening and thank you for your positive feedback. We would love to have you back and hope you will be able to visit Cape Town again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel is perfectly located on the Cape Town beachfront. Beautiful courtyard where you eat breakfast and food really good. This hotel completely lets itself down with service though. I would give them another chance but not in a hurry. I hope in time the hotel recognises that their service is currently their greatest downfall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laraspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Good day,

We would like to sincerely apologise that the service which you experienced did not meet our usual standard of excellence. Thank you for discussing your experience with us telephonically. Our service is as important to us as it is to you. We trust that when you take us up on our offer to remedy our shortfalls, you and your group of friends will be delighted by all aspects of the hotel, especially the service.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Visiting South Africa has long been at the top of our " must do " list & we finally arrived, early morning on 9th March after a long, but comfortable, flight with British Airways, from London Heathrow, World Traveller Plus class. The extra leg room was a bonus well worth the cost, (although we do prefer Virgin)
Table Mountain is the first thing you see when coming in to land - spectacular!
We pre booked our taxi transfer to Winchester Mansions, normally about 20mins, however the Cape Argus cycle race was in full flow, passing directly in front of the hotel ( almost 37,000 participants) which caused a problem for our driver dropping us off. At 8am, & the hotel being full the previous night, naturally our room was not to be ready until 2pm. We sat on the terrace with complimentary coffees etc, watching the riders until we were able to grab a couple of hours much needed sleep.
We had booked a standard room, not intending to spend much time in it. No view but surprisingly spacious, if a little strange, in shape, being at the corner of the 3rd floor, sloping ceilings etc. spotlessly clean & a huge separate bathroom with walk in shower & bath. Bathrobes & toiletries provided, hair dryer, soft towels but no magnifying makeup mirror.
Tea & coffee making facilities with a jug of iced water plus lime juice & biscuits, replenished daily. The cleaning & turn down service was efficient, plenty of hot water although the unusual taps on the vanity unit took a little time to work out.
Our 6 night stay included breakfast, which can be taken outdoors in the courtyard (a little chilly) or in Harvey's. An excellent choice of hot & cold food plus egg/omelette station. Despite the cooked food being kept in Le Creuset type containers on halogen hobs, it was invariably cold? We did not complain at the time as there were plenty of options.
We had planned 2 full day trips for our first week, booked via Online Ticket Store, first on the Cape Peninsular Tour & 2nd to the Winelands, which I intend to review separately. The tour operator was Springbok Atlas - extremely efficient, new comfortable transport, knowledgeable & friendly guides. Both trips cost a total of £286, booked in the UK & worth every penny.
The hotel provides a sometimes free shuttle service ( booked in advance) to several destinations (airport, V & A waterfront etc) & across the road you can catch the open top city sightseeing bus, which operates a hop on /hop off circular route through either the city or a mini Cape Peninsula tour.
There is also the regular & frequent bus service passing the hotel, however you have to purchase tickets at the waterfront ( next to the Aquarium)
On the alternate days between trips we walked along the promenade to the V&A, about 5km, took about 1hr 20mins just strolling & enjoying the fantastic view out to sea etc. In the opposite direction, you can walk along the promenade towards Bantry Bay, with Robben Island, Table Mountain, 12 Apostles & Lions Head always in sight
After busy days we wanted nothing more than to relax with drinks on the hotel terrace watching the many activities on the green by the seafront. School children playing, dog walking, joggers, paragliders landing etc.
We did not eat in Harvey's in the evening, choosing instead from a wide (& delicious ) variety of bar snacks, having already eaten during the day.
Before travelling, & looking at the photos on TA, I was curious as to the surrounding area of the hotel, well it's either apartment blocks or other hotels, no real alternative if you wish to drink/ eat elsewhere. About 3 blocks to the right of the WM is a cafe/ bistro type bar La Vie serving all types of food, with indoor or outside tables. Very good and, like everywhere, very friendly.
On the day of departure to our next place of stay, Camps Bay, we booked the hotel shuttle for transfer - obviously longer trips incur a charge. The driver was delayed at the airport so the Manager kindly took us there himself, helping with our luggage & seeing us safely installed. That is service!!
Weather & safety: It was the end of summer & although hot & sunny, there is a constant breeze which can change from light to gale force in minutes, so strappy tops yes but you definitely need something warm occasionally.
We had concerns re safety but never felt threatened in any way, security is much in evidence at the waterfront but WM, at Sea Point is an upmarket area so no problems. We didn't actually go out at night but like anywhere, it's a matter of common sense.

Apologies for the length of this review, written mainly to help other Brits who like to travel the world & many thanks to the friendly helpful staff at WM who's efforts made it a memorable stay.
Pt 2 of our holiday will be reviewed shortly at The Bloomberg, Camps Bay.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank WalesHolscrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Good day,

thank you very much for your kind and detailed review. Please be assured that we have spoken to our breakfast team to ensure that the hot breakfast buffet is checked on a more regular basis to acertain that all items remain adequately warm and are replaced regularly if they are not.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Fantastic location right on the Promenade, lovely looking hotel. Courtyard very nice for breakfast, as was the veranda. Front desk girls were very friendly and helpful, booked us tables at restaurants etc. Restaurant very nice and food lovely. Courtesy minibus to and from the Waterfront was very handy, and also took us to other places in town for a small charge. Very nice pool area, very quiet and the pool was heated.

Our room was ok, but looked across an alley into the hotel/flats next door, bed comfy but was 2 single beds pushed together with 2 single duvets. Only 2 usable plug sockets in the room, one of which was under a table, so a bit difficult for charging things/doing your hair/having a shave etc. No wi-fi in the room. Bathroom a bit outdated and, as a previous poster says, the bathwater was dirty before it came out of the tap!
We stayed there for 8 nights and it was disappointing to be asked every day if we were guests in the hotel, often by the same person - on the 6th morning at breakfast we were asked by 3 different members of staff! Also very annoying was the fact the maids rang our doorbell every morning by 8.30 to do the room, even if we left a do not disturb on the door - when challenged they wondered if we had any laundry to collect! The front bar was a busy place and we often waited an overly long time to be served and for our drinks to arrive.

All in all, the hotel is lovely, if a bit outdated, but I would not choose to stay again because I felt that the level of service was not what it should be, and I do not enjoy being woken every morning when on holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Good Day,

Thank you for visiting Winchester Mansions and for your feedback. We are addressing the matters that you mentioned. We apologise that you were disappointed by the service and we assure you that we are equally disappointed that you did not feel as valued as what you should have felt as a guest – we assure you that this is extremely important to us. Regrettably, it has recently come to our attention that pipework that was being done on nearby roads may have temporarily influenced the water colour intermittently and this is not a norm at Winchester Mansions. We hope that you will change your mind about visiting the hotel again to experience our usual outstanding service.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I was in Cape Town for business for 10 days. It wasn't my first time to Cape Town, I'd enjoyed the city in the past, and was glad that work put me up in a more boutique-style hotel instead of the Westin, for example. The rooms are clean, the staff is nice, the location is great. However, over 10 days, there were some down sides that prevent me from giving it a higher rating.

Firstly, the overall service is very patchy. There's a lovely courtyard restaurant area, and one of the waitresses was really on it, but if you got any of the other ones, you could wait forEVER for food or drink to arrive. The bar at the front of the hotel is popular with locals and with guests, but the service is just as variable. You could wait for a very long time to get any attention at all, or you might wait over 10 minutes to get a couple of beers after you've ordered them.

A more substantial complaint is the wireless internet in the room, or lack thereof. There is good wireless downstairs in the lobby, courtyard, and front bar. However, in the room you have to pay for a wireless internet card, which is for a certain amount of data as opposed to a time frame (fair enough) but in the full 10 days I was there, it was virtually unusable. The first two days the network didn't show up at all, they called their provider, it showed up but was slower than dial up used to be 10 years ago. It was all pretty much a joke. They did take it off the bill, but I have to say that if you're there on business and value having reliable, usable internet in your room, don't bank on it at this hotel. I didn't mind sitting in the lovely, sunny courtyard on the laptop, but it wasn't ideal at times.

The lack of view didn't bother me so much since the hotel is just opposite the sea, which is in full view from the downstairs bar; and being there for work, I wasn't spending all that much time in the room.

I would stay there again, though. The location was so great, the room was clean and nice, and the bar and courtyard area were so pleasant, and I do like a smaller hotel, so these things outweighed the other shortcomings on this stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biglamotski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

i visited capetwon with my family and one sunday we had a very nice and relaxing brunch at winchester mansio. the jazz was really nice and the atmosphere quite festive but leger.
the food was delicous and the service very friendly.
to sit outside u have to reserve very early but also inside its nice and you hear the jazz with speakers.
we eat so much ood stuff and stayed for quite a while while reading our books, drinking cofee and enjoying the music!
so i would definilty go again

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lotti h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Good Day Lotti H,

thank you very much for your positive feedback. Our Sunday Jazz Brunch is a weekly event that has been running for almost 18 years and it is nice to know that everyone still enjoys the lovely atmosphere, music and food.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I had five days to spend in Cape Town - not ideal of course!
Never having been before I selected a hotel from the BA Website and booked that way. It was a happy choice and I found the hotel excellent in every way for me.
It is an older hotel, situated close to the city centre but directly overlooking the Atlantic. Built around a central courtyard which give outside dining it is a very comfortable hotel with excellent staff in all departments and very acceptable menus in the restaurant. I only had five days so not enough time to get too familiar with the choices.

Room Tip: i think any room would probably be OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you Ranald M for your flying visit to Cape Town and positive review. We hope that you will be able to stay longer next time you are in the Mother City to really be able to enjoy what this great City has to offer.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
2 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,760 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,542 reviews
0.7 mi away
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#20 of 110 in Cape Town Central
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $144 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing