We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay for business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #28 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg
Level Contributor
170 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for business”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We went to the Winchester Mansions for a production business wise, as our favorite hotel was booked out. In the beginning I was really a little frustrated about my room Could hardly move around my suitcase when unpacking as the rooms are not really spacious, neither I had a view. Only a small window which didn´t have any great view - only a look on an other building. When looking at the website I had the feeling that we might see some part of the ocean but you can only have that when getting on the other side of the hotel. I am sure they have ocean view rooms, but mine didn´t. On the 2nd view though I appreciated the quite spacious bathroom, the comfortable bed, my working station on the desk, a wonderful breakfast on a nice patio in the morning (hell yes - if you are on a diet and only go for the fruits you will find happiness here! Yummy, exotic, fresh, tasty, exquisite with some Joghurt on top and a cappucino - loved it....but you could have so many more choices that you wouldn´t need anything else for the whole day. The maids are wonderful, the staff at the reception very helpful and super friendly. Most of the time we had to work outside of the hotel, but the time being at the hotel I can only connect with positive feelings. Maybe not love on first sight, but definitely on 2nd sight!

Room Tip: Please pick Ocean view to not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Energyseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We love hearing positive feedback from our guests – thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfasts and that overall your experience was a good one. It is a great pity that your initial response wasn’t as positive as we would have liked but we trust that you enjoyed the proximity of the sea nonetheless, as well as the lovely views from the restaurant. We hope that on your next visit to our hotel that you will have the pleasure of staying in a room with an excellent view.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    282
    74
    32
    21
See reviews for
171
504
61
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisborough Green
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Winchester Mansions was our first port of call on our first trip to South Africa and what a perfect start to what proved to be a wonderful three week holiday!
The staff were friendly, welcoming and efficient and although, because of an early arrival at the airport, our room wasn't immediately ready for us we didn't have to wait long and every effort was made to make us comfortable in the bar!
We stayed for four nights in a large, well-equipped sea-facing room with all the facilities we needed and were very comfortable.
We dined, in-house, on four evenings, two of them in the delightful, open-air courtyard dining area. The service and food were excellent, the fresh fish, particularly the sole, to die for! Breakfast, apart from one morning when the wisteria was being pruned, was always taken here.
A major delight of our stay was the service and personal attention we received from one of the waiters, Geoffrey. Nothing was too much trouble for him; his knowledge of the menus and wines was most helpful and his attentive efficiency, always with a touch of humour was a pleasure to experience.
The position of Winchester Mansions on Sea Point is another plus - it is slightly removed from the hustle of the city but right outside the front door is a stop for the excellent Red Bus service which has stopping-off points at all the major attractions of Cape Town.
Winchester Mansions is an hotel to be recommended and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillier
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We again had the pleasure of staying at the Winchester Mansions while on business for mining Indaba. We were pleasantly upgraded to the deluxe suite complete with a second bedroom, living room, and luxurious bathroom. However there was a lot of confusion regarding our reservation. The confirmation we had received had us coming in the day before our arrival, and their computers had us arriving a day later. But the staff were very efficient in rectifying the problem and hence the upgrade. We sensed a change in the hotel. ( New management perhaps) The faces were not quite as friendly, with the exception of Shaheed and the poolside bartender. Just had a sense that staff were either more cautious than usual or perhaps a little more overworked.
My biggest disappointment I would have to say was the spa service. I had fully intended on taking advantage of a number of the services offered. But after my massage, for which I had paid for a full hour and received less than 45minutes. Which most of the time was spent by the spa worker telling me how dry and wrinkled I looked, and was sooooo slow putting massage oil on her hands that probably in reality I may have only received a half hour massage. And then was subjected to a 20 minute plus live infomercial about the overpriced products that "I must absolutely have, because the products Im using in Canada are making me look old.....and I have cellulite !!!!" REALLY? I just wanted a massage. So I would recommend bypassing this service, unless you wish to subject yourself to annoying sales pitch.
Location is fabulous. The hotel offers a shuttle service, but would recommend pre booking if you need to attend important functions or airport. Morning walks along the promenade are wonderful and safe. Sunset drinks on the balcony are a must. However the locals also stop by for this as well so you will need to secure a seat outside early.
Wifi is only free in the lobby and megabytes are available for purchase. Disappointing in this day and age as most rated hotels now include it in rates.
Food menu could use a bit of a revamp, quality of the steak was less than last time, and pub menu could use a few more choices. In my opinion.
Would still recommend this hotel for its quaintness, and location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vaya2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Vaya2013

Please accept our apologies for the misunderstanding surrounding your arrival and departure dates. We are very pleased we were able to upgrade your room and remedy our blunder. We will take up your feedback directly with the owner of the Spa, who we are certain will convey your experience and the consequences of such aggressive upselling with the therapists of the spa. Thank you for your comments pertaining to our menu’s on offer, we hope you will be pleasantly surprised on your next visit as we are introducing refreshing new menus in the bar and the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location, great landmark building, amazing courtyard - a great foundation for a top hotel. However, the management does not get it quite right. Understaffed and not very service-oriented reception staff, rather lazy service at breakfast ( how difficult can it be to serve coffee) and the constant hectic and chaos created by bus loads full of tourists and people visiting jazz lunches or company events made this hotel rather irritating for me as a hotel guest for 8 nights. Huge potential. Do something with it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonFoxhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear London Foxhole

Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback. Critique is not always easy to hear, but without our guests taking the time to let us know when something goes wrong, we cannot hope to maintain the high level of service we pride ourselves in delivering.

We have introduced exciting initiatives which has energised our breakfast team, such that the coffee service is prompt and efficient.

Our weekly Jazz Brunch on a Sunday is an incredibly popular and well supported event that has been running for the past 17 years. It is one of the reasons our guests return year after year.

We realise that unfortunately, we cannot go back and change your experience, but we can guarantee that we take time and care to learn from our mistakes and improve wherever we can.
Thank you once more for giving us the opportunity to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

How the staff at Winchester Mansions manage to maintain the level of quality & professionalism week after week for the Sunday Jazz Brunch amazes me. We have never had a bad experience there & cannot praise it enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Spent three nights here as part of a Saga Tours holiday to S.A. The hotel was further from the V & A waterfront than l would have liked but was clean and tidy with the usual facilities - pool,spa etc.
Where it falls down disastrously is in it's restaurant service.We were totally ignored for long periods and when finally managing to order a bottle of wine it turned up during the main course or later (without an ice bucket). The manager claimed they were under-staffed but surely it is his job to make sure that staffing is adequate. He ignored our complaints, giving us 'lip service' and disappeared from the scene..It was the same on all three nights. Tour groups would do well to drop this hotel from their itinery.
The food was mediocre, very often cold and over-cooked, with an over emphasis on a buffet service.It was also the only hotel of the six we stayed in to charge for WiFi.
I will not return and would also recommend other potential guests to think again.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello Fred

Thank you very much for your feedback. Our GM has addressed the shortfalls you have highlighted with the food and beverage team. We realise that unfortunately, we cannot go back and change your experience, but we can assure you, we the take time and care to learn from your criticism and improve wherever we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Charging a fee by the Megabyte for accessing the WiFi in the room is totally inadequate! In the Lobby it is free, in the room it costs extra despite hefty a room rate of 2500 Rand per day.
Otherwise the quality of the facilities is ok, service ok.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ueli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Ueli

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We have realised through your feedback as well as the feedback from other guests that we need to relook at our Wifi offering in order to ensure our guests fully enjoy their stay with us.
We are currently in the process of updating our system after which we will be able to offer free Wifi in all rooms which will only be capped for very extensive users. We hope this improvement will put us back on your travel map again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,791 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,197 reviews
1.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,432 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing