We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You could do so much more with this”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“You could do so much more with this”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location, great landmark building, amazing courtyard - a great foundation for a top hotel. However, the management does not get it quite right. Understaffed and not very service-oriented reception staff, rather lazy service at breakfast ( how difficult can it be to serve coffee) and the constant hectic and chaos created by bus loads full of tourists and people visiting jazz lunches or company events made this hotel rather irritating for me as a hotel guest for 8 nights. Huge potential. Do something with it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonFoxhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear London Foxhole

Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback. Critique is not always easy to hear, but without our guests taking the time to let us know when something goes wrong, we cannot hope to maintain the high level of service we pride ourselves in delivering.

We have introduced exciting initiatives which has energised our breakfast team, such that the coffee service is prompt and efficient.

Our weekly Jazz Brunch on a Sunday is an incredibly popular and well supported event that has been running for the past 17 years. It is one of the reasons our guests return year after year.

We realise that unfortunately, we cannot go back and change your experience, but we can guarantee that we take time and care to learn from our mistakes and improve wherever we can.
Thank you once more for giving us the opportunity to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    294
    76
    33
    21
See reviews for
178
516
64
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

How the staff at Winchester Mansions manage to maintain the level of quality & professionalism week after week for the Sunday Jazz Brunch amazes me. We have never had a bad experience there & cannot praise it enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Spent three nights here as part of a Saga Tours holiday to S.A. The hotel was further from the V & A waterfront than l would have liked but was clean and tidy with the usual facilities - pool,spa etc.
Where it falls down disastrously is in it's restaurant service.We were totally ignored for long periods and when finally managing to order a bottle of wine it turned up during the main course or later (without an ice bucket). The manager claimed they were under-staffed but surely it is his job to make sure that staffing is adequate. He ignored our complaints, giving us 'lip service' and disappeared from the scene..It was the same on all three nights. Tour groups would do well to drop this hotel from their itinery.
The food was mediocre, very often cold and over-cooked, with an over emphasis on a buffet service.It was also the only hotel of the six we stayed in to charge for WiFi.
I will not return and would also recommend other potential guests to think again.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello Fred

Thank you very much for your feedback. Our GM has addressed the shortfalls you have highlighted with the food and beverage team. We realise that unfortunately, we cannot go back and change your experience, but we can assure you, we the take time and care to learn from your criticism and improve wherever we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Charging a fee by the Megabyte for accessing the WiFi in the room is totally inadequate! In the Lobby it is free, in the room it costs extra despite hefty a room rate of 2500 Rand per day.
Otherwise the quality of the facilities is ok, service ok.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ueli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Ueli

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We have realised through your feedback as well as the feedback from other guests that we need to relook at our Wifi offering in order to ensure our guests fully enjoy their stay with us.
We are currently in the process of updating our system after which we will be able to offer free Wifi in all rooms which will only be capped for very extensive users. We hope this improvement will put us back on your travel map again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Hotel set on the sea front with beautiful views of the sunset from the bar. Overall, very helpful staff, comfortable rooms, very nice food and ideally located. The Cape Town Tour bus stops outside. The Hop on tour bus is an excellent to see Cape Town and it's environs. One stop is at Hout bay and strongly recommended is the Wharfside Grill@ Mariners Wharf. Excellent fish and not over priced considering it's on the tourist trail. I booked through the flights and hotel Virgin Holidays and the local rep was very helpful and booked a number of excursions for us, including a wine tour and a tour that included the Cape of Good Hope. Both tour guides were really interesting and informative and the trips were great value for money. Cape Town has lots to see, historical buildings, interesting museums, gardens and places to eat and drink. There is something for everyone. The overriding thing is everyone is so friendly. Cape Town is a great place to visit and the Winchester Mansions is the icing on the cake. Oh I forgot, Table Mountain, the views are superb on a clear day, (we were very lucky). Strongly recommend that you book well in advance and you can book online before departure to Cape Town. Obviously you run the risk of having a cloudy day, however the alternative is to queue when the weather is good and you will have to wait hours, because everyone else is queuing!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1dirham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

It is good to see that others had good experiences in this hotel. It’s a nice place to stay in Cape Town. The staff were friendly and helpful but if you encounter a problem then you could find that it is very difficult to get it resolved. We had no hot water for our entire three-night stay, and since Cape Town was our first stop after traveling from England, we did not have a hot shower until we reached our next destination four days later! Our complaints were received by the Reception staff with smiles, apologies and promises to rectify, but nothing changed. They appeared to place no urgency on this because, despite requests from us, they would not send anyone to our room to take a look at the problem while we were in the hotel. The water was less than tepid at best.

Our stay at Winchester Mansions was pre-booked and pre-paid. To add insult to injury, when we came to check-out, Reception tried to double charge the VAT on our entire stay! It took nearly an hour of our precious traveling time to our next destination to get this resolved and for the staff to admit their mistake and refund the money they had already taken from our credit card.

We complained to our travel agent in England and 3 days later we received an email to say that Winchester Mansions had refunded our credit card with Rand 1,000 (approx. £60) as a gesture of goodwill. This was better than nothing but we would have preferred hot water and a smooth, argument free check-out.

We would never stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for room on lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This was our second stay at the Winchester and as before it was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is located a little way from the V&A but there is a shuttle bus to and from the hotel. The food is excellent. We had a brilliant 5 course meal at the monthly art exhibition which was combined with wine tasting from a featured vineyard. There is a pretty courtyard area where you can have your breakfast/lunch. The bar area is a little small so you need to get there early if you want a seat outside to have your sundowners. There is a good pool area where fruit kebabs and chilled water were available throughout the day. All in all highly recommended hotel with a great atmosphere. Hope to come back one day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mw_mw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
486 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,815 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,483 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,690 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing