We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best stays!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“one of the best stays!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

very old historic mansion, beautiful rooms, stoep and square indoor garden area! very popular restaurant, book in advance for an outside spot to watch the sunset over a coctail! breathtaking! exellent service and old world charm with a moderen take!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heilavh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    297
    76
    34
    21
See reviews for
183
521
64
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This hotel was ideally situated on the waterfront not far from the V & A center. We found the room to be clean, spacious and comfortable. The Staff were very helpful and attentive. Car parking was a bit limited but we had no trouble parking close by on the road.

It was a great choice for the 4/5 days we spent in Cape Town and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumbleweed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Sitting here again at the Winchester Mansion Bar and just wanna enjoy my Evening we asked for the Snack Menu witch we received immediately but after 10 min we would have been ready to order unfortunately nobody came to take the order.
Finally after 20min we placed the order and I made the mistake to ask if we could get some more nuts.
The waiter answered pretty rude that there are no more nuts available.
So we gave up the idea of the nuts would have been nice not to wait for the food we orded over 30min.
Really shocking service for a 4 Star House.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TherryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

After having been to Winchester Mansions for sundowners and their Sunday Jazz Brunch on many occasion when living in Cape Town, I'd never stayed here, so it just seemed like the right place to be for a visit back to the Mother City.

A place of old world colonial charm with possibly one of the best locations in Cape Town, right on the seafront promenade, where else can you walk out the door one the morning under a clear blue sky and admire the mill pond still Atlantic or the next day walk out in the rain and stand mesmorized by the 5ft high waves breaking. It's easily accessible hotel, where you're no more than 5mins drive from the Waterfront and walking distance from Main Road SeaPoint and all the restaurants and shops that are there and I'd certainly recommend not paying for the hotel parking as it's far more convenient to park on the main road right in front of the hotel.

Most of the rooms face the inner courtyard, and as it's not a big hotel you're not having to walk very far to get to get anywhere. The rooms themselves along with the bathrooms are both pretty spacious and the service in was fantastic. The only thing that stopped me giving them a 5 star was the breakfast, it just didn't do it for me, it was ok, just didn't seem to have the variety you'd expect for a hotel breakfast. Don't let that put you off though, I'd stay here again and again! You can't beat Harvey's for drinks and they offer one of the best locations for sundowners, and their Sunday Jazz brunch is an indulgence.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Constant_TravellerXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

stayed here for three nights at the end of a wonderful tour and was not impressed. Although it is a lovely hotel the room we had was dark with absolutely no view. The food was awful although as we were part of a group it was a set meal. The food being served in the bar looked better. The hotel is popular with locals and as a result trying to get a seat in the bar after our meal was rather difficult. Reception staff were indifferent and bar staff were stretched. On the positive side it is in a good location and the hotel run a courtesy bus - the driver of this bus was most helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view - any kind of view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca K, Public Relations Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank You Sandra for your honest reply. Although these are obviously not the kind of reviews we would like to see, without your honesty, we would not hear from our guests if there was something that we could be doing better.

Our hotel is a small one, generally speaking, with only 76 rooms that have been lovingly restored from a beautiful old building. This brings challenges of its own, as our standard rooms are different shapes and sizes. We appreciate that the décor, and in some areas lighting, may be a challenge or not to every guest's taste. That being said, we are in a constant state of improvement, and although most of our rooms are bright and open, your comments have highlighted the opportunity for us to work on others.

As you have gleaned from the traffic in the hotel, our restaurant and bar is indeed exceptionally popular with both locals and international guests, and we do a roaring trade, particularly for sun-downers. This is something we encourage our in-house guests to join in, as the atmosphere is the vibrancy of the Cape itself, however, for a seat in the bar, we do not take reservations, so it remains first come, first served. The restaurant and its terrace as well as the courtyard is available for reservations though, and these are advised.

The meals served to your group are somewhat different from our normal menus by design, but as this series is new to us, we are still developing the menus. We have recently discussed a completely different style with the tour operators to better cater to our high standards and your needs. Obviously, I cannot change the sub-optimal experience that has passed, but I can promise we continue to strive for perfection, and I hope that should you have the opportunity to return to Cape Town, whether it be to experience our delightful a la carte menu, or once more with the group, your experience will prove this.

Kind regards,

Bianca
Winchester Mansions
Marketing & Events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Had dinner at this lovely hotel served in the courtyard. Excellent food and courteous attentive service. Thoroughly enjoyed a relaxed delightful meal loved the Impala. Wish we had eaten here more were actually staying in a very good hotel close by. More relaxing than the V and A after a busy day sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We spent a night at this charming hotel and I simply loved it!

It has a beautiful old world colonial luxurious charm that is captivating. We had the Robnen Island suite which had glorious views and was spacious with beautifully fitted bathrooms. The restaurants and bar are vibey and trendy and are full of fabulous people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BronnyB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
497 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,704 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing