We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Room in a Grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Grand Room in a Grand Hotel”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was our 5th visit and loved the room that they gave us this time. Just beautiful. Overall this is still a good place to stay in Cape Town. However there were a couple of things that made us wonderful if service is just slipping ever so slightly.

Room Tip: Its lucky dip with room allocation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    294
    76
    33
    21
See reviews for
178
516
64
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel is located has close see views but you cannot use that for swimming! Just for watching the waves and using the jogging trail! the Hotel is colonial style reminiscent of the Cape Dutch history. the breakfast is great and staff very friendly and free WiFi available on the ground floor. the NEGATIVE: we decide to use the Hotel Shuttle service and booked online, to our surprise upon arrival at the airport, we waited for 20 minutes looking for the Pick-Up, ended up phoning the hotel where the lady responded - driver on way is stuck on traffic! this was a LIE as we discovered that the Hotel Shuttle was not booked and front desk is blaming Concierge etc. we ended catching a taxi and demanded to speak to the person in charge and requested our refund. This was horrible as we were already running late for the wedding dinner. the line manager did apologize BUT I WILL NEVER VISIT this hotel no matter what.

Room Tip: sea facing rooms are noisy due to the strong winds and sea noise BUT beautiful sunrises in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koki80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Winchester Mansions is a super hotel. Location- wise ideal, being right on the seafront and with easy access to much of central Cape Town, together with quick access to Camps Bay etc. The staff are attentive, professional and friendly. Rooms, food, bar and if warm enough, outside courtyard and front outside bar area are wonderful. I have stayed at this great hotel over 20 times
and always really look forward to my next visit...on this occasion, in just under 3 weeks time.
It is ideal for business or pleasure and I have stayed for both reasons. Wi- Fi is excellent and the hotel features a small shop and business centre. In my opinion, so much better than 5 star options, I have stayed at previously, when in Cape Town. The general manager has recently left and a replacement has yet to be appointed, but hopefully, standards will be maintained.

Room Tip: Modern Classics are very nice, as are the larger suites. Some on the top floor have excellent views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very friendly staff at the reception. The hotel is located right on the beach road in the middle between Clifton beaches and water front area. There is nothing happening around the hotel itself except walking on the sea side. It has a small bar and bistro which was busy with local residents all the time chatting and drinking. On the other side there is a restaurant offering good varieties of food at a good price. I recommend this hotel during summer time. But in winter time I recommend any hotel in the water front area. Avoid downtown any season. There were few negative things like spa turned out to be a tiny room with no steam room or jaccuzi. Another big negative is that the internet is not free in the rooms. Only in the lobby is free. So for people who wants to check emails or work, this hotel is not for you.
I hope the hotel management understand that free internet is now the normal. Shall I stay there again? in summer yes, in winter no, no free internet, then maybe no

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredsingapore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Winchester Mansions overlooks the sea on Beach Road about 45 mins walk form the V and A waterfront. We had a third floor room which had good fixtures and fittings ,tv tetc.
The staff are very helpful and the the bar and restaurant (Harveys) well worth sampling. Breakfast of as high standard.All in all a really good place for a Cape Town stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed 3 nights here in early September, staff so pleasant, courtesy bus drivers full of info on everything. Be aware that some trips will cost you though! Breakfast fantastic sat outside watching sea. Location brill easy to get to heart of it. Lovely runs walks outside front. sea view rooms great and courtyard so lovely to sit out in afternoons or eve. Nothing too much trouble for staff.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa7141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I booked two nights for our wedding anniversary and could not be happier with our decision! Had a junior suite booked with a sea view and it was perfectly fine for our needs. The breakfast buffet is great and depending on how much you eat, it can take you through to dinner! The hotel's location was fantastic as it was right in front of the ocean, only needing to cross the road. Also, the red bus tour has a stop right in front of it which was very convenient!

The staff in general were fantastic and even helped my mom with a surprise she had planned for us. The food at the restaurant was absolutely amazing and one of the restaurant staff even treated us to some free desert to wish us a happy anniversary!

All in all, a great stay and highly recommended hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyrfsa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
484 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,689 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing