We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25th Wedding Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #30 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“25th Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I spent the last leg of our 25th wedding anniversary trip at this hotel and found the whole experience absolutely brilliant. The location is excellent, at the very heart of the platinum mile and right on the tourist bus route, and only a short ride from the V&A Waterfront. The staff and service were fantastic especially if you appreciate the traditional values. It is located right under Table Mountain and has quirky green carpets on each corridor of the quad which double as a putting carpet, complete with cup. There is even a putter and ball hanging on the wall!. I will definitely visit again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    283
    74
    32
    21
See reviews for
172
505
61
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Family of 2+2 stayed for 3 nights in early July. Building has lots of charm and some nice quirks. Our small suite was very well furnished. A good bathroom and a cosy sitting room (also with dining space), albeit the sitting room was without windows; a good sized bedroom and an adjacent small room with a sofa bed, both overlooking the ocean (and Beach Rd, which is busy and perhaps not to prefer for light sleepers?). Very comfortable beds. The breakfast was plentiful and varied, with eggs cooked to order. We did not have a proper meal in the restaurant, but snacks were great, also in the bar, which is busy and a great place in itself to watch the fabulous sunset. The staff was friendly and really helpful all around. We had absolutely nothing to complain about and would be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nibor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I just stayed their in July 2013 and found them very unfair, disappointing and not fair. Cheated me out of a 4 night stay and would not credit me and were very deceitful in their practices. Beware. Customer satisfaction and good customer service is a big part of the hotel industry as well as all industries and obviously that is not their focus.

Room Tip: I would not stay in this hotel because of their poor customer service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Michele P

Only through your comment on Tripadvsior did I become personally aware of the fact that you are unhappy with regards to a booking for June 2013, for which you did not arrive. When you arrived one month later, we of course had invoiced for the "no showed" stay. It is common practise that guaranteed bookings are invoiced in the event of the guest not showing. I would like to see whether we can come to some sort of an arrangement and would like to hear from you in order to explore some options.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Nils Heckscher – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
127 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Best spot to watch the sun set on the Atlantic sea board. Sit back and enjoy, good cocktails and comfortable seating makes for a great early evening spot. Bar is well stocked and indoors in comfortable but the terrace is truly where it is at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesHAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear JamesHAfrica
there is a cocktail waiting for you on the terrace now! the sun is out and the skies are blue! We are here when you're coming back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We are a family of five and I looked at so many hotels in Cape Town center and on the V&A waterfront that would work for us and not blow our budget. And then found the Winchester Mansion and we had a winner! Our family stayed in the Harvey Suite and it was the BEST room and so perfect for our stay. Two large bedrooms and bathrooms, a half bathroom and a small third bedroom along with a living room and dining area. It was by far the best value for a room and breakfast we have ever had in our travels. Impeccable service, fabulous breakfast, state of the art bathrooms, charming courtyard and breathtaking views out the suite windows overlooking the ocean. Out the front of the hotel is a park and walkway that runs for miles full of runners and walkers. The hotel has a complimentary van to take you to the V&A waterfront which is a short 5 minute drive away. The hotel also supplies airport transportation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2snowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Luv2snowski
i am delighted to have read your kind review, thank you! It is good to see that our value for money attitude is being recognised as are the efforts by the team to make your stay a comfortable one. We hope you will make the trip from Michigan again soon!?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed at Winchester Mansions 27-28 June 2013 and before arrival expected old & gold which was certainly not the case. Although the building has lots of history, the decor is classic and the hotel is very well keeping up with the times. The rooms are very spacious and if staying at this hotel I will definitely recommend sea view as you have an amazing view over the Sea Point promenade. The breakfast was excellent and they have a great public area in the courtyard where you can have Sunday lunches with jazz. The bar is also open to the public so you have a nice vibe feeling throughout. I can recommend this to families, couples and business travellers. The hotel staffs were exceptionally friendly & well trained and you feel part of the family when you leave. Parking is R75 per day which is a normal rate for Cape Town. If you are a light sleeper be aware that there is a level of noise levels in the rooms early at night and early in the morning as I could hear that the hotel staff was busy setting up for meals in the public areas. You can also hear when staff / people are walking / talking outside your room. The hotel has a heated swimming pool which I think is a bonus for Cape Town. In summery I think it’s a great option in terms of location as you are within walking distance to many shops and restaurants and you have the Sea Point promenade in front of you. The hotel certainly exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: Defiantely rather pay extra and take seafacing room as add to the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trudie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Trudie J
Thank you for your detailed review, this makes it easy for readers to follow and make yup their mind, great. We have spoken to our staff to be more mindful of noise especial late and very early in the day. I hope we may welcome you back soon to Winchester Mansions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in Sep 2012, we spent 5 wonderful nights there. The hotel staff are all friendly and we ate a couple of times in the restaurant and bar and the food was excellent, we will be returning next year to the hotel. Our flight arrived very early in the morning and we were given a room on arrival which was great as it meant we could shower and start our sightseeing that morning. The rooms were always cleaned well, and the hotel is in a good location opposite the sea and near the V&A.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoobydoo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Scoobydoo38
thank you for reviewing us, we look forward to having you back this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing