We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Beginning to our trip to Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #30 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Beginning to our trip to Africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Winchester Mansions to begin our trip to southern Africa. This hotel was perfect. Our room was lovely -- the sitting room had an Atlantic Ocean view -- beautiful! The location is great -- walking distance to the Waterfront, red/blue tour bus stop right across the street. I especially want to compliment the staff; they were helpful in every instance, providing maps, shuttle service, restaurant suggestions. We would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank p3w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear P3W
thank you for reviewing us. It is heartening to see that our efforts are being recognised. Please tell many more people in Texas about us and come back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    283
    74
    32
    21
See reviews for
172
505
61
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Beautiful setting - opposite a 5km promonade , good exercise spot with facilities.
Grapes, Gallery and Gourmet on Wednesday nights; beautifully presented dishes (5 courses) paired with local wines. Winemaker in attendance makes for an interesting evening but the Chef wont part with any recipes! Big YUUUMMM evening.
Comfortable conference facilities.
A definite favourite.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear PamelaArc01
I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed the GGG, our monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings. In fact in August we are running a HGG, a Hops, Gourmet and Gallery where we match beers with Jochen Riedel's food creations. Please come back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is in a great location in Sea Point, with free shuttles to/from the Waterfront which is very useful. The hotel itself is excellent, great customer service and rooms are spacious and comfy. I highly recommend the Jazz Lunch - which is every Sunday. Double check that you have a booking, as we had but the hotel had no mention of our reservation, however they did manage to find us a table. The breakfast is excellent and the bar has character with Sports available on the wide-screens.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear William S

thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities such as the shuttle and our bar. Until we meet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockenheim
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

When entering this place you feel very welcome.The rooms are comfortable and very clean. Good location not far from the center of the city. Bus station in front of the hotel. Nice bar with wonderfull drinks and food. A hotel where you can easily start your visit of Cape Town and even South Africa. You can get any information you are looking for. You have a great look from the hotel rooms to the long beach including the amazing sunsets.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Volker B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is on the sea front in Cape Town. A 50 yard walk across an open grass park brings you to the sea front promenade which stretches for several km in both directions. The area feels very safe with many people enjoying exercising on the prom at all hora of the day.
The hotel is built around a central courtyard so has a Mediterranean feel. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Reception staff are very friendly and helpful.
The hotel has a bar which overlooks the sea. This is a reasonably busy spot, well used by locals, so has a good atmosphere. Although in the hotel it is cleverly located so that the rooms are completely isolated from any noise.
Hotel is about 4km from the Waterfront development and runs a shuttle on request, so there is lots of eating, drinking and entertainment opportunities.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Paul C
thank you for your review. Comments like yours, in particular with all the details are so important to a standalone hotel like us. It is vital for prospective guests to see what we are about, especially when they are from far away like you. When there is no chain affiliation etc these reviews are very helpful . We hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great Service in this Hotel. Perfect for a Business and leisure trip. The staff is friendly and giving ist best in trying to organize everything to your full pleasure.
The Location and the view are great!
Unfortunately, it gets a Little loud in the morning due to poor noise cancellation in the rooms and the WIFI is way to expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cg911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
dear CG911
thank you for your kind comments, its wonderful to know you enjoyed Winchester Mansions. Following your comments we have spoken to the early team to be extra quiet which they may have forgotten when you were here. I am also happy to advise that we are in the process of looking at a different "free to guest" wifi option. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days while on business.
A local company booked it for me.
It is in a good location, nice part of town, with a large grassed area between the hotel and the sea. At weekends there are plenty of people cycling, walking, skate boarding and jogging, even the odd paraglider landing from a flight down from the surrounding mountains.
It does feel like a safe area, and there are many families, children and couples around.
It is a short walk to the swanky dockside bars and restaurants, which are full of locals and not just tourists, so I didn't feel like I was being ripped of with the prices.
I would say it's one of the best hotels in the area. Rooms were large, staff were helpful, nothing to be critical of really. Food was excellent and the small decked area outside the bar was popular in the evenings as the sun sets.
I would recommend it to anyone as a business or holiday hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the higher rooms, over looking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welwyn_steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing