We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasurable first impression of Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasurable first impression of Cape Town”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, just as described by reviews. The rooms are spacious and well furnished. Not really set up for business travelers, no "work" chair and desk in the rooms ... but then again who would want to work with the ocean at your door step?!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmoJege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Omojege
thank you for your review. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel and the location. I am also very happy to advise that we do have, what we call, corporate rooms with a larger desk and an office chair. Need one of those next time? Please let us know and we will gladly arrange that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    294
    76
    33
    21
See reviews for
178
516
64
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We started our honeymoon in South Africa in cape town in this hotel. We had a corner room on the second floor with the benefit of the quiet but good views either side. There is no veranda to speak of though. The bar and restaurant were great. Good outside seating in the bar for a glass if vino whilst watching the sunset on the prom. We had a great time here. The staff in the whole hotel were fabulous, especially the night reception staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Jalois
thank you for your kind review. It is good to hear you enjoyed Winchester Mansions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

As a mature couple from USA and having traveled nearly around the globe, we were very impressed with this beautiful hotel.
The service was excellent. The staff very friendly. Couldn't wish for a better location. Even better than on the famous Waterfront.
Our room was exceptionally comfortable. Good mattress and excellent linen. The Courtyard is charming. The breakfasts are as good as anywhere in the world. We will be back next year, same time ! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 061837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear 061837
Thank you for your kind words. I am really happy to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel and its location. Please help us to lift the secret and make the hotel better known, in particular in your area. We hope you take the trip again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the Winchester Mansions - I found the hotel staff very friendly and welcoming and really tuned into the clients requirements. I mentioned in passing that I might want to use the Spa facilities and within 10 minutes of being in my room the latest price list was delivered. The "old style" feel of the rooms made me feel like a million bucks! The location of the hotel and the "vibe" that comes from the veranda after 4 in the afternoons and weekends was amazing. I would strongly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevWhittaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Bev
thank you for your kind review. we love to hear from our guests. In particular when they were happy. :-) Seeing that Pretoria is not that far, we hope to see you on a more regular basis?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Sunday Jazz Brunch at Winchester Mansions, Seapoint has to be the highlight of the week for quality & entertainment. The variety of food on offer makes this a true breakfast / lunch and at R225pp is excellent value.
Guests are welcomed with a complimentary glass of bubbly & there is a complimentary Sunday newspaper at each table.
Service is excellent, cheerful & efficient.
Booking is essential even in low season and the courtyard is the best place to be seated as that is where the visiting jazz combos play.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Jill S
it is great to hear how much yo enjoyed our weekly brunch. Did you know that we do these every Sunday of the year? We hope to have you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Ideally located at Sea Point, with the open air sight-seeing bus stop just outside. Loved the atmospheric courtyard for breakfast and evening meals. Excellent, friendly service by all the staff, nothing was too much trouble, very good food with African flavour eg ostrich, kudo, swordfish. You must try the Pride of Africa ice cream. Patronised by locals, which is always a good sign. We had back room on second floor with balcony and good view of Signal Hill, complete with paragliding. Quiet (good for sleeping), air-conditioned, very clean room. Wonderful flowers around courtyard. Helpful to be able to book tours eg with African Eagle to Cape Point and Stellenbosch winery

We intend to return to this excellent hotel on our next visit to South Africa. Thanks especially to Bradley and Shaheed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essexwands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Essexwands
I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel, its location, food and what we do here. surely it is almost time to come back!? Please do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I loved this hotel. I loved the room, I loved the breakfast area, the bar was awesome. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and the location is fantastic. We got a modern suite and it was very spacious, and very clean. When we first arrived, we realized that we made our booking for the wrong date, and I must say, the reception staff were very helpful. But for some reason, after that, they wernt as pleasant anymore. We mainly dealt with the girls from reception, and they certainly were not the friendliest.

The door men were wonderful, and we had such a great waitress for breakfast one morning. I cannot remember her name, but we were 4 people, ordering a lot of food with too many special requests, and she made dead sure that our orders came out perfectly. She also brightened our day with her happy smile!

This is definitely our new choice for our stays in Cape Town!

Awesome hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltWaterGirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear saltwater girl
Thank you for your kind review! I am very happy to hear you enjoyed yourself here with us. We look forward to having you back soon. I promise that reception will be friendly too by then! ;-) Nils Heckscher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
486 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,816 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,483 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,690 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing