We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent start to our South African holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #26 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Ideally located at Sea Point, with the open air sight-seeing bus stop just outside. Loved the atmospheric courtyard for breakfast and evening meals. Excellent, friendly service by all the staff, nothing was too much trouble, very good food with African flavour eg ostrich, kudo, swordfish. You must try the Pride of Africa ice cream. Patronised by locals, which is always a good sign. We had back room on second floor with balcony and good view of Signal Hill, complete with paragliding. Quiet (good for sleeping), air-conditioned, very clean room. Wonderful flowers around courtyard. Helpful to be able to book tours eg with African Eagle to Cape Point and Stellenbosch winery

We intend to return to this excellent hotel on our next visit to South Africa. Thanks especially to Bradley and Shaheed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essexwands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Essexwands
I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel, its location, food and what we do here. surely it is almost time to come back!? Please do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
There are newer reviews for Winchester Mansions
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

I loved this hotel. I loved the room, I loved the breakfast area, the bar was awesome. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and the location is fantastic. We got a modern suite and it was very spacious, and very clean. When we first arrived, we realized that we made our booking for the wrong date, and I must say, the reception staff were very helpful. But for some reason, after that, they wernt as pleasant anymore. We mainly dealt with the girls from reception, and they certainly were not the friendliest.

The door men were wonderful, and we had such a great waitress for breakfast one morning. I cannot remember her name, but we were 4 people, ordering a lot of food with too many special requests, and she made dead sure that our orders came out perfectly. She also brightened our day with her happy smile!

This is definitely our new choice for our stays in Cape Town!

Awesome hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaltWaterGirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear saltwater girl
Thank you for your kind review! I am very happy to hear you enjoyed yourself here with us. We look forward to having you back soon. I promise that reception will be friendly too by then! ;-) Nils Heckscher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel during our trip in Cape town, pre-Garden Route Tour, the hotel was booked by our travel agency.
The room was spacious and clean, for a family with 2 kids was very good. The first night we had dinner in the hotel restaurant and the food and services were excellent, quality/price I OK.
The breakfast was as good as the dinner. Friendly staff, and gracious Managing Director, who apologized for not having available rooms for our stay on the way back from our tour. Definitely will return in our next trip to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cunillu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was the first place we stayed as part of our South Africa round-trip, and found it to be a very relaxing, well located hotel, with beaches and the V&A waterfront about 10 minutes drive away. A perk of the hotel was actually free transfers to/from the Waterfront which we frequently benefited from.

The staff we courteous and efficient, although the front desk was constantly busy! The courtyard, with a picturesque fountain acted as the breakfast and lunch venue, with good quality food on offer. We dined at the on-site restaurant, Harvey's one night and found that to be the highlight. The service and food/wine were verging on impeccable.

The hallways had golf lawns outside each room, so you could improve your putting techniques! As for the rooms themselves, fairly compact, but well appointed. Bed was comfortable although it was two singles put together. The room included a small balcony overlooking the pool.

Unfortunately Wi-Fi was at a small charge here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klingadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stumbled accross a beautiful spot in a beautiful place for a beautiful lunch in the courtyard.
From when we entered the Hotel till we left, we were treated like we were appreciated and staff actually cared so much that we would want to return again.
Lunch was devine! The entire hotel is clean and very beautiful. Will definitely return .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirgitB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear BirgitB
thank you for taking the time to review us. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed what we do here. Please come back soon! Nils Heckscher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love to sit on the outside patio and enjoy the hustle and bustle of the sea point pavilion. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The snack menu is tempting and I like the cheese platter. The rooms are very well kept and clean. The hotel is in a good proximity to getting around. I love the Winchester.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetW303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

dear JanetW303
thank you for the very nice review you posted. we share these with our team and it makes their work so much more worthwhile when their efforts and the care is being recognised. We look forward to having you back real soon. Nils Heckscher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We only come to Harvey's once a year at best because we work predominantly overseas, despite this the waiter Mike ALWAYS remembers us and always personally looks after us finding us a table outside or making sure we have everything we need when we need it. We have recently moved permanently to Green Point and will be more frequent visitors at Harvey's. We particularly recommend the personal mini pizzas, very tasty and great value for money. Two thumbs up for Harvey's!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LaurieMeiring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear LaurieMeiring
I am happy to hear that you moved closer so that we will see you more often. Thank you for your kind review and for recognising Mike, he is a great guy. These mentions of staff make a big difference in our lives, thank you. Until very soon, I hope! Nils Heckscher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 111 in Cape Town Central
520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,846 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,737 reviews
0.7 mi away
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#20 of 111 in Cape Town Central
361 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#19 of 111 in Cape Town Central
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $158 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing