We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #22 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at the Winchester Mansions for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room overlooked the sea and was very spacious. Breakfasts were ate outside in the courtyard terrace and superb choice of whatever you fancied. We had one evening meal in the hotel. Food was good but we had to wait a long time to be served. The hotel has its own car which can transport you down to the waterfront for an evening meal which we found very useful. The hotel is just outside of the main Cape Town hotels and we found this lovely to get away from the hustle and bustle of an evening. Very easy parking in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan499616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Susan499616
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate when guests take the time to tell us about their stay, if course it is great when these reports are positive. Please come back soon!
Nils Heckscher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

672 - 678 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

2 friends and I visited Winchester Mansions terrace restaurant for lunch which we had done on prior occasions. There was no complaint about the food or service but on paying the bill I noticed that an aount had been added for a charitable donation.This had also happened in the past and I had complained about it. It would seem that this is done automatically and you have to tell them if you DON"T want it added to your bill otherwise it is added to the total charge. They obviously hope you will not notice it once the bill has been paid. On calling the restaurant manager ( who went b the name of Neil) I complained once more that they should not add items to a customer's bill that had not been ordered or agreed to in response to which he became very offhand and made an insulting remark to one of my guests. In the end he flounced off saying he would refund the amount. We decided to leave at that point having paid the bill and take it up further with Winchester Mansions management. Later that day I spoke to the owner of the hotel/restaurant( Mrs Waynford) who was just as off hand about the practice and saidthat cards were placed on tables announcing the involuntary donations unless the customer objected to them. No cards were placed on any tables. She was totally unapologetic and slammed the phone down. Needless to say we shall never set foot in this establishment again after these sharp practices and downright rude behaviour.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank deservingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear deservingtraveller

Thank you for your review and remarks about our chosen charity StreetSmart SA www.streetsmartsa.org.za . We have been committed to and involvedb with the project for over 6 years and served thousands of guests, many of whom actually donated much more than the voluntarily added ZAR5. As the current chairman of StreetSmart as well as MD of Winchester Mansions it is important to me to "get it right" and ensure that the cards are on the table. These cards, as you know, explain exactly how the project, which is endorsed by Desmond Tutu, works. I apologise most sincerely that the cards were not on your table and also that you were offended by the behavior of our Food and Beverage manager as well as the reaction of Mrs Wainford. Should you visit us again, which I hope you will, please indicate our desire to not contribute ZAR5 per table to help us help the street children of Cape Town, to avoid any future unpleasant situations.
Thank you! Nils Heckscher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent three nights at the Winchester Mansions at the end of our two week holiday in S.Africa.
We had such a special stay.We were allocated a wonderful room, clean, large and well furnished.
All of the hotel staff were so very friendly and helpful.
Breakfasts were superb, such a choice and wonderfully presented.
Our evening meal in the dinning room was once again excellent. The menu was varied, the meal was first class and our waiter was amazing.Wine selection was good and well priced.
The hotel is set in a great position on the sea front. Wonderful walks, easy to get to the water front either by our own car or by the Hotel mini bus. Quiet and safe setting.
We would most definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked three nights in a junior suite with sea view at the Winchester Mansions eight months ahead of arrival. All was confirmed by email from the hotel shortly afterwards. Upon arrival however, we were greeted with "sorry, we are overbooked!" Instead we were offered a room at a hotel in a totally different area of Cape Town. While negotiating the situation, we had the weird and rather humiliating experience of seeing other guests being checked in and given rooms, whereas we were refused ours. No explanation was given as to how this could be if they were overbooked... However, we were promised that the managing director, Nils Heckscher, would contact us the next day. A promise never honored; we never heard a word from him.
Tired after a 500 km drive, we gave up and accepted the other hotel.
The room we were given was an ordinary one, with a view to a hedge, some roofs, and if we bent down and looked up, some mountains. Far far away from the junior suite with sea view we had ordered AND prepaid in full at the Winchester Mansions!!
So beware of Winchester Mansions, dear fellow travelers, if you wish to avoid the utter discomfort it is to be turned away when you trust your room is awaiting you.. After nearly 40 years of traveling, we have never experienced anything even resembling this sort of welcome we received at Winchester Mansions, and the lack of care that was displayed.

Stayed: February 2013
10  Thank KeaNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear KeaNor
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience, sadly not at but nonetheless with Winchester Mansions. I apologise for the very unfortunate situation we put you in and wish to make contact "offline" and find a way to get you back to us to show you what Winchester Mansions's hospitality is really like. I hope we can!
Nils Heckscher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We arrived and checked in 2 hours before check in time and were adviced that the room was not ready. When we came back at the official check in time the room was still not ready, until 30 minutes later. As they know we were there a service minded staff should have checked that our room was being treated. We were not offered anything as compensation for the delay, but we asked for coffee and they said yes. 10 minutes later we had to remind them what they had promised until we got the coffee.
The lunch in the court yard that has been excellent the several times we have been there before was also a bit disappointing. Old and worn paper sheets were presented as menus and the chips on one plate were cold when the food arrived.
When stepping out of the shower in the morning, we found there was only one bath towel

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Borlange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Borlange
Thank you for your review. I am truly sorry to hear about your complaints. It certainly appears, that a few unfortunate incidents combined delivered the wrong picture of Winchester Mnsions. I hope we will get another chance!?
Kind regards. Nils Heckscherv

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

A grand old dame of a hotel, Winchester Mansions is situated on a popular beach avenue, with a terrific park and beach frontage. The staff was warm and welcoming, especially Bradley..who made us feel instantly at home! There is a wonderful bougainvilla draped courtyard, with fun outside dining...and a beautiful pool that we didn't have time to enjoy...The room was comfortable and very clean...quiet even though it faced the beach...somewhat quaint in layout, but perfectly functional...the gift shop was really interesting! and the bar/lanai was jammed at cocktail hour, with people enjoying the great ocean views in the summer evening! The promenade in front of the hotel was a happy vista of people walking, jogging, exercising, lounging and socializing...lots of fun to people watch..the area was safe and comfortable to vist, as well! The bright sunny location was a perfect reminder of why Cape Town is such a beautiful area to visit!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missy004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Winchester mansions is an independentloy owned hotel ideally placed to enjoy Capetown to the full. The Hotel amenities are first class, the staff are friendly and professional, the quality of food and beverages is of a very high standard and overall value for money is excellent.
If you are there on a Sunday, the Jazz Brunch (which must be pre-booked) is not to be missed.

Try the Spar too - very good treatments at very good prices.

Would we stay there again - absolutely!

Room Tip: Sea Facing or overlooking the lovely courtyard, it matters not but the rooms above the first floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 112MandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear 112MandH
thank you so much for your kind review. I am really happy to hear you had a good time with us! please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
2 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,810 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
572 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,337 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $161 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing