We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location and helpful staff”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights from 16 December 2012 with our two sons who were in the next door room. The room was nicely decorated and clean. The hotel was in a great location, a short free shuttle ride to the Waterfront complex. The staff were all helpful (especially the reception staff) and the food was good (although we only had breakfast and a bar snack). Our only criticism was that it could take a while to get served in the bar as, while there were plenty of waiters, there were not enough barmen to make the drinks.

It was a really relaxed stay. A great start to our holiday.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor in the corner at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
dear DavidW
thank you for your review. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. The issue of the bar service has been largely resolved with the deployment of an extra man behind the bar. Why not join us again real soon!? Best regards from sunny Cape Town. Nils Heckscher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    299
    76
    34
    21
See reviews for
186
525
64
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Much more interesting than staying at a western chain such as Westin without sacrificing anything. This small hotel has a very good restaurant, great bar, spectacular courtyard for breakfast, 2 large balconies overlooking the ocean, small but nicely decorated lounge, pool, etc. The service is all around excellent and made us feel very welcome. The location in Seapoint is about 10 minutes from town or the waterfront, midway to Camps Bay. Perfect

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear CoreyM
many, many thanks for the loveky review you posted. As a stand alone Hotel it is wonderful to receive this kind of recognition. I hope we may count you among our guests again real soon! bes wishes from sunny Cape Town
Nils Heckscher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Having staid in hotels for almost 140 nights in 2012 alone, i looked forward to a relaxing year end in capetown. My partner and I chosen to stay at Winchester Mansions due to the good sea-facing location (Mistake!!!) as well as the on average good reviews on tripadvisor (Mistake!!!).

upon checkin no room was available - having apologized we were told to wait 15 mins and our room would be ready (Mistake!!!) - after almost 3hrs at 3pm we were able to get into our room.

The room was a dark hole - although newly renovated - and inner courtyard facing (Mistake!!! BIG Mistake!!!). First night after our long haul overnight flight we wanted to catch an early night as we were really tired. The beautiful inner courtyard tranformed in an event space for a wedding -- incl. disco music. Having the bedroom window facing to the stage side with loudspeakers facing directly to the window, the glas did not make a difference ... we had loud loud disco music until 11.30 with hotel management being incapable to do anything against! due to the booking situation (100pc occupancy) no room change was made possible despite severe complaints, no compensation offered at all!!!

Breakfast next morning ended at 10am! ... on a sunday!!!! reasoning: the legendary sunday jazz brunch for external guests is starting at 11am. ... again with live music in our courtyard room ...

For new years eve we asked the guest relations manager to book us a table in a hotspot in capetown by fax - which he confirmed (and we believed him not requesting the fax receipt ... MISTAKE!!!) ... no fax went through, not table booked, new years eve night spoiled!

We got back to the mansion by 1am - and guess what ... nye party for external guests was still ongoing with 2 lost couples still dancing ... and guess what: again disco music in our room ... the party ended at 2.30 ... and again the duty manager seem to be acting helplessly ("let me check with f&b when they intend to finish") without any compensation being offered.

next morning we intended to have breakfast at 10.30 - only to find the buffet being closed as they set up for an external party again / brunch ("you got a letter last night in your room" -- no, we did not!!!).

all these matters have been discussed with the duty manager - but they were acting truly helplessly with a "could not care less" attitude.

the service in the restaurant is truly slow, food quality medium, bed comfort (once quiet) ok, room servicing quality poor (no regular exchange of towels, no exchange of bed linens since checkin etc).

2 more nights to go - cannot get worse though ... so - beware of this hotel! ... unless you love to find your bed in the middle of a disco with irresponsvive staff.

Possibly hotel management is waking up now after our posting here and reacting - stay tuned!

Room Tip: no inner courtyard room (which are 50pc of rooms though)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ThorstenL74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Thorsten L
I just read your post on TA, which of course did not fill me with joy. As you can see from the numerous positive posts we have earned a very good reputation, which we are proud of. There are most certainly situations you mention that deserve an apology from our side. Probably more than the one delivered to your room. Please allow me to comment on some points you make. When the booking was received we were already pretty full and therefore the choice of rooms was limited. The wedding music on your day of arrival was stopped at 11pm, which I agree was too late. We tried to apologise for that with a gift in your room. The fact that you wanted to sleep late and stayed over a period we had our Sunday Jazz brunch closely followed by our New Year’s day hangover brunch was unfortunate. Both events are for in house as well as outside guests and start at 11am. The New Year’s eve celebration, on the other hand, I see as quite normal the world over, the music stopped at 1h30 although late, not unusual for the 31st.
Our sheets are changed on a three day cycle in line with many international 5 star hotels, after you advised us that you’d like daily changes we did follow that request. The inner courtyard rooms are all brand new and designed very brightly to compensate for the fact that they do not have a lot of daylight, but they are by no means “dark holes”. We have 5 of these courtyard facing rooms, nowhere near 50% of all rooms. I understand that you were not happy with some aspects of your stay and am of course happy to discuss a way to compensate you for the inconveniences suffered as we really do care. But to be requesting a 100% refund whilst threatening with a bad review is not what I saw as a good start for a discussion. I look forward to hearing from you to see what we can do, as it is always in our interest to see our guests leave with a positive memory of their stay with us, as can be seen below most do. Kind regards from sunny Cape Town.
Nils Heckscher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

From the moment we entered the hotel until we left we felt right at home. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room, or must I say mansion, was very large and had everything we needed. Our room was in the front of the hotel so our view was magnificent. Breakfast was great , a lot of choices and really good quality food. Nicest thing about our stay was the "art, grill and grape" diner. A 5 course meal with a separate wine for every course. It was top class.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarsH79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had the great fortune to stay for a few nights in December, staying in a junior suite overlooking the Ocean. This was as good a view to which to wake up each morning as anywhere in the world. Within an hour of checking in, all of the staff were greeting us by name. The pool, bar and restaurant are great, car parking is secure and on site. The breakfast buffet is extensive, tasty and can be taken in the dining room or outside around the charming fountain.
The topless tour bus routes both stop outside the hotel. The walk to V&A was a leisurely 35 minutes by the coast, but you can do it quicker if you don't stick to the ocean promenade. Neighbourhood feels very safe.
We had dinner in the restaurant one evening and it was the best food of our visit there, 60 % of the price of similar, but inferior dishes at the waterfront.
Room was very comfortable, spotless and large.

Room Tip: Junior suites are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blot57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I was fortunate to be part of a management “working” breakfast at the Winchester Mansions on Friday morning. The venue itself, situated almost on the beach, is very beautiful en well maintained. We were welcomes with a smile, escorted to our table where the breakfast table settings were well laid out.
“Can I pour you a cup of coffee” was the “cherry on the cake”. Introduction to the how and where was followed by a “tour” of the A LA CARTE BREAKFAST menu but we all opted for the COTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET. What a spread!!!! The service was outstanding and the presentation, quality and freshness of the different food were excellent. General table service was outstanding and there were never a shortage of eating utensils, etc.
Overall I will confess that I “overindulged” but the venue, service, food, etc. contributed to a “I will return” feeling
WELL done Winchester Mansions

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danie W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Danie W S
Thank you so much for your kind review. it is great when we get reviewed by "locals" as this gives us a good perspective of local perception. Without local support, in particulr, our Food & Beverage department would struggle, so we need you! Thank you and until hopefully very soon at The Mansions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

As a walk in customer with no prior booking, the staff at this quaint hotel were extremely efficient. Friendly service along with a clean well maintained room, meant that our short stay was worth every cent!
Room service was very punctual and value for money, our breakfast was a true buffet spread of fresh fruit and the hot meal was delicious , with a well rounded Cuppacino to finish off with. We ate breakfast overlooking Table Bay with Robben Island in the distance......most enjoyable.

I highly recommend the Winchester Hotel in Seapoint, Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrezSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
505 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,717 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,404 reviews
Cascades on the Promenade
#42 of 109 in Cape Town Central
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing