We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over the Top Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #28 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over the Top Service”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

When we arrived in Cape Town after more than 20 hours of travel, we were immediately taken care of by the wonderful staff at Winchester Mansions. Our room was ready early, we were shown the facilities, we had a relaxing lunch (with delicious Graham Beck wine), and the shuttle took us to the V&A Waterfront for a walkabout. No need went unmet during out stay. And the location is perfect--away from the maddening crowds of the waterfront and across the street from the hop on hop off bus. Reception was always quick to help us find restaurants and make the reservations. The outdoor areas are a lovely respite from city life. The only disappointment was that the porch was always packed at sunset and we were never lucky enough to find a spot! Kudos to the wonderful team that made our holiday lovely.

Room Tip: No need to have a waterfront room when you can enjoy the waterfron from the promenade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    282
    74
    32
    21
See reviews for
171
504
61
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have now stayed at Winchester Mansions three times - twice this year. They were both on our recent trip to Southern Africa. We have a huge welcome - and staff remembered us from last year which is just amazing when you think of the number of visitors that come through the doors.This place is a true haven for a weary traveller. If is very beautifully situated with the Atlantic on its doorstep. The rooms are clean and comfy. The breakfasts are superb. Our dinners that we had were always top quality and catered for vegetarians very well. During our first stay we had a very early morning flight to Namibia - we had wonderful "breakfast boxes" waiting for us at 4am when we checked out for the airport. Another features that is truly wonderful and will bring us back again and again is their transport shuttle between the hotel and the V &A waterfront. It is a top service - they always pick one up when they say they will - and it is with a smile. We will be back - just love the place

Room Tip: this is an older hotel - so the rooms are all sorts of shapes and sizes - but it does not matter whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was a special visit to Sea Point for me as I used to live in the block of flats as a child and it was my first visit back in over 40 years!
I remembered the Mansions when it was a bloc of flats many years ago.
The Mansions are elegant in a Cape Dutch style.
It is not a chain hotel,but delightfully unique with an understated old world charm.
The conversion has been subtly and tastefully done.The inner courtyard with a fountain and dining is a stroke of brilliance and creates a lush cool and tranquil environment.
The rooms are either cutting edge modern or old world chintz depending on your preference.
The staff are genteel and polite yet welcoming and have the knack of being unstuffy-its a clever and rare mix.
The safety issues sadly necessary are taut ,but not oppressive.
The situation is unbeatable-at the front it is one road away from the roaring Atlantic,yet and easy ten minutes to Downtown Cape Town.The rear views look up to Lions head and Table Mountain.
Surprisingly for all this the tarrif is reasonable as are restaurant prices.
Hope to stay again on any and all subsequent visits ti the Fairest cape.

Room Tip: higher floors facing the sea are worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirriemuir, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Hotel was our final stop in South Africa and sealed a wonderful time. Hotel ideally placed to enjoy beautiful sunsets from bar. Tour Bus Stop right outside Hotel which is great for seeing Cape Town and the Hotel operates a shuttle bus to the Waterfront. Add to this the pleasant walks along the promenade opposite the Hotel and what more could you ask for? Rooms are clean comfortable and quiet. Pool is lovely although there is some road noise it is relaxing non the less.
When we ever return to Cape Town it will be top of the list . Staff all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Robert R
thank you for your kind post about your stay with us. We hope to have you back real soon!?
Kind regards from sunny Cape Town Nils Heckscher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

When you wanted to visit capetown, this hotel is the best option to stay! Good breakfast, quite rooms, taxi service from the hotel and extra services! We enjoyed staying here and will comeback surely!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martijn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Martijn 007

a big thank you for your great review of your stay with us. It makes our job so much more pleasant when our efforts are being recognised and appreciated.

kind regards from lovely Cape Town Nils Heckscher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Winchester Mansions Hotel was the first destination on our itinary in South Africa.eThe hotel gave us a warm welcome with a bottle of champagne and a bowl of fresh fruit,as it was our 40th wedding anniversary! Great location, lovely food and good service.
Good bus service for The Waterfront just outside the hotel. Thoroughly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElsieR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

A very nice hotel , great location, the hotel staff were very helpful and polite , they provide a free shuttle to the waterfront, the breakfast was excellent . The room was very comfortable , really enjoyed my stay there

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaggie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,791 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,197 reviews
1.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,432 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing