We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for touring Cape town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #24 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at the Winchester Mansions for four nights in June at the end of a two week tour of South Africa. To be fair the hotel is undergoing a major renovation of its kitchens and some of the rooms during the quieter winter period and this may have affected some of the services. The WM is a very pleasant, well appointed four star hotel with all the amenities and services you would expect. The staff are friendly and helpful and were keen to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. The first room we were shown was quite small, a bit gloomy and next to some renovation work being conducted but an upgrade at a reasonable cost was very soon offered on request. The restaurant served us a very good dinner and excellent breakfasts. The bar was very popular with locals and had a lively atmosphere and the drinks were good value. The bar food was a bit inconsistent in quality but this may have been a consequence of the extensive work affecting the kitchen. The location is excellent and the complimentary shuttle service to the V&A waterfront was much appreciated. There are great seaviews and sunsets can be stunning when viewed from the bar terrace.

Room Tip: Try and secure a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

We have visited this hotel every year for the last 10 years on our anual cape town visit as this is my farther inlaws local watering hole(Dr Peter Sanders) the staff are excellent and Pamala is a star we will be back in Feb 2013 and have recomended this hotel to our friends who have booked a 3 night stay in Jan 2013 i love this hotel and over the many years have come to know the bar staff very well,at least the ones that that have stayed Pamala and Petunia.Great meating place with our cape town friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This hotel is overlooking the foreshore at Sea Point. It has a lovely front verandah attached to the bar, so you can sit and have a drink while watching the sunset. The breakfast buffet is served in the restaurant that also overlooks the foreshore. The rooms are lovely and there is a central courtyard that offers an alternative quiet place to sit. Safe are very friendly and very willing to help. The shuttle service is very useful, offering free transport to the Waterfront and to other areas for a small fee. An excellent location with some good shops and restaurants near by.I would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: You could ask for a front room if you want a view of the ocean but there are plenty of opportunitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at the Winchester Mansions and appreciated all the little touches like the coffee in the Bodum, ice cold water and lime juice, big fluffy gowns and comfy slippers right down to the chocolates on our pillows when the bed was turned down! The kind of things you hope for to round off your 'treat experience' but don't always get. The Sunday jazz brunch was the cherry on the top and very worthwhile.

Room Tip: Sea facing is so worthwhile! The beach front road is noisy though but the double glazed windows blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We were only able to stay in Cape Town for two nights, but Winchester Mansions was a beautiful and well located home for us. It's beautiful Dutch Cape architecture set it apart from the more common high rise hotels of the area. The room was large, clean and well appointed and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Located across the road from a beach park and the sea wall, we felt very safe and the V&A waterfront was easily accessible using the free shuttle provided by the hotel.

Room Tip: You definitely want a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callen2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Winchester Mansions, a lovely hotel on the beach front. The staff provided wonderful service from the moment we arrived (early) and this continued throughout our three day stay. Rooms are spacious and clean and iced water with lime juice ready to add is a nice touch. Staff arranged our tour and anything else we needed and were good with recommendations. There is a shuttle you can book which takes you to the waterfront (too far to walk) for free, but you pay for everywhere else so you might as well get a taxi. The breakfast is hearty and the bar and restaurant are open for food and drinks in the evening. There is also a lounge area for guests downstairs from the bar where you can eat and drink in peace if you wish. All in all, a great place to stay and the staff even helped us check in for our flights from Cape Town. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room if it is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanmaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This hotel exceeded my expecations...the staff (everyone - reception, housekeeping, room service, bar) is extremely friendly and helpful, the service is great, the breakfast was very good (included in our price for the room) - the breakfast even included cappuccinos :), the rooms were clean and very nice and the location was good. They also have a free shuttle service from Sea Point to V&A waterfront. They help you plan your stay in Cape Town and help with making bookings for sightseeing. They also let us keep a room beyond the checkout time, so that we could come back from sightseeing and take a shower before leaving for our flight in the evening. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
2 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,761 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 110 in Cape Town Central
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,815 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,543 reviews
0.7 mi away
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#23 of 110 in Cape Town Central
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $146 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing