We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for work or play....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect place for work or play....”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I needed peace and quiet for a work project so booked into a modern classic room and spent most of my time at my computer. Room service was quick and efficient, good food and friendly staff. The distant murmuring from the beautiful courtyard downstairs was a pleasing background. A friend joined me for breakfast, we were allowed a late check-out and it was perfectly relaxing. This hotel gets everything right.......I hear the Sunday jazz brunch is brilliant. Haven't had a chance to sample it yet but I hope to do so soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraJonesCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear BarbaraJonesCapeTown

I just read your review for which I thank you. I am happy that you were happy. Please join us for one of our brunches, they are thankfully very popular so please book in advance! Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Nils Heckscher - MD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    299
    76
    34
    21
See reviews for
186
525
64
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I took time to research where to stay in Capetown as it had been 20 years since our last visit and as it was our 25th wedding anniversary we decided to spoil ourselves and our 11 year old daughter by staying in a family suite for 3 nights in November after a safari in Sabi Sands. First the positives, only a few. Ideally situated and the staff were very professional although surprisingly most of them on a training programme from college. Our suite was spacious but a little tired and overlooked the back entrance to the hotel and bins, and not a view of Table Mountain as advertised. The mini bus is not always available to take you to the Waterfront as they also hire it out for private tours, they do have a second mini-bus but try not to use it as they want to keep the mileage down as they are planning to sell it, in the New Year. Our biggest disappointment was that even though on trip advisor the managing director stated that the recent refurbishment was completed before our visit, this was not the case. The poor reception staff had to work whilst enduring the whole of the front of reception being removed and replaced, you could not get near them to ask them a question, and if you did you could not hear them for the noise of the drills the men were using. We tried to escape this chaos and went to the pool where we told we could not sunbathe on one side of the pool or go in the pool as promotional photographs were being taken!! We then went to the bar and sat on the patio out-side to have a quiet drink, but no even that was too much to ask as workmen were working on the side of the hotel/car park of the hotel and we were shadowed in dust and again could not escape the noise of drills.
After out return I received many e mails asking me to give feedback on the hotel, which I did. I was assured the managing director would respond to my comments but funnily enough after my visit just over 7 weeks ago I have heard nothing. I have given them ample time to apologise as I am fair and am not a complainer normally, but when you spend a considerable amount of money for a short stay, then I expect certain standards, if work was taking place then we should have received a discount or given the option to change our dates. At the end of the day we did not get value for money as we could not use the facilities to their full advantage, and we had to put up with the disruption during our stay .

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Ann B

Only now do I go through our recent reviews and so I came across yours. Huge apologies for only replying now, I cannot explain why other mails, you sent, did not get to me. The renovations, in particular in our reception area took indeed longer mainly due to the erratic availability of timber which was installed whenever available. It is clear that we disappointed you and did not deliver on your expectation. I have sent a message to you directly via Tripadvisor and hope to hear from you. I would like to again apologise not only for the below expectation experience but also for not getting back to you sooner.

Kind regards from sunny Cape Town

Nils Heckscher - MD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2011

This review is a little late but we stayed here at the end of May 2011 for 3 nights and loved the place. Upgraded to a family suite at no extra cost and enjoyed the wonderful buffet breakfast each morning. All the staff we encountered were extremely polite and helpful.

Great spot close to shopping strips and transport etc.

Hoping to return in 2012.

Brett Lorena and Tayla Melbourne Australia

Room Tip: Beautiful suite we had overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bhandtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Fantastic ambiance in this hotel. Very smart bar and a dream patio, where fantastic breakfasts are served when the weather is OK. Smart clientele of all ages. I really appreciated my two nights stay in this hotel. My room was not so big, but very quiet, on the back side. Small but agreable pool.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmbSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear JMB Switzerland
Thank you very much for your review!
It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The mix of guests is very important to me as I want us always to be a genuine hotel and not one of the all too often found which seem somewhat “plastic” in atmosphere and guest mix. It would be lovely to have you back with us real soon!
We all wish you a wonderful Christmas and a fantastic 2012.

Nils Heckscher
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

The Winchester Mansions is well placed as inbetween The Waterfront and Camps Bay. Try and stay on a Sunday for their Jazz Brunch - brilliant band and good value for money. You must book a table as it is very popular. It is held in the amazing courtyard. They also have a small outdoor pool and the bedrooms are very nice. The staff are very helpful with any of your queries.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissy051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear Krissy 051
Thank you very much for your great review!
It is wonderful to hear how much your stay with us. Our jazz brunch after about 14 years is Cape Town’s longest running and most popular, and we’re proud of it. I guess it is the combination of food, music, location and service that make this such a great recipe, and of course at less than 20 Pounds it is grrrreeeat value. We hope to have you back with us real soon!
We all wish you a wonderful Christmas and a fantastic 2012.

Nils Heckscher
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Fabulous room, service fantastic and executed by super friendly staff who always had a smile. Breakfast awesome, cocktails superb and the bar meal more than adequate, Dinner in the restaurant best we have tasted for many a day. Front office always eager to help. Superb location with easy access to all that Capetown offers without the city sounds. Would definitely stay here again and recomment to friends.

Room Tip: We were allocated a room but had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear Margaret B
Thank you very much for your super review!
My team and I are very excited to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Chef of course loves the compliment about the food! We look forward to having you back with us real soon!
We all wish you a wonderful Christmas and a fantastic 2012.

Nils Heckscher
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Be very wary of the management of this hotel. I booked a reservation 5-6 weeks before my trip to South Africa with five nights at Winchester. We traveled over 10,000 miles from the San Francisco Bay Area to Sea Point for the first time in 26 years. We looked forward to staying in a central location close to Clifton, Camps Bay and the night life. After two-days in Stellenbosch and a full-day of site seeing, we arrived at the hotel at 7:30 on a Thursday looking forward to a beer, shower and night on the town. Unfortunately, we were informed that they were overbooked and that we had no choice but to move downtown to a hotel adjacent to the convention center. We specifically booked this hotel due to its location in Sea Point and ended up wasting 1 of our 5 evenings in Cape Town driving to the alternative hotel, parking, checking in, etc. I think it's criminal that they would not prioritize the reservation of guests that traveled 10,000 miles with the reasonable expectation that their reservation would actually be a reservation. I would never book with this hotel again and would recommend an alternative in Clifton or Camps Bay.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Sean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear Sean V
Thank you very much for your review!
I completely understand your reaction, since, due to an error in our reservations system, we could not honour your booking. We tried to “appease” you by booking you into a 5 star hotel, the extra of which was at our cost, but again I understand that you chose us for our location as well as reputation. I apologise for the inconvenience we caused you and your party. I wish to assure you that this is not normal practise and sincerely hope that you may give us another chance when returning to Cape Town.
We all wish you a wonderful Christmas and a fantastic 2012.

Nils Heckscher
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
505 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,717 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,405 reviews
Cascades on the Promenade
#42 of 109 in Cape Town Central
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing