We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #30 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed at the Winchester Mansions in February for 10 nights and have to say after a few teething problems initially, the hotel exceeded all expectations. As a frequent guest of Four Seasons and other 5 Star Hotels worldwide we were looking for something different more of a Boutique Hotel and the Winchester offred us that, Four Seasons Service and quality at a very reasonable price. The staff especially Kirsten and Andrew went out of their way to make our trip enjoyable and were so hospitable we didnt want to leave!. This Hotel comes highly recomended after visiting One and Only several times for dinner we were pleased with our choice. Avoid the Waterfront at all costs!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MylesLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Dear guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us up on Tripadvisor. To be compared with Four Seasons and One and Only is a huge honour to us and means that our efforts do not go unnoticed.
It is the ultimate confirmation and thrill of our profession is when guests enjoy our service and take the time and care to write to us and or on sites like this one! We hope to be welcoming you back real soon!

Kind regards from Tripadvisor’s No 1 destination, our mother city, Cape Town

Nils Heckscher
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    283
    74
    32
    21
See reviews for
172
505
61
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

Awesome hotel, stunning location and friendly staff make The Mansions a remarkable place to stay. Their attention to detail is superb, well done

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnoldK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 4 days in April. This is a very relaxed and well organised clean establishment, with good size modern rooms. We didn't dine in the restaurant but the bar food was top quality, low prices with the possibility of eating on the veranda with a beautiful ocean view. Breakfasts were good with a variety of hot & cold food & plenty of fresh fruit. As with all the hotels we used in South Africa staff were extremely polite courteous & helpful. I would recommend this hotel to all travelers.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corkmicheal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us up on Tripadvisor.

It is a real pleasure when guests enjoy our service and take the time and care to tell others about it.

We hope to be welcoming you back real soon!

Kind regards from Tripadvisor’s No 1 destination, our mother city, Cape Town

Nils Heckscher
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

For setting, service and value for money, the Winchester is our hotel of choice in Cape Town and we know, as we count ourselves as locals, living only 50 km from Cape Town. Breathtaking views, a delicious breakfast, friendly staff, comfortable, clean rooms, this is the place whether you are on holiday or business.

Room Tip: ask for a room with seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilwolfaardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Dear local

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us up on Tripadvisor. I personally believe we as Locals do not travel enough in our own region, which makes your comment even more special. I hope more locals follow your example and sample what Tripadvisor's No 1 destination has to offer. We hope to be welcoming you back real soon!

Kind regards from Tripadvisor’s No 1 destination, our mother city, Cape Town

Nils Heckscher
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

Our stay was excellent from top to bottom. Traveling with my wife, my father, and my 2 small kids, we had a suite that was plenty big and reasonably priced. The location is excellent, the staff were kind and helpful, the food was superb (especially the croissants and breakfast!), the pool was fun, and the little touches were a treat. A great, great stay. We expect to return to Cape Town and will surely be back at the Winchester Mansions.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick_a_gawlikowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear guest

what a wonderful review. Thank you! It makes our work so much more enjoyable and worthwhile when our efforts are recognised. I am delighted to hear how much you enioyed your stay with us and look forward to be welcoming you back real soon! I will make sure my team hears your praise.

Thank you!

Nils Heckscher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

The hotel is very pretty with the main courtyard being festooned with bougainvillia. It faces the sea and is great for watching the sun set over the ocean. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped though the hotel is reasonably expensive at R1892 for bed and breakfast for two.
The staff are unfailingly polite and friendly and the breakfast very good with fresh local fruit etc.
The only grumble was that the courtyard was being used for a wedding which made the rooms very noisy. IThe music did stop at 11pm though. Internet access is expensive and very slow.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicelincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Dear guest

thank you so much for taking the time to complete this review. Guest feedback is essential for us to maintain and in cases improve our service to you! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our service attitude was to your liking. We quite often run special offers and certain packages, so when next on your way to Cape Toiwn, please see that you take advantage of these.

Thank you again and we hope to having you back real soon!

Nils Heckscher
MD Winchester Mansions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

We spent 5 nights in Sea Point at the Winchester Mansions and had a thoroughly envjoyable stay! Perfect location, in between the Waterfront\City Centre and the beaches of Bantry Bay, Clifton and Camps Bay. Hotel is in the older style but the rooms have been very well updated. The suite was reasonably priced and had a lovely living room area with windows(that you can fully open) with a great view of the ocean and the Promenade. The staff were extremely helpful with planning tours and making dinner reservations\recommendations and the service overall was great! The pool, although somewhat small, was very clean and a relaxing way to cool off and end a day of sightseeing. Breakfast in the courtyard each morning was also very nice. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TARAANDDUANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing