We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“swim fishy swim”

Two Oceans Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.91*
and up
Hout Bay World of Birds and Two Oceans Aquarium Tour in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Two Oceans Aquarium is a window into the spectacular oceans surrounding the southern African coast. Through displays ranging from the small and almost fantastical Knysna seahorses, to sea turtles and shoals of shimmering fish, the Aquarium holds wondrous discoveries around every corner. Come face-to-face with giant spider grabs and have an adventurous tactile experience at the Touch Pool. Be sure to visit the I&J Ocean Exhibit, with its 9m long window, and 10m long full tunnel. Qualified divers can also make use of the opportunity to dive in this exhibit with shoals of fish and turtles. The Jelly gallery is sure to mesmerize and enthral.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“swim fishy swim”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

This knocks the British sea worlds into the proverbial cocked hat. a fantastic trip round looking at all manner of fish and sea life they cater well for kids too in fact the whole family will enjoy this attraction

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoOceansAQ, Communications at Two Oceans Aquarium, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the Two Oceans Aquarium. It is always lovely to hear from people who enjoyed their visits! Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,607
    1,381
    552
    85
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a must see in Cape Town and is home to one of only three live kelp exhibits in the world. The aquariums is very earth conscience and right outside you will find a seal platform where you may see some sleepy seals resting peacefully. The cafe at the aquarium is also very good with a large menu!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alicia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“interesting and informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

The displays were imaginative and the information clear. I could see that it was good for capturing childrens imagination, and the close up view of the sharks was awesome

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newlyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Aquarium”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We visited here during our visit to Cape Town in 2012 and loved it. Such a great array of underwater creatures and much more impressive than any of the aquariums we have visited in the UK.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MAWRAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoOceansAQ, Communications at Two Oceans Aquarium, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Two Oceans Aquarium. We really appreciate the feedback and enjoy hearing from our visitors. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A very pleasant visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

My daughter was thrilled to be able to dive with the sharks - it was an amazing experience she will never forget, and I wasn't even scared or worried whilst watching her through the glass, even though it was the sharks' weekly feeding time just after the dive!
The variety of marine life on display was superb, with full and interesting information. I particularly liked the innovative idea of the glass bubble so you can pose in amongst the clown fish.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HadjFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoOceansAQ, Communications at Two Oceans Aquarium, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Two Oceans Aquarium. It is wonderful to hear that your daughter enjoyed the dive in our I&J Predator Exhibit. We hope that you took many photos to remember this by. The clownfish exhibit is indeed one of the favourites here at the Aquarium. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Oceans Aquarium also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Two Oceans Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing