We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting and informative”

Two Oceans Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.64*
and up
Hout Bay World of Birds and Two Oceans Aquarium Tour in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Two Oceans Aquarium is a window into the spectacular oceans surrounding the southern African coast. Through displays ranging from the small and almost fantastical Knysna seahorses, to sea turtles and shoals of shimmering fish, the Aquarium holds wondrous discoveries around every corner. Come face-to-face with giant spider grabs and have an adventurous tactile experience at the Touch Pool. Be sure to visit the I&J Ocean Exhibit, with its 9m long window, and 10m long full tunnel. Qualified divers can also make use of the opportunity to dive in this exhibit with shoals of fish and turtles. The Jelly gallery is sure to mesmerize and enthral.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“interesting and informative”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The displays were imaginative and the information clear. I could see that it was good for capturing childrens imagination, and the close up view of the sharks was awesome

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,625
    1,402
    567
    85
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newlyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Aquarium”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We visited here during our visit to Cape Town in 2012 and loved it. Such a great array of underwater creatures and much more impressive than any of the aquariums we have visited in the UK.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MAWRAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoOceansAQ, Communications at Two Oceans Aquarium, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Two Oceans Aquarium. We really appreciate the feedback and enjoy hearing from our visitors. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A very pleasant visit”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My daughter was thrilled to be able to dive with the sharks - it was an amazing experience she will never forget, and I wasn't even scared or worried whilst watching her through the glass, even though it was the sharks' weekly feeding time just after the dive!
The variety of marine life on display was superb, with full and interesting information. I particularly liked the innovative idea of the glass bubble so you can pose in amongst the clown fish.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HadjFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoOceansAQ, Communications at Two Oceans Aquarium, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Two Oceans Aquarium. It is wonderful to hear that your daughter enjoyed the dive in our I&J Predator Exhibit. We hope that you took many photos to remember this by. The clownfish exhibit is indeed one of the favourites here at the Aquarium. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Two Oceans Aquarium scuba diving is INCREDIBLE !!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I had the privilege of diving in the Two Oceans Aquarium Predator Tank over the weekend – what an AMAZING blessing !!! It was so different seeing it from the perspective of the fish. The Two Oceans Aquarium allow up to 3 certified divers per time slot (they have 3 slots in a day – 09h00, 11h00 and 13h00) to dive in either the Predator Tank or the Kelp Forest Tank, and the dive itself lasts around 30 minutes. You can use your own diving kit or rent from the Dive School. You can do your bookings and payments through the Two Oceans Aquarium website.

I have visited the Aquarium many times over the years and have always enjoyed the visits; but this is by far the high-point of those trips for me. We had a Loggerhead Turtle who seemed to take a liking to our fins and was very persistent – much to my delight and the amusement of the visitors watching us. The Ragged Tooth Sharks kept a wary eye on us the entire time – it was only afterwards that I found out that it was Shark feeding time a few minutes after we finished our dive, so I was somewhat relieved that they saved their appetites for their regular food !! The Rays were very inquisitive and the shoals of other fish were amazing to experience “close-at-hand”. This is DEFINITELY an experience that I would encourage any certified divers to do.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank stranger_and_pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoOceansAQ, Communications at Two Oceans Aquarium, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review on the Two Oceans Aquarium's Adventure Diving programme. It is wonderful to hear that you really enjoyed the dive. It is something quite special to do. Your review is really very informative and passionate. Yoshi, the turtle, is quite a character and we are glad you had the opportunity to meet her. Happy diving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ein Bokek, Israel
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“not so big but worth a visit”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

this aquarium is not one of the biggest i've visited, not even medium size, but still worth a visit, good variety of sea creatures, well designed and well displayed. it is located in the waterfront so better combine it with a visit to other places in the area. one unique item are the penguins. price is cheaper than in japan or the u.s., but as mentioned not as impressive .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Oceans Aquarium also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Two Oceans Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing