We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Aquarium”

Two Oceans Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.92*
and up
Cape Town Flexi Attractions Pass
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Two Oceans Aquarium is a window into the spectacular oceans surrounding the southern African coast. Through displays ranging from the small and almost fantastical Knysna seahorses, to sea turtles and shoals of shimmering fish, the aquarium holds wondrous discoveries around every corner. Come face-to-face with giant spider crabs and have an adventurous tactile experience at the Touch Pool. Be sure to visit the I&J Ocean Exhibit, with its 9m long window, and 10m long full tunnel. Qualified divers can also make use of the opportunity to dive in this exhibit with shoals of fish and turtles. The Jelly gallery is sure to mesmerize and enthrall.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We visited here during our visit to Cape Town in 2012 and loved it. Such a great array of underwater creatures and much more impressive than any of the aquariums we have visited in the UK.

1  Thank MAWRAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoOceansAQ, Communications at Two Oceans Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Two Oceans Aquarium. We really appreciate the feedback and enjoy hearing from our visitors. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"sea life"
in 166 reviews
"shark tank"
in 100 reviews
"clown fish"
in 72 reviews
"penguin feeding"
in 63 reviews
"feeding times"
in 60 reviews
"puppet show"
in 47 reviews
"touch pool"
in 44 reviews
"ragged tooth sharks"
in 33 reviews
"big tank"
in 31 reviews
"rainy day"
in 125 reviews
"great for kids"
in 63 reviews
"two oceans"
in 127 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 33 reviews
"all ages"
in 98 reviews
"whole family"
in 58 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 104 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 61 reviews
Filter

2,404 - 2,408 of 4,325 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

My daughter was thrilled to be able to dive with the sharks - it was an amazing experience she will never forget, and I wasn't even scared or worried whilst watching her through the glass, even though it was the sharks' weekly feeding time just after the dive!
The variety of marine life on display was superb, with full and interesting information. I particularly liked the innovative idea of the glass bubble so you can pose in amongst the clown fish.

1  Thank HadjFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoOceansAQ, Communications at Two Oceans Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Two Oceans Aquarium. It is wonderful to hear that your daughter enjoyed the dive in our I&J Predator Exhibit. We hope that you took many photos to remember this by. The clownfish exhibit is indeed one of the favourites here at the Aquarium. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I had the privilege of diving in the Two Oceans Aquarium Predator Tank over the weekend – what an AMAZING blessing !!! It was so different seeing it from the perspective of the fish. The Two Oceans Aquarium allow up to 3 certified divers per time slot (they have 3 slots in a day – 09h00, 11h00 and 13h00) to dive in either the Predator Tank or the Kelp Forest Tank, and the dive itself lasts around 30 minutes. You can use your own diving kit or rent from the Dive School. You can do your bookings and payments through the Two Oceans Aquarium website.

I have visited the Aquarium many times over the years and have always enjoyed the visits; but this is by far the high-point of those trips for me. We had a Loggerhead Turtle who seemed to take a liking to our fins and was very persistent – much to my delight and the amusement of the visitors watching us. The Ragged Tooth Sharks kept a wary eye on us the entire time – it was only afterwards that I found out that it was Shark feeding time a few minutes after we finished our dive, so I was somewhat relieved that they saved their appetites for their regular food !! The Rays were very inquisitive and the shoals of other fish were amazing to experience “close-at-hand”. This is DEFINITELY an experience that I would encourage any certified divers to do.

2  Thank stranger_and_pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoOceansAQ, Communications at Two Oceans Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you very much for writing a review on the Two Oceans Aquarium's Adventure Diving programme. It is wonderful to hear that you really enjoyed the dive. It is something quite special to do. Your review is really very informative and passionate. Yoshi, the turtle, is quite a character and we are glad you had the opportunity to meet her. Happy diving!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

this aquarium is not one of the biggest i've visited, not even medium size, but still worth a visit, good variety of sea creatures, well designed and well displayed. it is located in the waterfront so better combine it with a visit to other places in the area. one unique item are the penguins. price is cheaper than in japan or the u.s., but as mentioned not as impressive .

Thank Gil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Two Oceans Aquarium was a pleasant visit on a rainy / cloudy afternoon. The Aquarium is nice but not that big or spectacular, still what we saw we liked. Although some animals looked bored (Pinguins) or not that healthy (the fish in the Nemo tank). We liked the extra info we got at the touch area. We saw most of it in about 1.5 hours. The place has friendly prices compared to aquariums in Europe.

Thank gpj73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoOceansAQ, Communications at Two Oceans Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Two Oceans Aquarium. Our animals' health and well-being are our top priority. The clownfish in our Nemo exhibit have a peculiar habit of lying on their sides. It is easy to think that they are sick or dying, but they are not. From the first moment we introduced the fish into this exhibit, they adopted the dome as their anemone and that is why they all lie on top of it. Sometimes there might be one or two that get it wrong and they lie on the sand, but they are also fine. You should see them when they get fed! The exhibit turns into a madhouse of orange and white flashes. Once the feeding is done, the fish return to their peculiar way of lying on the dome. I see that you visited in October. It might have been that you saw the penguins while nesting, or molting. Both times of low activity for them. We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit and hope that the above information is of help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Oceans Aquarium also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Two Oceans Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing