We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to start your Tour de Kaap”
Review of Hout Bay

Hout Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.11*
and up
Cape Peninsular Day Tour from Cape Town
More Info
$148.73*
and up
Half-Day Cape of Good Hope Private Tour from Cape Town
More Info
$102.85*
and up
Cape of Good Hope Guided Day Tour from Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Enclosed by ocean, mountains and wine farms, the former fishing village offers a country affair with some adventure thrown in.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to start your Tour de Kaap”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Hout Bay must have been hip, hot & happening in the sixties, it's not very interesting now, but you do find some good restaurants there, like Kitima (Asian food) and Luigi's (Italian food). We stayed at guesthouse/B&B Thandekayo, terrific place. Say hi to Banda for me!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank EvaAnna1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,113
    894
    237
    46
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Evening gettaway from the city centre”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great resturants, views and sunsets made this place a nice short gettaway from the town centre. Worth the short drive!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kyle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Super Seal watching”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stopped in Hout Bay for a short break on the way to Cape Point. We went on one of the cruises to Seal Island. Fortunately, the scenery is so breathtaking that even a boat full of really obnoxious screaming people seems unimportant (we were just a handful of folks that were not with one LARGE group). The boat certainly gets good,close views of the seals and turns around so both sides could see the cuties. We also took a ton of shots of the dramatic cliffs, clouds, and amazing water colors. The trip was well worth the small fee for the boat.
Upon return, loads of folks from our boat stopped to enjoy the Cape Minstrels and the craft market, but if you are going around SA at all, you will see many markets with similar offerings.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurie_B_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foz do Iguacu, PR
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Wow - Better than I expected”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I must confess I visited Camps Bay and I thought "Fantastic" but on reflection I actually prefer Hout Bay, there seems more to do here and appears a nicer area. Plenty of hotels / bars / beach and close to many good attractions.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank OneWayorReturnPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Place just outside Cape Town”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great place to stay if you need to be outside of the bustling city of Cape Town - only 20 minuets away and that was in heavy traffic, lots to do and on the door step to every where

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank castigers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hout Bay also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Hout Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing