We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Waterfront Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waterfront Village
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Herts
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

stayed in a deluxe apartment, the first one offered was rather naff, kicked up a fuss and gained a much better one very clean, lots of space, well fitted with great views.plus within short level walking distance to so many attractions.

Room Tip: if not to your liking kick up a stink
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear guests, thank you for taking the time to share your experience during the recent visit to our hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    199
    69
    45
    36
See reviews for
227
226
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just looking back on the reviews on the apartments and saw the review on 30 November 2013 where money was stolen from the safe in the apartment. If you look back there have other thefts .
We had money and credit cards cloned from the safe and it was obviously an inside job. Please Please if you stay here take your valuables with you and whatever you do. do not use the apartment safe

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank twicer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Twicer1

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at Waterfront Village. Could I please ask if you could send me a mail on manager@waterfrontvillage.com as I would like to make contact with you regards to above review.

Kind Regards

Lize Swart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Choosing where to stay in Cape Town may be difficult because there are lots of good options to pick from. After my 4 day stay at Waterfront Village I could not be more satisfied with this choice. The first thing to say is that it is not a hotel but a group of apartments with an excellent level of service, though. Apartments differ a lot so I suppose you must have a little luck which the one you are given. I stayed in the most luxurious and huge apartment I could wish for.. Everything, from furniture to equipment to the view was just superb. All complex is very secure and as other gests said, very close to the Marina, although I never went on foot. My apartment had a big balcony with sun beds facing the canal and a small pool (which I could not use because it was too cold) that, as the 2nd bedroom, faced the Table Mountain so, no matter where you were in the apartment you had always a wonderful view over Cape Town.
So from the apartment, to service, to location and security I could not find a single fault on these apartments. I would definitely recommend them!

Room Tip: All buildings are different. If you can, try to stay at the Julieta building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ullises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was our first trip to South Africa, and I certainly hope it will not be our last.

Trailfinders planned our route for us and this was the first port of call.

We had a 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the canal and with a wonderful view of the Ferris Wheel.
The apartment was well equipped and within easy walking distance of the V&A waterfront with all its attractions.
The security was very good with a passcard being needed to get in and out of the building and out of the gates.
We had no problems there at all and would happily recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Annl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Couldn't have asked for more in terms of location, next to the V & A Waterfront and Cape Grace hotel, a few minutes walk from the centre of Cape Town, great road communication, and Table Mountain standing guard to the rear! The one bedroom apartment we had was well located on the canal, nice and spacious and well decorated. The downside was that the air conditioning didn't work, and there was a smell of drains, which from reference to the visitors book, had been around for years. The reception staff, while very nice, seemed incapable of getting anything done about it, so in the end we had to force their hand to switch us to a different apartment after 3 days. Despite the problems with the first apartment, they still managed to put another couple in there as soon as we were out, without sorting the problems!
The second apartment was higher up, with views of the complex/canals/bay from the front, and Table Mountain from the rear - so it would be difficult to complain about that!
It wouldn't take much for the management to turn this into a first class destination, as it's got so much going for it, with the added benefit of excellent security, but they need to listen to what their guests are saying (we weren't the only ones) and act on it.
We enjoyed our stay and would certainly consider returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philmitchell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Mitch Thank you for the review of your recent stay at Waterfront Village.

Your comments are appreciated and will be taken up with all parties involved in order to assist them to improve overall performance and service delivery.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards
Lize Swart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed here for our first visit to Cape Town. The location was excellent, right on the waterfront by the V&A. The place was highly secure with passes to get in and out and lots of security so you feel very safe. The place itself was huge, 2 big bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, lots of seating areas, good kitchen, pool towels supplied, 3 pools to choose from, the bigger one you have to pay for but its very cheap. The only negative I would say is rooms could do with a little revamp, make it a bit more modern otherwise its an amazing base to stay at when you visit cape town. Staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. Thank you too Imagine Africa for recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoecrazybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,Thanks For your Comments.Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray on Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was truly a magnificent place to stay. The apartment was enormous with beautiful decor. Well equipped with everything you could ask for. Simply splendid. The views from the front balcony overlooked the V&A, the marina, stadium & Ferris wheel whilst the balcony on the back overlooked Table Mountain & the canels. A 2 minute walk & we were in the heart of all the restaurants & shops. Fantastic friendly staff. An absolute must.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 109 in Cape Town Central
976 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
0.4 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#43 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Village

Property: Waterfront Village
Address: Mind Pearl House West Quay Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#45 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#59 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Village 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Village, situated on the water’s edge in the picturesque V&A Waterfront Marina, next to the Cape Grace Hotel and One&Only, offers guests Standard, Luxury and Deluxe apartments offering superior services and facilities. Guests are spoilt for choice with our selection of one to three bedroom apartments, providing a wide selection of accommodation that will suit their individual requirements. Guests will enjoy access to our on-site reception, swimming pools and gym. An abundance of shops and restaurants are available within walking distance. Crafted around tranquil waterways the inspired architecture maximises the panoramic views, creating international desirability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Waterfront Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Village Hotel Cape Town Central
Waterfront Village Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing