We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location”
Review of Waterfront Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waterfront Village
Ranked #69 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had been spending many weeks along the Garden Route staying at superb guest houses rather than the impersonal hotels one often finds these days.

We opted for self catering so we were not bound to any time scales for eating.

We rented a ground floor apartment so we could walk straight out onto one of the canals that run around the property.

On arrival we were early which meant we could not check in but we were able to park our car securely and walk down to the actual Waterfront itself.

The apartment was spacious and had one en suite and one family bathroom, a large lounge, kitchen and terrace. The furnishings were adequate.

The air conditioning did not work nor did the heating and as it was really winter time the apartment was quite cold. After a lot of chasing we managed to get some electric heaters and extra blankets which solved the problem.

This was not 5 star accommodation but what it lacks in quality is made up for by the very convenient location and ease of getting out onto the Victoria Waterfront itself which is full of restaurants and night life in addition to masses of shopping and craft outlets.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wacky the Wizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 635 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

Thw waterfront Village is beautiful. I stayed in a one bedroom appartment and it was large and very spacious with modern and lovely kitchen and bathroom and a fabulous large terrace. We had some trouble with our TV but the staff were very helpful and did everything they could to solve the problem.

The location is just fantastic. You're less than a 5 minute walk from the V&A Waterfromt which is full of incredibly delicious restaurants and loads of shops. The best thing is the food market there, which is in a large dark coloured building.

Cape Town is the most beauitful place I have ever been in general. The people are lovely, the food is great, it's easy to get around and the atmosphere is so relaxed.

I would highly recommend the city and this accomodation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

booked into waterfront village , we were told would have a nice harbour view , but all we could see was a small part of a waterway, when ask about this , were told should book direct with watrerfront village , as they now what units they have , but on there website it says to book through there central reservations , also the aircon did not work , only fix it midday the next day, the carpet in the rooms was extreemly dirty . for a up market apartment, is not what you expect

Room Tip: make sure you know what unit you are getting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our apartment only had a bath which was disappointing! To use the hand held shower attachement made such a mess! They really should put a divider and attachment onto the wall. Otherwise, no complaints with excellent service!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulandAlvaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This accommodation is location is perfect. Walking distance to all the great restaurants, shops and grocery stores. I call it a home away from home because its an apartment and other residence live there as well. Its in a nice safe location too. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They catered to all my needs including taking care of my phobias......
I would definitely stay there again. I wont be able to comment on the price of this accommodation as I am a member of an exclusive VIP travel club and I get really special rates :-)
Security is excellent and that was very important to me. I felt very safe staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissJewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear MissJewel

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt safe and looked after.

We do hope to be your hosts again in the near future.

Kind regards
Johadrie de Villiers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in Pembroke B. The room was fantastic, overlooking the harbor and with all the necessary amenities for a home away from home. The location was close enough to the waterfront for activities, restaurants, shopping and excursions while being far enough away to avoid the noise. We saw harbor seals relaxing in the water and sunning on the docks. We would cook breakfast at the room and go out for lunch and dinner. The waterfront is easy walking distance and several grocery stores are nearby to stock up on staples. Be warned, alcohol sales cease at 6PM so stock up early if you want a bottle of wine for the evening! Overall well appointed, clean and convenient. Wifi was offered for a fee in the room but free in the lobby.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Perfectly positioned apartments just a short walk from the many shops and attractions on the Waterfront. We stayed three nights in a 5th floor 2 bed apartment (Ellesmere) in December 2013 and then booked another night as the final night of our three week trip around SA in January 2014. Housekeeping was good and kitchens are well appointed. The Internet didn't work well on our first stay but the wifi charge was refunded in full. The second time we stayed, we were given a ground floor room (Banockburn) with no A/C which wasn't a problem as the weather had turned and wasn't so hot. However, if you are staying for more than a night during summer months, then request an apartment with A/C!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscerningTraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,033 reviews
0.4 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Village

Address: Mind Pearl House West Quay Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#44 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#60 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $201 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Village 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Village, situated on the water’s edge in the picturesque V&A Waterfront Marina, next to the Cape Grace Hotel and One&Only, offers guests Standard, Luxury and Deluxe apartments offering superior services and facilities. Guests are spoilt for choice with our selection of one to three bedroom apartments, providing a wide selection of accommodation that will suit their individual requirements. Guests will enjoy access to our on-site reception, swimming pools and gym. An abundance of shops and restaurants are available within walking distance. Crafted around tranquil waterways the inspired architecture maximises the panoramic views, creating international desirability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterfront Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Village Hotel Cape Town Central
Waterfront Village Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing