We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close enough to enjoy everything, far enough away to relax.”
Review of Waterfront Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterfront Village
Ranked #69 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in Pembroke B. The room was fantastic, overlooking the harbor and with all the necessary amenities for a home away from home. The location was close enough to the waterfront for activities, restaurants, shopping and excursions while being far enough away to avoid the noise. We saw harbor seals relaxing in the water and sunning on the docks. We would cook breakfast at the room and go out for lunch and dinner. The waterfront is easy walking distance and several grocery stores are nearby to stock up on staples. Be warned, alcohol sales cease at 6PM so stock up early if you want a bottle of wine for the evening! Overall well appointed, clean and convenient. Wifi was offered for a fee in the room but free in the lobby.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 677 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

Perfectly positioned apartments just a short walk from the many shops and attractions on the Waterfront. We stayed three nights in a 5th floor 2 bed apartment (Ellesmere) in December 2013 and then booked another night as the final night of our three week trip around SA in January 2014. Housekeeping was good and kitchens are well appointed. The Internet didn't work well on our first stay but the wifi charge was refunded in full. The second time we stayed, we were given a ground floor room (Banockburn) with no A/C which wasn't a problem as the weather had turned and wasn't so hot. However, if you are staying for more than a night during summer months, then request an apartment with A/C!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscerningTraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed here as a solo traveller and felt totally safe. It's in a gorgeous location and the apartments are spacious, clean and comfortable, with all the mod cons. Great view over the "fake" river that surrounds the buildings too. I got a cheap deal through AGODA so I thought it was amazing value for money (50% off). I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stormwater3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our property. We always strive to offer the best possible service and value for money to all our guests. We do hope to be your hosts again on a future visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards
Johadrie de Villiers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The appartment was excellent & secure, with good parking and handy small swimming pools. You can feel a little isolated there though; firstly the reception is in a separate building and secondly the complex has no cafe or bar or shop. So you need to walk to a nearby hotel or the centre of the waterfront area to get a drink or breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d_jones25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

These apartments are about 300 yards from the V & A Waterfront and are excellent! The folk in reception were very helpful not only with showing me where to park my hire car but also suggesting that I book on line if I wanted to go up Table Mountain - detail stuff maybe but extremely beneficial for someone who was new in town.
Access to the apartments was via a proximity card so security was very good, not that I was in the least bit concerned about this. At reception they will also arrange trips for you, like Wine Tours etc.
I will certainly use them again the next time I visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I had become a bit concerned after reading one or two comments on here, but having returned from my stay at waterfront village I have nothing but praise. The staff were all very polite and helpful throughout my stay and the accommodation itself was excellent. The apartment was a good size and spotlessly clean, with a sizeable balcony looking out on to the marina. Security is extremely good and you feel very safe whilst staying here.
The only minor problem I had was with internet access not working for the first couple of days, but this was eventually sorted out and staff did offer alternatives until it was.
I'm already looking forward to my next stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tw2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

When traveling to Cape Town we always book at Village & Life. The apartments are beautiful the views spectacular. It's right on the V&A Marina and the Waterfront is minutes away. The staff are friendly and efficient. Home away from home. Secure and safe. However this time we did have a problem with the fridge that was not attended to promptly, as they usually do. Despite of that we will never stay anywhere else when in Cape Town. Highly recommended. Compared to staying in any of the 5 star hotels on the V&A Waterfront, Village & Life are the best option and also very reasonable, price wise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,614 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,850 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfron...
#62 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#52 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Village

Address: Mind Pearl House West Quay Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#44 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#60 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $223 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Village 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Village, situated on the water’s edge in the picturesque V&A Waterfront Marina, next to the Cape Grace Hotel and One&Only, offers guests Standard, Luxury and Deluxe apartments offering superior services and facilities. Guests are spoilt for choice with our selection of one to three bedroom apartments, providing a wide selection of accommodation that will suit their individual requirements. Guests will enjoy access to our on-site reception, swimming pools and gym. An abundance of shops and restaurants are available within walking distance. Crafted around tranquil waterways the inspired architecture maximises the panoramic views, creating international desirability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Waterfront Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Village Hotel Cape Town Central
Waterfront Village Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing